We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Talbot Hotel Carlow

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Talbot Hotel Carlow
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great family hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed here with my family - 3 young children ages 8, 6, 3. The children still talk about their stay. They enjoyed the kids camp, art and craft and then into the swimming pool for games.

Rooms were clean and a good size a bit of squeeze with 3 kids but we didn't mind. Breakfast was good. Next door was a bowling ally. It is on the outskirts of Carlow you would need a car not sure about public transport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent with us. I was delighted to read that yourself and your family had such an enjoyable stay and it was a pleasure to look after you all. Our kids club is extremely popular and we are constantly trying to improve the offering such as the introduction of the Arts & Crafts. It is great to know that the kids in attendance have such a wonderful time and that it gives the parents an hour or two to relax.

We hope to welcome you all back to the Talbot Carlow in the near future and thank you again for kind words.

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    300
    124
    56
    47
See reviews for
444
306
18
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Very poor sleep, was on the 4th floor, was woken up at 5am, guessing a generator of some sort was responsible, breakfast was cold both mornings and even the carvary dinner was placed under the grill to keep warm!....Never saw that before!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused due to some noise in the early hours. We do not have a generator located anywhere around this part of the building but I will have my nights team investigate to ensure that whatever caused this disturbance is determined and dealt with accordingly. I was very dissappointed to read that your breakfast was cold and I will speak with the Head Chef to rectify any issues that may have caused this and once again I extend my apologies and I hope this remains an isolated case. In relation to the Carvery, the chef often places the plated food under the grill in order to ensure that the meal is still hot in case there may be any delay at the till point. It is often the case that a guest may wish to pay by card and this takes a little longer than a cash transaction and so the chef's endeavour to ensure your meal is still pipng hot when you are ready to take your seat.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review and I do hope that you will consider staying at the Talbot Carlow again in the future.

Kind Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and i stayed at this hotel on a mid-week break and on arrival at reception we were treated like royalty. The staff all over the building were very friendly .we had three evening meals in the restaurant and the presentation of food was excellent and breakfast was exactly the same. the staff were brilliant and no delay on serving you. we used the Leisure Centre and the swimming pool and areas were spotless.The bedrooms were very spacious and very comfortable and the housekeeper was excellent and very friendly It was one of the best hotels we stayed in for value for money I would recommend this hotel to everyone.Liam D

Room Tip: second floor was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on recent stay with us at the Talbot Carlow.

I was delighted to read your comments and I am sure that all of the Team here at the Talbot would like to be associated with my thanks for your kind words. It is great to recieve such positive feedback from our guests and it something that the staff in particular enjoy when this is relayed to them at their regular departmental meetings.

Thank you so much again and hopefully we will see you back in Carlow very soon.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

The staff in the hotel were very friendly and understanding. They accommodated a group of 16 at very short notice. They kept it very well. The rooms were spacious and the beds were very comfortable. I used the swimming pool in the morning and it was very clean lovely pool. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend any time.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review on your stay here at the Talbot Carlow. It was a pleasure to look after you and your group and we very much hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Talbot again.

Thank you again for your time and indeed your kind words.

Warm Regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

stayed in this hotel for a hen weekend after the self catering place we stayed in was rude,unhygienic and not up to the standard. the talbot hotel kindly took us on (16ppl) and were very helpful and generous. the rooms in which we stayed in were al together and very spacious. i used the swimming pool in the morning. the whole experience was enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable. i would strongly recommend the talbot hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TalbotManager, General Manager at Talbot Hotel Carlow, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review based on your recent stay with us here at the Talbot Hotel Carlow.

We were delighted to be able to accommodate you and that you were able to take the opportunity to try some of the facilities we have on offer here at the Hotel. I was very pleased to note that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay and we look forward to having the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Talbot in the future.

Thank you again and kind regards

Ken Battigan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlow
1.8 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
2.2 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
16.3 km away
Mount Wolseley Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
28.1 km away
Newpark Hotel
Newpark Hotel
#3 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
29.4 km away
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
Kilkenny Ormonde Hotel
#7 of 18 in Kilkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Talbot Hotel Carlow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel Carlow

Property: Talbot Hotel Carlow
Address: Portlaoise Road, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Carlow
Price range (per night): $92 - $183
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel Carlow 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Talbot Hotel is Carlow town's only four star hotel located 5 minutes drive from the town centre with easy access to motorways and only one hour from Dublin. All 84 spacious guest rooms including two spectacular suites and well appointed interconnecting family rooms are designed, furnished and decorated with the ultimate of guest comfort and convenience in mind. A range of dining options are available at the Talbot Hotel Carlow. Corries Bar & Bistro serves delicious food throughout the day including Morning Coffee, Carvery Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Light Bites & Bistro Favorites. The 4th floor Liberty Tree Restaurant offers scenic views of the surrounding rolling countryside and is open daily for Breakfast and Dinner. The award wining Inspirit Health & Leisure Club boasts a 20m Deck Level Pool, Kids Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and Extensive Gym. Indigo Hair & Beauty gives guests the opportunity to relax and be pampered without leaving the hotel. A range of entertainment options are available to hotel residents including the Talbot Tiger's Kids Club at weekends & holiday periods; Live Music & Table Quiz in Corries Bar & Bistro and the DOME Family Entertainment Centre on site offering Bowling, Arcade and Kidzmania Playzone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and Booking.com so you can book your Talbot Hotel Carlow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlow Talbot Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing