We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage with lovely views”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hall Dale View

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Two Dales, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sharon S
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location, pet friendly, property "unloved"”
Reviewed 20 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Can't fault location, great for dogs. Owner depends on cleaning agency who don't keep the bungalow clean. No welcome pack, I would expect a pint of milk at least. No toilet roll and the property hadn't been serviced when we arrived. Owner tried to address this, but it was Monday before the bed was changed and the shower curtain replaced as it was disgraceful. If you don't plan to cook or spend much time in the bungalow, it would be fine. We were very unhappy with the upkeep of the holiday let, the owner compensated us, but we would rather have stayed somewhere clean.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
OLD CLEANER GIVEN MARCHING ORDERS, NEW CLEANERS TAKEN OVER
We have no reason to believe Sharon incorrect in her belief that the property had not been cleaned to the expected standard, although she did at first report that a changeover of sorts had been done. Until earlier this year we and Hall Dale View had benefitted from excellent cleaners for 5 years, as regulars can testify.
Regrettably and to our cost when our previous cleaners could no longer continue we appointed Homeclean Services of Matlock Ltd as a replacement. From an earlier incident we felt them to be less reliable than we and our guests should expect we had, however, until Sharon contacted us nothing to indicate their actual work to be substandard.
When Sharon got in touch, we were away ourselves but immediately tried to contact the cleaners. The Manager, Ian Hardwick, advised he too was away and kept promising to get back to us while he chased an employee who he stated had been left on this occasion to do the clean. When we eventually got a satisfactory response from him on Sunday he said he was returning to sort it out, and tried to contact Sharon in the meantime to arrange this, as she acknowledged to us. Although it was felt the double bed linen had been changed (the twins weren't used by the previous guests) as she was unhappy he confirmed he had gone ahead and replaced it.
It was only on Friday evening, the day before departure, that Sharon contacted us again to say she was still not happy. We are very sorry and disappointed that this situation arose. It was certainly not the experience we wish any guest to have.
Very soon after Sharon's stay new cleaners were appointed and we hope guests will agree that Hall Dale View has now returned to its former clean and comfortable self.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cornishpa...
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Slightly Dissapointed.”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

When we arrived at the property it had not been cleaned since the last visitors, we contacted the owners who were very quick in getting the cleaners in who in a short time had the property looking how it should have been.
Little dissapointed in the lounge as the three piece suite and cusions in the photo were replaced by unmatching settee and unconfortable chairs and flat cushions.
Having had my little moan i must say everything else was good, The location is great and ideal for visitng everywhere.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your forbearance on arrival, it was a new experience for us after five years of running Hall Dale View as a holiday cottage. The 'current' cleaners have promised this will not happen again and we will be keeping a close eye on it. Apologies for not having updated the website photograph to show the new lounge furniture (now done). We felt the new red easy chairs in particular were a good comfortable replacement for the former suite, which was due for renewal, and in addition when combined with the sofa gave a contemporary feel to the lounge. We will definitely be taking up your suggestion over the cushions - currently looking for some more suitable ones to go with the new furniture. If you are revisiting the area hope you will consider holiday with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lainey260
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful, clean and cosy holiday cottage and dog friendly in lovely area”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have had a fabulous holiday in this gorgeous cottage. It is the best we have stayed in. It was wonderful to take our doggies with us, the area is lovely and great for dog walking, the neighbours are really friendly and it's easy to walk to the local post office and the local shop for bread and milk etc, Matlock has a great Marks and Spencer's for food and a super Birds Bakery for cream cakes and yummy pork pies! It's a great location for visiting further afield including Bakewell for Bakewell puddings and the beautiful Manifold Valley. The cottage had everything we needed and it was just home from home, we definitely want to return as soon as we can. A huge thank you to the owners for a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to take our doggies with us and feeling so at home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing