We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Granary

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
Built in 1781, lovingly restored in 2010.
Original hay-feeders.
Welcome basket.
Ideal for a special occasion!
Original stone steps.
Luxurious simplicity.
A mix of antiques and modern.
Luxury toiletries.
Open fields to the rear.
The village pub - still a warm welcome.
The Manor
In the deep mid-winter, view to the pond.
The smell of a real Christmas tree :-)
Our 2015/2016 5 star award.
Our 2015/16 Gold award.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Digby, Lincolnshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jean C
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation”
Reviewed 4 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This accommodation is truly superb, Downstairs is one massive room with the living area blending into the kitchen area. Upstairs is a very large bedroom and an even larger bathroom which is absolutely stunning. Outside is a beautiful courtyard with a gorgeous view. Inside, there is nothing they haven't thought of to make you feel special, including bath bombs for the deepest bath I have ever seen. I could go on, but really, if you want to be spoilt, then visit the accommodation yourself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2015
Thank you both for your lovely reviews - and thank you for being such great guests and keeping all the plants alive during our mini heatwave (I'm sure the next guests appreciated it too!).

I hope you have a lovely summer and if ever you fancy another visit all our returning guests get a 10% discount when they book direct.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ron C
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best self catering accommodation we have experienced yet!”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

we like self catering. We have two small dogs . We like quiet , but not remote. When we found the old granary we thought it would be OK . We didn't think it would be outstanding!! The photos don't do it justice ,and having read the history of the site and subsequent renovation I can only stand in awe of the competence and skill of those involved in its restoration. It's not often I can recall a time when we have stayed in a place where we couldn't think of some improvements we would like to be made or homely things we have missed . The old granary is the exception. If Carlsberg made self catering accommodation it would look like this ?

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: local pub not dog friendly as advertised on Internet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoreenW31...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous place for couples in countryside.”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were delighted to have found The Granary, this is one of the best rentals we have stayed in and we have stayed in many over 20 years. It deserves every accolade including the gold star 5 from English tourist board.
Everything in the property is top quality and interior design by Linda is excellent.
The small patio area with the raised beds of various herbs was lovely and the views from it were so tranquil. Village pub recommended.
All in all superb in every way.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Many, many thanks for the kind words : - )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and comfort
Liked least: TV in lounge was not great soundwise - but I'm being picky..
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you N & M, so glad you enjoyed your stay : - )
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann C
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Just perfect - go and stay there!”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is the second time we've come to Digby Granary and are still feeling bad about not giving a five-star Tripadvisor review after the first visit.

All we can say is that this is the perfect place to stay. The place is spotless, the bathroom with its copper bath is positively decadent (with fluffy towels, bath bombes and bathrobes), the kitchen has all the basics you need (like oil, salt and pepper). Just go there - but don't spread it around too much!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The copper bath
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2015
Thank you both for the lovely review - you're welcome back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing