We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food with a view! ”
Review of 1908 Restaurant

1908 Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Portobello
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Classic New Zealand dining in a historic character building with courtyard overlooking the stunning Otago Harbour. Open for Lunch and Dinner.
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this place for brunch, was a really warm atmosphere, lovely friendly staff, we had the lamb shank, seafood chowder and All day big breakfast, amazing food and great value for money. Recommended if you are in the area.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Albert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

280 - 284 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2016

After a spectacular drive from Dunedin along Portobello Road, we arrived at 1908 Cafe.
The food and service were both excellent.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alexaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2016

We had friends from Toronto, Canada and decided to take them to this place for a meal. It was absolutely worth it, great atmosphere, friendly staff and the charm of this old but well-preserved building in combination with the delicious meals was a winner. We were very pleased and our friends were impressed.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marija M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 June 2016

We were referred to 1908 Cafe Restaurant for dinner from Camp Estate and wasn't disappointed. Located at the small town of Portobello, it is about a 15 mins scenic drive from Camp Estate. Parking was easy as you can do so by the side of the road and May is considered off-peak season.

Although the outside of the restaurant looks normal, the interior deco and wooden finish gives you a feeling of age. Pauline, the lovely owner of the restaurant provided us with a book where you can read more on the restaurant's and also the area's origins while we were waiting for food.

As for the food, it was fresh, well presented and delicious. The lamb shank i ordered is the best i have ever eaten as it was fresh, well seasoned and cooked. The tender chicken breast wrapped in Manuka bacon was very special and delicious due to the wide ranging flavours you get from it.

Pauline also allowed us to change the sides, for the fish and chips, and we really appreciated that as we wanted to try a wider range of food.

We were there for a 2nd night as Portobello is quite near to the Royal Albatross Centre and because we took the Little Blue Penguins viewing tour ended late in the evening. It can be a good dinner stop before heading back to your lodging if you are driving.

If i ever go back to Dunedin, i will definitely stop by the restaurant again. Thanks Pauline for the memorable meals and also please convey our thanks to your head chef, she did it all from cooking to serving!

Cheers!

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cyberpukish
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2016

We ate out several times at 1908 Cafe Restaurant when staying for a few days on the Otago Peninsula. It offers traditional food that is great value, a toasty fire and wonderful service from Pauline and her team. When I wanted something very light and vegetarian for dinner it proved no trouble at all and the wine recommendations were spot on. Recommended! (As a side-note we went into the local pub one night for dinner but quickly fled to 1908 after seeing the ridiculous prices on their menu!)

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Josie1232003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed 1908 Restaurant also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to 1908 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Australia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.