We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (77)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
61
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
61
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews make your own wild sweden moose safari eco lodge great fun the perfect place to stay chopped wood drinking water sleeping bag grass snake insect repellent small hut closest thing candles fires huts wildlife
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 77 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2017 via mobile

Best place to relax and enjoy for a weekend. Would recommend this for all nature people. Dont forget to bring your sleeping bag and maybe some snacks. Kolarbyn is a memory I will cherish for a very long time.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nitram g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svenskaaventyr, Ägare at STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Great to hear that you enjoy your stay! =)
Welcome back! //Malin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The Eco-lodge is definitely worth going off the beaten path to get to. If you are looking for a really unique experience, and are not averse to a bit of a physical challenge, do check it out. The staff was really helpful, and it's amazing to be able to be in such pristine wilderness.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rowan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas S, Ägare at STF Kolarbyn Eco-Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2016

Hi!

Great to hear that you like your stay! =)
It was great to meet you in the eco lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

We are not a typical outdoorsy family but out of the blue, we opted for two nights in Kolarbyn during a 8-day stay in Sweden/Denmark.

We had a blast. My 9 year old boy felt like this was "REAL" camping. For me, it was a philosophical moment to realize that it took me an hour and a half to make a cup of coffee - starting with chopping the wood, starting the fire to boil the water and adding the ground coffee.

The huts themselves are not comfortable. But you will not be spending any time in the huts themselves during your stay. Just to sleep. I think two nights was a good length. Most of the time was spent washing, chopping wood, picking blueberries (which are everywhere), fishing, and using the amazing sauna by the lake. We also participated in the moose safari and beaver safari run by Wild Sweden, which were great.

In terms of food, you can either try to catch fish in the lake (not easy) or they have a shed where there are some canned foods, veggies and dry foods. They have juice, coffee, etc. that should meet most needs. The instant noodles cooked over the camp fire was awesome. The only condition is that all pots, dishes, etc. should be washed in a nearby running stream.

All in all, spending the long summer days in the woods outside of Stockholm was a magical experience. Not sure if I would come back every year, but I really did appreciate this experience. I have to admit though, we checked into a five star hotel at our next destination (Copenhagen), and had the best shower and best sleep after Kolarbyn, in recent memory.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohammedyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

If you are really looking for a truly unique experience in Sweden this place should be included during your trip. The place consists of small cabins in the forest. After your arrival you get instruction how to use the facility and make the most of your stay. You learn how to chop wood safely and build your own fire on which you cook your food and warm yourself and the cabin. The surroundings are absolutely amazing and very pretty. The forest is situated near a beautiful lake where you can swim, canoe or take a (floating) sauna. The views are great and we had dinner near the lake and watched the sunset till 22:30 in the evening after which we had a drink in the central hut where we build a large fire. It is the closest thing getting to nature and we had the best time ever. The staff is very friendly and helps you in every way possible. Visiting this place was certainly our highlight of our trip to Sweden.

Room Tip: There is one larger cabin, which I highly recommend although the children were quite happy with the smaller ones.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HV1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for one night together with my husband and two dogs. Really friendly service and a wonderful place overall. I can recommend the 6km walk around the lake, as well as mushroom and berry picking in the nearby forests. The floating sauna was excellent and well worth a try. It was also great fun to cook food over the open fire. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank xidefixx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews