We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is the Location, and the Location only!”
Review of Hotel Major Davel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Major Davel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cully
Northants UK
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
“It is the Location, and the Location only!”
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I stayed in Cully a couple of years back at a hotel 100 metres up the hill, Auberge du Raisin, whilst there the restaurant was shut and they recommended "The Major", and yes the food was good.

So on this trip as the Raisin was expensive and The Major was not so, I booked it. I can see why the difference in price!

Raisin is elegant and with superlative rooms, Major is OK, clean, but with Spartan rooms, no TV, no mini bar, no tea/coffee, not nothing except a toilet and very low pressure shower.

Food still good, but expensive, breakfast dreadful, except those who are on bread and jam only.

View across lake exceptional, will not use again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    15
    15
    7
    9
See reviews for
10
17
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2010

We loved our one night here. Bernadette Messmer, the owner (with her husband) runs a traditional hotel which still had all the things you need (broadband, peace and quiet, good food, clean rooms, etc.). Location is a good as it can get. Service was very 'French' the nice end of abrupt you could say. All the locals came in to gossip over their morning coffee. Once of them was the policeman - watch out: you can park outside the hotel in the evening but hten you need to get sorted with a blue card thing first thing in the morning! We had a wonderful meal in the the glass dining room, simple fresh produce cooked finely without unnecessary fuss. We can't wait to go there again, but like all of Switzerland it was more expensive than Italy (where we were going) and Germany (where we had come from).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ViktorGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The Major Davel has an outstanding location in Cully, across a vast grassy area from the boat pier, in a low traffic area.
Most guests staying in one of its few rooms will undoubtedly taking advantage of the room and board option, including continental breakfast and a full course dinner in its excellent restaurant, one of the better ones in the area. This being a premier wine growing area, spending the night in the hotel after sampling some of the local wines is certainly a good idea!
The rooms themselves are basic but extremely clean, as they would be in a Swiss home. There is a shower stall, no bathtub, and as I recall no TV, in keeping with the simple philosophy.
Be warned that the closest parking spots are in blue zone, and that the local police is eager to ticket people who stay there over the alloted hour or two during working hours. There is no such limitation on street parking further from the boat pier.
I highly recommend taking a walk along the lake, possibly climbing up through the vineyards to Epesses. Great views!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwc196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2008

We've stayed at the Major Davel twice. If you don't like old Europe you won't like this. A beautiful location, quiet,, charming, where people gather in the afternoons or evenings to have a coffee or glass of local wine. Mme Messmer was always nice to us, as was everyone there. No elevator, so we carried our bags up 2-3 flights of stairs (no was was available to help until 5 PM). The first room, with balcony, was too small, with a shower we could barely turn around it. The second, on the second floor, was much better, with a nicer bathroom tub. If this hotel were given a much needed updated decor (very seventies, really old looking) and made the amenities a little nicer (real shampoo, a little skincream) it would be quite a find.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — old rooms, outmoded decor
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tailors3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 29 March 2006

I had the misfortune of visiting Au Major Davel. The food isn't really wonderful, and the hostess treats her employees horribly. You can just see it in their faces, it's quite sad. The view is great over looking Lake Geneva, though.

  • Stayed July 2004, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cully hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cully
0.0 km away
Hotel Lavaux
Hotel Lavaux
#1 of 3 in Cully
251 reviews
0.0 km away
Auberge Du Raisin
Auberge Du Raisin
#2 of 3 in Cully
85 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Lakeview Le Rivage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Auberge de la Gare
Auberge de la Gare
#1 of 1 in Grandvaux
166 reviews
0.0 km away
Le Baron Tavernier
Le Baron Tavernier
#1 of 2 in Chexbres
169 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel-Restaurant Prealpina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Major Davel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Major Davel

Property: Hotel Major Davel
Address: Cully, Bourg-en-Lavaux CH-1096, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Vaud > Bourg-en-Lavaux > Cully
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cully
Price range (per night): $143 - $201
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Major Davel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Major Davel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Major Davel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing