We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A comfortable hotel in good location for the slopes. Nothing too much troubleble” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldhaus-Huldi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Waldhaus-Huldi
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Adelboden
UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A comfortable hotel in good location for the slopes. Nothing too much troubleble”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

Adelboden is a lovely resort and, thankfully, one that the British Ski tourist market has not broken into yet. This also means booking a hotel is difficult but we came up trumps with the Waldhaus Huldi,. A family run hotel with several generations of the family very much in evidence. From the friendly pick up to check out nothing was too much trouble for the owners and their team. Our room was not large but had everything we needed and the space was well designed. Good breakfast buffet and good choice of food at dinner.


The complementary massage was a joy and the masseur very good - was a bit off putting he was our waiter too but very professional and soon got over shock!

Bit disappointed that we could not exercise the eat around option ( where guests on half board can eat at another hotel in Adelboden)
Don't stay here if you want night life and excitement ( come to that don't stay in Adelboden) but everything you would want is on site. Sehr Gemutlich.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    20
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
20
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2010

The hotel was selected by HF Holidays as a base for its winter walking trip. There were about 10 other participants including my husband and myself. This was the perfect base for exhausting days, withs its cozy rooms, the welcoming sauna and the healthy, delicious breakfasts and dinners. In addition it is perched at the edge of a tiny Swiss mountain Village, enabling us to stroll through the village when we were free. The family that has owned the hotel since 1914 is justifiably proud and two generations are always around and visible. We were there over New Years and the owners went out of their way to provide a special dinner and a lovely evening, at no extra charge. We really felt like valued house guests and that's a great feeling when traveling. We hope we'll have a chance to go back.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronacom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
194 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

This year was the first time we went to Adelboden in summer, although me and my family have been going to the same village and hotel for about 50 years, every winter. I guess this fact alone underlines that the hotel is good otherwise one of the three generations of my family would have decided to go somewhere else.
Adelboden is a lovely village, typically Swiss with chalets etc. There are no big modern building or tower blocks and the valley is very pretty. In sumer it is great for walking, mountainbiking, climbing, sightseeing and paragliding whilst skiing / cross country skiing in winter has kept imrpoving and is really now just as good as any other big station. It is definitely no ghost town as one reviewer says, there are restaurants, bars, a cinema, nightclubs and icehockey games, of course if you want to go hardcore partying it is not your place.
The hotel is family run and they have kept the same look in the spacious living area and so it appears very homy and cosy if you're sitting by the nice open fire enjoying a piece of cake. They even have a multilingual library for you to hire book if you have forgotten yours. The staff is freindly and multilingual. Breakfast and dinner are delicious and there are more than 6 parking spaces, the writer of that article simply didn't find the big car park behing the Waldhaus catering for about another 15 cars...
Some of the rooms are quite old-fashioned, but in a Swiss cosy way. They are however constantly renewing their rooms and if you go for the more expensive rooms (like my parents do) they are very big, brand new and have even a whirlpool in the bathtub! They have a nice sauna in winter and a lovely garden /openair heated pool in summer. And the views from the balcony are amazing!
The hotel is situated at the end of the village which used to be a bad thing until 15 years ago when they built the new cable car and so now it is actually one of the closest to the main town cable car station which takes you to the mountains (about 20 minutes away).
I can only recomend the Huldi and Adelboden if you want a nice, relaxing holiday with your family / partner where you can enjoy the charm Switzerland has to offer!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chichester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2009

10 of us stayed in this hotel, 4 adults, and the rest teenagers. Staff were very kind and helpfull. Rooms were beautiful, with spectacular views especially room 16, and 24.
Food was just as good as a 4 star service, especially the cheese they serve, top class. The lounge area hasnt changed since 1984, no jokes.
The person who wrote that adelboden is a ghost town after 18.00 is clearly confused. Their's about 6 bars in the village of which about 4 of them are buzzing till about midnight. Remember though your going to a swiss town in the mountain, if you want to go clubbing go to ibiza.
Would stay again. ski area is fairly big, not the best ive been to, but not bad at all. My personal favourate would be flims, but the village isnt so nice their, compared to Adelboden ( typical beautiful swiss town)

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank warrenrapley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2008

My husband, 8 yr old son and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Waldhaus-Huldi Hotel. We had a double, corner room with connecting door through to a single for our son. Between us we had a total of 3 balconies, each with a spectacular view. Our bathroom was of generous proportions, warm and comfortable. The hotel is situated at the far-end of town, which does entail slightly longer walks to the gondola stations and restaurants, however, the quieter location made for a far more peaceful time. Hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful. Breakfast is buffet-style, ready and waiting, just the ticket for when you're raring to get on the slopes. And, upon your return, the newly finished Sauna/Steam Room puts you nicely back together again. Go on - pull the rope connected to the cold bucket of water!! Lucy & Mark

  • Liked — Views
  • Disliked — Walk to centre of town
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank amazon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Adelboden hotels
0.8 km away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#7 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.6 km away
Adler Adelboden
Adler Adelboden
#3 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Hotel Beau-Site
Hotel Beau-Site
#10 of 15 in Adelboden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.4 km away
Parkhotel Bellevue
Parkhotel Bellevue
#2 of 15 in Adelboden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Steinmattli
Hotel Steinmattli
#9 of 15 in Adelboden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldhaus-Huldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldhaus-Huldi

Property: Waldhaus-Huldi
Address: Dorfstrasse 77/88, Adelboden 3715, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Adelboden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Adelboden
Price range (per night): $241 - $309
Hotel Class:3 star — Waldhaus-Huldi 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Waldhaus-Huldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldhaus Huldi Adelboden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing