We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuggie Palace Chinese Restaurant

Tuggie Palace Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 59 Restaurants in Tuggeranong
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
ACT
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Strange place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

Tuggie Palace is a strange place. Previously, it was called Lakeview restaurant, but did not have much of a view, as the buildings in front of it obstruct the view, despite the fact that the restaurant is located on the first floor.

Now it is a 'Palace'. Well, in my view, nothing in the interior, except for a terracotta warier who meets you when you climb the stairs, really supports this.

And the main puzzle is how it never gets many customers, but manages to survive. Over the last years we visited the restaurant a number of times and it never was at least half full.

Oh well, if you like a quiet private dining it is only good for you. Because it is worth to come here as cooking is good, not something overwhelming, but good.

Do not expect an excellent service. Like many other Chinese restaurants in Canberra they use kids as waiters (students?), who sometimes even do not know how to open a bottle of sparkling wine.

However, if you happen to be in the area and is looking for reasonably good Chinese food, it may be a good choice. With all the puzzles mentioned above.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YuriKAct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Nice view of Lake Tuggeranong and reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This used to be the Lakeview, and its up the stairs, entrance opp Library/Maccers. We took our niece here on her last day in Canberra and had a east. We were about the only ones so service was good. We live within walking distance so were able to enjoy wine and beer with dinner with no breathalyzer worries

Not sure why the other neg reviews, we found it perfect with really good food, think we choose from a set banquet menu and was good value for money.

The fortune cookies are amazingly accurate!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DRMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Don't choose the mainstream - the Chinese menu (or ask Jane) is the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We have eaten here a number of times and find the ratings a little unfair - if you order club-style Chinese anywhere that is what you're going to get. We tend to order some things in the parts of the menu which most people gloss over. When we order them we know straight away if the kitchen has the respective ingredients that night (meaning good Chinese usually in Canberra).

On this occasion we ordered a very nice San Choy Bow which was great but the service was very ordinary - young kids without direction will always just plonk things down and walk off. San Choy Bow is supposed to be served, not plonked. And at close to $15 I expect it to be served.

So after we served ourselves to what was a very nice and very sufficient serve we had the Boxing Chicken (two chicken legs with spicy sauce). Disappointing we had to ask twice when ordering what it was - and when we got it - it wasn't just a "chicken leg with a sauce" as described. It was very tasty - almost extremely tasty (and spicy sauce) - just undeserving of more here.

The mains were very good. So good that we ate one completely and took the others home. While there might be just two of us - we like a good solid main, and maybe one or two dishes to get us through. The Salt and Pepper Prawns here were very, very good. They need no fanfare. Remember!! They come without a sauce so if you order these prawns and rice you will be disappointed.

The pencil mushrooms (which I think are Enoki mushrooms) and whatever green vegetable is going with oyster sauce (or similar) is outstanding. Plenty of garlic, ginger and salty sauce.

All in all it's one of the more expensive Chinese in the Valley. They do wine corkage but no BYO beer etc (as normal in restaurants)..

Very good!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank vicbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not good.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Visited 29/1/2012. The service was poor, the lemon, lime and bitter drink was terrible. The food we ordered was not appealing, but tasted ok. Beside another couple we were the only four there. Sunday nights in Canberra are busy nights. Not going back.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

The food is good, the service is friendly, but they are a bit unorganised.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuggie Palace Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 
Greenway, Canberra
 

Been to Tuggie Palace Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing