We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Kolarbyn is located about 3km from Skinnskatteberg, but feel a lot further away from anything than that! Staying in a small hut with no more than two beds and a fireplace really brings you in touch with the surroundings.
When staying here, you make your own fires to cook on, you get your drinking water from the stream running along side the camp. Everything done here is done by hand and tests your skills.
The floating sauna is great too! A couple of hours sitting in there is relaxing and knowing you're the one that made the fire heating it up making it all the more satisfying. For those who don't mind cold water, a jump in the lake afterwards is worth it!
Canoeing on the lake is a great way to spend an afternoon too! The still water mean's it's possible for even the most inexperienced waterman to enjoy the experience.
The whole area is just so peaceful! And there are plenty of walks to go on and views to find!
For anyone looking for an escape from life for a few days, this is the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lclel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svenskaaventyr, Ägare at STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Thank you and welcome back!//Malin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Best place to relax and enjoy for a weekend. Would recommend this for all nature people. Dont forget to bring your sleeping bag and maybe some snacks. Kolarbyn is a memory I will cherish for a very long time.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nitram g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svenskaaventyr, Ägare at STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Great to hear that you enjoy your stay! =)
Welcome back! //Malin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The Eco-lodge is definitely worth going off the beaten path to get to. If you are looking for a really unique experience, and are not averse to a bit of a physical challenge, do check it out. The staff was really helpful, and it's amazing to be able to be in such pristine wilderness.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rowan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas S, Ägare at STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hi!

Great to hear that you like your stay! =)
It was great to meet you in the eco lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We are not a typical outdoorsy family but out of the blue, we opted for two nights in Kolarbyn during a 8-day stay in Sweden/Denmark.

We had a blast. My 9 year old boy felt like this was "REAL" camping. For me, it was a philosophical moment to realize that it took me an hour and a half to make a cup of coffee - starting with chopping the wood, starting the fire to boil the water and adding the ground coffee.

The huts themselves are not comfortable. But you will not be spending any time in the huts themselves during your stay. Just to sleep. I think two nights was a good length. Most of the time was spent washing, chopping wood, picking blueberries (which are everywhere), fishing, and using the amazing sauna by the lake. We also participated in the moose safari and beaver safari run by Wild Sweden, which were great.

In terms of food, you can either try to catch fish in the lake (not easy) or they have a shed where there are some canned foods, veggies and dry foods. They have juice, coffee, etc. that should meet most needs. The instant noodles cooked over the camp fire was awesome. The only condition is that all pots, dishes, etc. should be washed in a nearby running stream.

All in all, spending the long summer days in the woods outside of Stockholm was a magical experience. Not sure if I would come back every year, but I really did appreciate this experience. I have to admit though, we checked into a five star hotel at our next destination (Copenhagen), and had the best shower and best sleep after Kolarbyn, in recent memory.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammedyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

If you are really looking for a truly unique experience in Sweden this place should be included during your trip. The place consists of small cabins in the forest. After your arrival you get instruction how to use the facility and make the most of your stay. You learn how to chop wood safely and build your own fire on which you cook your food and warm yourself and the cabin. The surroundings are absolutely amazing and very pretty. The forest is situated near a beautiful lake where you can swim, canoe or take a (floating) sauna. The views are great and we had dinner near the lake and watched the sunset till 22:30 in the evening after which we had a drink in the central hut where we build a large fire. It is the closest thing getting to nature and we had the best time ever. The staff is very friendly and helps you in every way possible. Visiting this place was certainly our highlight of our trip to Sweden.

Room Tip: There is one larger cabin, which I highly recommend although the children were quite happy with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge

Address: Skarsjon, Skinnskatteberg, Sweden
Region: Sweden > Vastmanland County > Skinnskatteberg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Skinnskatteber...
Price Range: $251 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kolarbyn Eco-lodge is called Sweden’s most primitive hotel and guests from all over the World come here to stay for a few nights for outdoor activities such as wildlife watching, hiking or fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing