We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
222
106
35
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
106
35
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zurich lake lovely hotel lake view beer garden business trip service was excellent high quality outstanding location nice touch ferry ride great option i'm glad close to the train station private beach main building rooms are comfortable historic house
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2016

This hotel is part of the Romantik chain. That doesn't necessarily mean romance but one doesn't expect the breakfast room to be dominated by single business men, nor work conferences down the corridor from your room..

Several things were a let down so here are the + and -:

+ the casual pub area for lunch is cosy and the food limited but ok
+ good location
+ free parking

- a dinner main of "chicken breast" was served with the cheaper drumstick instead (customers aren't stupid)
- staff are not welcoming, smiling or very helpful
- we asked for a map of town and were told they don't have one and to try at the railway station
- housekeeping was pretty rudimentary and blinds weren't even opened nor bins emptied
- along with a domination of business men at breakfast were unset tables and dirty tablecloths left from the night before. We ended up scavenging thru drawers to find spoons for cereal etc

All up I wouldn't return. Expensive for the quality and service. I have stayed at many Romantik chain hotels but this doesn't suit the brand. They are normally very family run friendly establishments but this was anything but.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ten2one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
We are not able to fill our Romantic Hotel only with couples. In our hotel we do welcome business clients as well as families,
The chicken breast was not the drumstick, what a piity you didn't ask at the restaurant.
We do serve the chicken breast with a little bone and people love it, because it is a Swiss chicken from one of the farms where they really care about their chickens.
Kuesnacht ist a very small town with the lakeshore and a main road. this is it. We do have maps from Kuesnacht but they cost CHF 9.00 plus and that day we ran out of maps. Our receptionist could remember you very well and she offered you to print a map out from the internet, but you wanted to have a real map. We are sorry about this.
We do apologize for the bin which was not empty after cleaning. During your stay in September we had still some strong sunshine and therefore blinds were closed. (Beacause of the heat).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

A beautifully restored and character hotel with easy access to Zurich via the train system.
I have stayed here a few times and the serenity and calmness of the hotel is lovely. Each room is unique and this trip I had a wonderful level dormer style room. They follow the European aesthetic of understated and elegant but well appointed.
The fine dining restaurant here is award winning, and the breakfast buffet has alot of variety for all. The main restaurant has a conservatory style area with access to the outdoors and great views of the lake.
They also have another more casual restaurant in the front.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
Thank Goddess64TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for the positiv review. We are very please that you are so fond of our restaurant food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This would have been an easy five stars. I mean it's just like a fairytale. Castle-like building on the Lake Zurich coast in a quiet Kusnacht and a 10 minute train ride (there is an underground pass, which leads to the station) from Zurich center.

Rooms are a deathtrap with all the stairs and several height levels, but this just adds to the medeival charm.
Breakfast is wonderful.
There were two large weddings while I was there and the party was rather loud. But inside the room - not a sound.

But... there is a smoking bar next to the lobby. Smoking. In the year 2016. Switzerland. Come on. So all the hallways around the reception reek of smoke. It's totally out of place and time.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jernej K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
We are very delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Romantik Seehotel Sonne and that you like the builing as much as we do. Indeed we do have a bar where smoking is allowed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016

We visit this hotel for the third time and found that the standard remains very high. We took the short holiday package which included a superior lake view room and a five course gourmet meal on one evening. We received a warm welcome at reception. Our room was in the annex which is quiet with a great view of the lake. The boat stops right outside the hotel and the train and bus stations ar a very short walk away. The meal was superb and we were well looked after by Nadia both at breakfast and in the evening.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the lake are quieter but generally it is not a noisy area.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LydiaJCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Lydia
Many thanks for this nice review. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Our stay at the Seehotel was fabulous. The room was very clean and modern, beds wonderfully soft and comfortable.

Have a cup of coffee in the garden area (just be careful where you sit as birds like to sit above you in the trees!) and watch the water as ferries come and go regularly.

Breakfast in the hotel caters for all with a good variety of both hot and cold food options.

All staff we met were friendly and helpful. If I was in Zurich again I'd surely stay at this hotel once again.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Lb1kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine J, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Guest
We thank you for the positive review especially also for the nice comment about our friendly and helpful staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews