We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place with some small "buts"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The place is absolutely unique - beautiful architecture. Frankly, I had never ssen something quite like this. The Nawelpi lodge is beautiful- large windows, a whirlpool and you can hear the river. The best of Nawelpi, however, is the private restaurant. Every evening, you get a multi-course menu inspired by the area and prepared with lots of attention. Now to the "buts". Given the very (too) expensive price, you could expect a bit more attention to details. The phone in the cabin did not work and the maids refused to wash clothes because the laundry was overwhelmed. However, they had the laundry bag and price list in the cabin. Finally, there are too many people around this place in general, especially day guests that walk by to see the waterfall. In general, the place has grown too big and services just not picked up. For this exclusive price, I would expect slightly more exclusivity. What I liked a lot is that as a Nawelpi guest, you can use a free golf chart to drive around. The spa is far too expensive, especially the general admission. In general, even though it is a fantastic place and has a unique setting and arquitecture, the place still has some things to improve to be a true luxury resort that can compete to similar places in other countries, where this kind of high-end nature tourism is better developed. However, if everything was at the standard of the Nawelpi restaurant, I would never want to leave this place again. :-). A final comment - when we brought up some issues, an executive met with us to hear our "complaint" - an ununual sign that they really want to get better - which is much appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose Nawelpi, for more privacy and access to restaurant. The main hotels are big with lost of peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huilo Huilo R, Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad at Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your visit and your time to tell us your experience in Huilo Huilo Biological Reserve , thanks for your feedbacks to help us improve our processes and so ensure a great experience for our guests.

We reiterate our thanks and hope in a next visit with your beautiful family .

Sincerely ,

Ximena Miranda Urzúa
Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights with my wife to end our trip down south.
Hotel is pretty funky. Beautifully placed inside forest. Great hospitality.
Yet our room the faucet was loose, and there was no toilet paper holder.
Many excursions offered.
It's a great place to end a trip, thou somewhat pricey.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank corbovitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huilo Huilo R, Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad at Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Huilo Huilo Biological Reserve thanks for your comments and your time for telling us about your experience.
For us it is very important your opinion to know if we are giving a satisfactory service.

Very grateful and hope you have had a good return to your home.

Sincerely ,

Ximena Miranda Urzúa
Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016

This purports to be a luxury property, but it has serious quality issues. Inconvenient parking, slippery walkway to room, sagging bed, room too hot, in room phone didn't work, restroom window afforded little privacy, and there was no internet service even in common areas. Had to call on international roaming to complain about heat and broken bed, and were given another room (at 2am!)

The following morning we complained bitterly to the manager. He apologized for the failures profusely and didn't charge us for the night. Nevertheless, we cut short our stay and hightailed it out of there.

Adios Nawelpi. Four thumbs down from this couple.

Only redeeming service: Dinner was delicious. Daniella is a good chef and prepared an outstanding meal with local ingredients. Vanessa let me use her cell phone when the lodge's internet service wasn't working.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Panchobook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2015

What a surpise to find such lovely accomodaytions in the middle of the Chilean biosphere forest. This lodge is part of the Huilo Huilo complex where you have a hotel in a tree house, a hotel shaped like a muchroom and another with a Notofalgus Tree growing up the middle. Activities are for everyone from 2 years to 80 years, however the Nawhelpi part of this hotel is by itself on an elegant piece of land by a flowing river. It has its own resturant,bar and services includind breakfast in bed. There are only 6 cabins, each with two rooms that have seperate connecting doors if you want to share with your family. You also are privy to a golf cart to get around. I cannot say enough about this lovely find in the middle of Chile and very close to the border with Argentina smack in the middle of the Andes. Well worth the time and effort to get here.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank walkpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Based in the woodland/forests of the lower Andes this is a vacation hotel that would be especially fitting for nature lovers . The accommodation itself is clean and well appointed ( albeit everything is very dark in the rooms and the forest ) and designed excellently to befit their surroundings ie a lot of wood . In the dining area at Nawalpi the 3 meals we had every day were well prepared and presented . What was particularly excellent was the service that the staff provided - they could not have been more helpful or constructive particularly when it came to arranging our daily activities ie fishing , riding , nature trails . Our only minor criticisms were firstly it was virtually impossible to find - we understand the management wish to keep it exclusive however it took us an hour to find precisely where the lodge was in the woods - the sign posting was non existent . Secondly visitors should be warned that the terrible state of the roads means you should only go there with a 4 wheel drive car . Thirdly , you pay a big premium for the lodge and while this offers exclusivity and privacy you are still staying within a complex that is part of a very large hotel group ie Huilo Huilo . A special thanks again to the staff - they made it excellent but please more signs !

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank G s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neltume
0.4 km away
Huilo Huilo Nothofagus Hotel
2.4 km away
Marina del Fuy Lodge
Marina del Fuy Lodge
#2 of 2 in Neltume
164 reviews
0.4 km away
Huilo Huilo Montana Magica Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Huilo Huilo Reino Fungi Lodge
2.9 km away
Karu Domos del Fuy
Karu Domos del Fuy
#2 of 5 in Neltume
28 reviews
1.4 km away
Patagonia Mawida
Patagonia Mawida
#3 of 11 in Neltume
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge

Address: Km 60 Camino Internacional Panguipulli, Neltume, Chile
Region: Chile > Los Rios Region > Neltume
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Neltume
Price Range: $1,142 - $1,702 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treasures are often hard to find. The Nawelpi Lodge ('Puma Spirit' in Mapudungun) is located in the middle of the forest, not far from the main building. The exclusive and luxurious bungalows are situated by the Fuy River, in beautiful surroundings. The Nawelpi Lodge is a place to relax and connect with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge Chile/Neltume

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing