We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic old hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2017

A perfect example of combining old historic buildings into a great hotel experience. Directly placed byt the lake, this location is a unique experience combined with a gastronomic star kitchen. Rooms are large and comfortable. Breakfast buffet is served with views to the lake and ice skating track.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

Superb hotel in outstanding location. Exceptional front desk service. Breakfast mediocre with unfriendly waiter. Very good connection to downtown Zurich from adjacent train station with frequent direct connections.
In summary: very very pleasant hotel in nice lakefront location.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This hotel is part of the Romantik chain. That doesn't necessarily mean romance but one doesn't expect the breakfast room to be dominated by single business men, nor work conferences down the corridor from your room..

Several things were a let down so here are the + and -:

+ the casual pub area for lunch is cosy and the food limited but ok
+ good location
+ free parking


- a dinner main of "chicken breast" was served with the cheaper drumstick instead (customers aren't stupid)
- staff are not welcoming, smiling or very helpful
- we asked for a map of town and were told they don't have one and to try at the railway station
- housekeeping was pretty rudimentary and blinds weren't even opened nor bins emptied
- along with a domination of business men at breakfast were unset tables and dirty tablecloths left from the night before. We ended up scavenging thru drawers to find spoons for cereal etc

All up I wouldn't return. Expensive for the quality and service. I have stayed at many Romantik chain hotels but this doesn't suit the brand. They are normally very family run friendly establishments but this was anything but.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ten2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
We are not able to fill our Romantic Hotel only with couples. In our hotel we do welcome business clients as well as families,
The chicken breast was not the drumstick, what a piity you didn't ask at the restaurant.
We do serve the chicken breast with a little bone and people love it, because it is a Swiss chicken from one of the farms where they really care about their chickens.
Kuesnacht ist a very small town with the lakeshore and a main road. this is it. We do have maps from Kuesnacht but they cost CHF 9.00 plus and that day we ran out of maps. Our receptionist could remember you very well and she offered you to print a map out from the internet, but you wanted to have a real map. We are sorry about this.
We do apologize for the bin which was not empty after cleaning. During your stay in September we had still some strong sunshine and therefore blinds were closed. (Beacause of the heat).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

A beautifully restored and character hotel with easy access to Zurich via the train system.
I have stayed here a few times and the serenity and calmness of the hotel is lovely. Each room is unique and this trip I had a wonderful level dormer style room. They follow the European aesthetic of understated and elegant but well appointed.
The fine dining restaurant here is award winning, and the breakfast buffet has alot of variety for all. The main restaurant has a conservatory style area with access to the outdoors and great views of the lake.
They also have another more casual restaurant in the front.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Goddess64TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the positiv review. We are very please that you are so fond of our restaurant food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This would have been an easy five stars. I mean it's just like a fairytale. Castle-like building on the Lake Zurich coast in a quiet Kusnacht and a 10 minute train ride (there is an underground pass, which leads to the station) from Zurich center.

Rooms are a deathtrap with all the stairs and several height levels, but this just adds to the medeival charm.
Breakfast is wonderful.
There were two large weddings while I was there and the party was rather loud. But inside the room - not a sound.

But... there is a smoking bar next to the lobby. Smoking. In the year 2016. Switzerland. Come on. So all the hallways around the reception reek of smoke. It's totally out of place and time.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jernej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Romantik Seehotel Sonne and that you like the builing as much as we do. Indeed we do have a bar where smoking is allowed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kusnacht
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 137 in Zurich
852 reviews
Hotel Belvoir Swiss Quality
#1 of 2 in Rueschlikon
299 reviews
Seefeld
LADYs FIRST Hotel
LADYs FIRST Hotel
#14 of 137 in Zurich
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sedartis
#1 of 1 in Thalwil
220 reviews
Seerose Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meisterschwanden
868 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 137 in Zurich
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Seehotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Seehotel Sonne

Address: Seestrasse 120, Kusnacht 8700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kusnacht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Price Range: $286 - $496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Seehotel Sonne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is situated in a unique position directly on lake Zurich, just 12 minutes by car or public transportion from Zurich-city. Ideal starting point for exploring the cities Zurich and Rapperswil. With the car: Zurich-City, follow the signs direction lake (See), Meilen, Rapperswil. Kusnacht is located on the right side of Lake Zurich. With the train: direct train connection from Zurich-airport with the train S16 within 30 minutes, from Zurich City (main train station HB or Stadelhofen) with the train S6 or S16 within 12 minutes. You will find the hotel within 2 walking minutes from the station "Kusnacht ZH" in the direction of the lake. 40 stylish hotel rooms, most of them with a unique lake view. Wireless internet, hard wood floor, well-kept appliances matching the historic house. The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is equipped with 4 air-conitioned meeting- and banquette rooms and 40 stylish hotel rooms. Free wireless internet, free parking, welcome drink and free access to our elegant wellness- and fitness area. Private lawn by the lake with access for swimming in lake Zurich. Our well-balanced breakfast buffet is included. Stylish wellness and fitness area in the hotel. Private lawn for sunbathing and direct acces to the lake for swimming. Restaurant Sonnengalerie: Breakfast, Lunch and dinner. Very popular terrasse in the summer with view to the lake, modern dishes and traditional swiss specialties. Gaststuben: popular restaurant for straightforward kitchen in historic rooms, many traditional dishes, warm kitchen all day. During the summer, when the weather is good, the restaurant stays closed. Beer garden : the most beautiful beer garden on lake Zurich with a large grill station, thai-wok, salad buffet, cozy athmosphere on warm evenings. Kusnacht meets here. During summer from March until October open daily when the weather is good and temperatures reach a minimum of 15 degrees. Turmbar: elegant bar in the oldest part of the hotel. Meeting place for locals and hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Seehotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Hotel
Seehotel Sonne küsnacht
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Canton Of Zurich/Kusnacht, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing