We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ensure your appetite is hearty!!”
Review of Embers Restaurant

Embers Restaurant
Price range: AU$0 - AU$33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 19 September 2021

This was the first visit to Embers as part of a party of 17, so quite a test on two accounts given the size of the party. The staff were welcoming, friendly and efficient, in fact remarkably so given the packed restaurant.

This was a Sunday lunchtime and the menu was impressively extensive given the apparent size of the kitchen. Amazing then that all 17 main courses came out together and within 20 minutes.

Bruchetta was ordered as a starter to be shared along the table. This dish was of generous proportions, noticeably packed with garlic and loaded with delicious cherry tomatoes and crumbled feta cheese.

The main course portions were also extremely generous. My partner chose the Chicken Parmigiana and declared it to be extremely tasty and very filling. The fries were perfectly cooked and appeared to be hand-cut? The accompanying mixed salad was very fresh and tasty.

I chose Mild Paella (large). A word of warning here, that if like myself, you do not deal overly well with highly spiced foods, mild is well and truly spicy enough. The dish was beautifully tasty with a generous serve of mussels, prawns, calamari, chicken and chorizo I would however say that just one wedge of lemon for a large portion of paella is probably not enough as lemon juice should be integral to this dish. All dishes came to the table hot which, again given the size of the party, was quite an achievement.

So why only 4 stars? Basically the lack of adequate toilet facilities. Whilst spotlessly clean and serviced regularly, 3 unisex cubicles and one disabled facility for a restaurant which, at capacity, must hold 100+ patrons is probably not really enough. Given the layout of the establishment, however, I don't see that this can actually be effectively addressed.

Embers is definitely a 'return to' restaurant and I look forward to visiting in an evening to sample their pizza.

Date of visit: September 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2021

We returned to this restaurant as we remembered the excellent experience we had last year. We were happy we returned. The food was excellent, please try the steak and vegetables or the scalloppine. David served us again and once again he was sensational! His level of service is something worthy of a 5 star rating.
You won't be disappointed with a visit to Embers restaurant in Kalamunda.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank conradandayesha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 May 2021

Embers is one of my favourite restaurants and I've been visiting the restaurant for many, many years - too many to count. The food is always first class, as is the service - it's faultless. Recently the restaurant has made some slight modifications to the eating area by removing the bar. There is only one thing that spoils this incredible restaurant - the CHAIRS ARE HORRIFIC! heavy, hard to move and little padding on the seats. They have been around since the90's - it must be time to replace them. Surely a restaurant that excels in every other area could ensure their patrons are comfortable as they enjoy one of the many and varied items on their amazing menu. I'm hoping that replacing these out-dated, uncomfortable chairs is the next thing on their To Do List.
PS: It's best to make a booking as this is an extremely popular place to dine.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Babs_DownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2021 via mobile

We went for Saturday lunch after a drive through the Bickley Valley on a wet weekend. I’d searched online and came across Embers and it’s great reviews.
They were all spot on. Huge menu with plenty of choices for everyone. When the food arrived, everyone’s meals were excellent- great size serves and flavours. Will definitely return

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank arowell72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2021

This is clearly a busy and popular place. I quite enjoyed my meal. I would describe this as a family friendly, good, medium priced place. Some of the seats are very uncomfortable though - more like some kind of medieval torture device!

Date of visit: March 2021
1  Thank nanasontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Embers Restaurant also viewed

 
Kalamunda, Perth Hills
Pickering Brook, Perth Hills
 

Been to Embers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.