We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
222
106
35
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
106
35
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zurich lake lovely hotel lake view beer garden business trip service was excellent high quality outstanding location nice touch ferry ride great option i'm glad close to the train station private beach main building rooms are comfortable historic house
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The location on the lake is stunning, and the good train connection to Zurich makes it an easy place to stay. The old house is delightful and I enjoyed the different decorative character of each of the public rooms, with well-selected examples of art, both ancient and modern, on every wall. Breakfast was delicious, with a view of the peaceful lake. Evening meals were delicious too. The reception staff were extremely helpful and intelligent.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank catherine3132016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

My room was very nice; I was staying with my cousin in the room (and we're both quite messy!) and the room fit us very nicely. The concierge was very kind as my grandma wanted to switch her room many times, and they were very kind to us. The breakfast was incredible! I loved the spread of breads, the pretzel is to die for! The concierge was very kind and recommended to us our favorite restaurant of the trip, Kindli, where I had the best weiner schnitzel ever! I highly reccomend this hotel

Room Tip: Views of the lake
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliettecalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A perfect example of combining old historic buildings into a great hotel experience. Directly placed byt the lake, this location is a unique experience combined with a gastronomic star kitchen. Rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is served with views to the lake and ice skating track.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Superb hotel in outstanding location. Exceptional front desk service. Breakfast mediocre with unfriendly waiter. Very good connection to downtown Zurich from adjacent train station with frequent direct connections.
In summary: very very pleasant hotel in nice lakefront location.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This hotel is part of the Romantik chain. That doesn't necessarily mean romance but one doesn't expect the breakfast room to be dominated by single business men, nor work conferences down the corridor from your room..

Several things were a let down so here are the + and -:

+ the casual pub area for lunch is cosy and the food limited but ok
+ good location
+ free parking

- a dinner main of "chicken breast" was served with the cheaper drumstick instead (customers aren't stupid)
- staff are not welcoming, smiling or very helpful
- we asked for a map of town and were told they don't have one and to try at the railway station
- housekeeping was pretty rudimentary and blinds weren't even opened nor bins emptied
- along with a domination of business men at breakfast were unset tables and dirty tablecloths left from the night before. We ended up scavenging thru drawers to find spoons for cereal etc

All up I wouldn't return. Expensive for the quality and service. I have stayed at many Romantik chain hotels but this doesn't suit the brand. They are normally very family run friendly establishments but this was anything but.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ten2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
We are not able to fill our Romantic Hotel only with couples. In our hotel we do welcome business clients as well as families,
The chicken breast was not the drumstick, what a piity you didn't ask at the restaurant.
We do serve the chicken breast with a little bone and people love it, because it is a Swiss chicken from one of the farms where they really care about their chickens.
Kuesnacht ist a very small town with the lakeshore and a main road. this is it. We do have maps from Kuesnacht but they cost CHF 9.00 plus and that day we ran out of maps. Our receptionist could remember you very well and she offered you to print a map out from the internet, but you wanted to have a real map. We are sorry about this.
We do apologize for the bin which was not empty after cleaning. During your stay in September we had still some strong sunshine and therefore blinds were closed. (Beacause of the heat).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews