We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Moonlit Sanctuary Wildlife Conservation Park
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 15.61*
and up
Moonlit Sanctuary Daytime General Entry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Cuddle up to a koala, meet kangaroos, wombats, dingoes, and colourful birds at eco-tourism accredited Moonlit Sanctuary. Frequent animal presentations and encounters, as well as a daily wildlife conservation show. Evening visitors enjoy an award-winning, magical, personally guided tour by lantern light, meeting endangered species and other bush creatures. See bettongs, quolls, gliders and owls at their most active.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Not nearly as good as the reviews we had read. Saw one koala, no kangaroos and a few illusive wallabies. Very sparse, not particularly beautiful and lacking in the wildlife department. We were in and out of there in 45 minutes. I wouldn't bring people back here again.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank phillysilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiMi&Sue, Manager at Moonlit Sanctuary Wildlife Conservation Park, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
We are sorry you did not enjoy your visit to Moonlit Sanctuary. Beauty is in the eyes of the beholder, but I don't think it is fair to describe our landscape as "very sparse". As for wildlife I'm surprised you saw so little. In our visitor centre we have 5 different types of snake, 5 different types of lizard, three different types of fish, frogs, stick insects, yabbies, hopping mice and dunnarts. On the walk to the koalas (there are more than one) you would have passed aviaries with various birds including 5 different types of cockatoo, turtles, goannas, dingoes and emus. On our Wallaby Walk we have over 80 wallabies and kangaroos of 5 different types,many of whom are happy to feed from your hand if you wish. You also appear to have missed our wombats and Tasmanian devils. We do not claim to be the largest wildlife park, however we currently have 293 individual animals of 62 species. I am sorry you saw so few of them in you 45 minute visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    104
    15
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem…why hadn't I heard about this place earlier?!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

One of the most intimate, friendly and enjoyable wildlife parks we have been to. We went on a Friday and it felt like we had the whole park to ourselves (no screaming kids) and you can feed the wallabys, see other native Australian animals up close and personal (can pat a koala for $10 extra). Highly recommend going!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A hidden gem. Great kid party. A lot more than you'd guess from the outside...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We went as part of a kids birthday party. Easy to drive past without even realising it was there. Initial impression is that it's really small, but there is actually a fair amount there. Great for the smaller kids.... they had an absolute ball - probably the best part for most of them was feeding the little wallabies. The people there were really friendly and helpful. Recommended for kids parties or a visit by yourself.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank ninhursag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“What a treat for the whole family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

We paid for the night tour out of interest. Fantastic it was the first time I'd seen a wombat actually up and about and the Tasmanian devil was very hyper. The barking owl was the highlight for me ( woof woof)

Helpful?
3 Thank cottondownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A surprising gem!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

Loving on the peninsula for many years I didn't even know this place existed. What a really great place to get up real close to the animals. Night walk is just the best.

Helpful?
7 Thank Scootaroo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moonlit Sanctuary Wildlife Conservation Park also viewed

Cranbourne, Mornington Peninsula
Arthurs Seat, Mornington Peninsula
 
Mornington Peninsula, Victoria
Mornington, Mornington Peninsula
 

Been to Moonlit Sanctuary Wildlife Conservation Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing