We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to eat ”
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Newenden
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A traditional village inn situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty.
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

Stoped here for lunch and had a great welcome from the staff
They had a nice fire going and a good range of drinks
The menus was good pub grub at good prices. The food was well cooked and good in size
A nice place to stop and will come again

1  Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your great review. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2018

My wife, a friend and I had a light lunch at the White Hart today. Excellent service and food. Great atmos.
Nice garden, will look forward to seeing that when the warmer weather arrives.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IdoGolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your lunch. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We have stayed at the White couple of times now and it never disappoints.
They have new staff in the kitchen and boy do they know what they are doing.
Please disregard earlier poor reviews of the kitchen as it would be a shame for you to miss out.
We ate here two nights running and the food was excellent on both occasions.
The menu is varied and interesting.
The T bone steak I had on News Years eve was one of the best steaks I have ever had.
Cooked all the way through but juicy and not at all dry as so often happens.
The staff are a credit to the pub and nothing is too much trouble.
The range of beers is always changing and this is a true pub for everyone.
The locals are friendly and welcoming, there is a great play area in the garden for the kids when the weather is okay, (and a games room when it isn’t) the real log fire adds warmth and character.
If you are looking for a chain hotel experience go somewhere else but if you are looking for a great pub with excellent food and comfortable rooms then look no further.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. It was lovely to welcome you back to The White Hart and to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We couldn't ask for more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

We went for a great dog walk and ended up in this pub. The dog was allowed in away from the main dining which was great. It was a very welcoming pub and good pub menu. We both had starters (scotch egg and Brie) which were good. A great value pub and we will be back. There is also a huge beer garden for the summer. Great find

2  Thank r2dd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Went to the White Hart for a midweek lunch. Service was good, beer was good as was the food. Excellent place for lunch. Friendly atmosphere and the open fire was lit.
We both enjoyed it

2  Thank JulesM336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ivan G, Owner at The White Hart, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

Ewhurst Green, East Sussex
 
Bodiam, East Sussex
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing