We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic, quiet hotel with quite a few quirks.”
Review of Hotel du Pillon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Pillon
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2016

Like other reviewers here we found this hotel to be very friendly and comfortable but also a little past its prime (if that's possible for an historic hotel!). The owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We were on a walking holiday and were picked up from the station and given a brief tour of the town on the way to the hotel, which added 5 minutes to an otherwise 2 minute ride. Because we had heavy cases we were thoughtfully routed into the hotel through the cramped kitchen rather than up the 20+ front steps - which saved a quite a bit of effort. Had we come by car there is plenty of parking out in front (at the bottom of the steps) though.

Entering the hotel though the official entry way is like walking into the front room of their home. It is full of memorabilia creaky furniture and out dated information (like a bus timetable from 2014). The bedroom we had was slightly cramped but had a great view across the valley. The Shower cubicle was in the bedroom to get around historic building regulations. The room was clad in pine wood and the finish a little on the skimpy side but was very clean and comfortable.

This is not a particularly expensive hotel so value for money is not really an issue, however compared with other 3 star hotels the breakfast is a little light (nothing cooked) and the evening meals, although filling are not very special (and quite overpriced if the cost of dinner is not included with the room). There are a few strange quirks like paying for some coffees at breakfast and not others, and a deserts list that didn't seem to match what was actually served. For some reason the shower heads are installed at waist rather than head height and the towels are not laundered with fabric softener so not soft and fluffy.

You might get the impression that the owners are winding down after years of service and cutting a few corners here and there, Or maybe its that they just want you to feel at home and not be fussed over. I can see why some people might love this hotel and others would be disappointed. We stayed for three nights which was long enough to enjoy an appreciate the experience of this classic old hotel. Would we would go back if ever in the area again? - Possibly - but would look at other options as well..

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have great views of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Granada100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Charming, individual, lovely dining and sitting rooms, great terrace, small but pleasant rooms with great balcony views. Francis and the hostess were so friendly and it felt as if you were at a weekend house party. Set meals were refreshingly different from the cheese fondues we experienced and the set meal times not a problem. The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from the town. Very memorable - you must go!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Michael_Anderson107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbpillon, Propriétaire at Hotel du Pillon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Michaël, thank you for your comment , we are glad you enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Superb hiking and a comfortable welcome at the end of the day. Gorgeous views from the rooms, a warm homy feeling throughout. Great location for local trips, on foot, bike or car. Good modern conveniences in an historic environment. If you like hiking, biking and nature, go there!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais du Silence Hotels
Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

As the saying goes...
We booked this because of good reviews the past few years but I sense it may be going downhill from here. Elitist, burnt out and overworked manager that does not act like this is a international hotel although it advertises as such. Updated yes, historical yes, but poorly, a lot of bad art on walls, bad refinishing, strange shared balconies with no privacy. Minimum breakfast. Waited 45 minutes for our table for dinner at the restaurant we reserved in the morning. We finally left and drove to the village. The next morning the manager tried to blame us for misunderstanding due to language differences ...the client who waited politely in the lobby right under their noses, to be seated. It was simply very poor hosting and front of house skills. The manager acted as if none of this service issue was a problem, then he blamed everyone but himself. We live in the area, Swiss citizens, plenty of other 3 star hotels in the area that are better. Also...15 minute walk to village which is ok if your fit, but along a main road and at night dangerous, would be nice not to have to drive it.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank digimommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bbpillon, Propriétaire at Hotel du Pillon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2016
Google Translation

"digimommy" le pseudo de l'auteur est révélateur du contenu du commentaire . Définition du Larousse pour "ignonimie" mot très voisin : "Action déshonorante, dégradante pour son auteur , cette accusation, c'est une ignominie" . Que dire d'autre ? Je crois me rappeler d'une psycho-rigide qui suite à un malentendu dû à son français très mauvais et incompréhensible est restée toute la soirée dans un fauteuil de la réception au lieu de passer à la salle à manger où sa table était réservée avec son numéro de chambre . De sa faute nous n'avons pas pu accueillir d'autres clients qui souhaitaient diner . En plus de ne pas s'excuser elle nous a injuriés, comme elle le fait de nouveau sur son commentaire .Merci diginomy vous êtes l'exception qui confirme la règle .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016

The setting and location are stunning. Not hard to find off the main road. Our room had a balcony and the views across the valley were stunning. The room itself was a bit disappointing as the shower was in the main room with a clear glass door. At our age the last thing we need to see is each other showering. At least the toilet was in a closed room off the main bedroom.
The food offered had no choice and the quality was average at best. Overall a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank britabroadUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Diablerets
1 km away
Hotel Le Chamois
Hotel Le Chamois
#3 of 4 in Les Diablerets
99 reviews
1.7 km away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#2 of 4 in Les Diablerets
141 reviews
9.4 km away
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
Alpe Fleurie Hotel & Residence
#3 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Les Sources
Hotel Les Sources
#4 of 4 in Les Diablerets
49 reviews
9.3 km away
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
Chalet RoyAlp Hotel & Spa
#1 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
673 reviews
9.1 km away
Eurotel Victoria
Eurotel Victoria
#6 of 8 in Villars-sur-Ollon
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Pillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Pillon

Address: Bovets, chemin des 16, Les Diablerets 1865, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Les Diablerets
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Les Diablerets
Price Range: $199 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel du Pillon 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swiss Historic Hotel, small charming hotel with 12 rooms located outside the village in the countryside, renovated in 2010. Classified catalog of the most beautiful hotels in Switzerland by Swiss Heritage for its 1900 architecture and interior decoration. Unlike the standard large hotels you will find here the feeling of being at home. The perfect location of the hotel facing the Glacier 3000; from its large terrace or from the balconies of the rooms you can admire the outstanding view on the snowy peaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel du Pillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Pillon Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing