We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but great service and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Seehotel Sonne
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We were staying here with my wife, 2 y.o and 5 months old children for one night. We were invited to a baptism by some friends and somehow my wife managed to book one of the most expensive hotels around the area. With 2 small children you better relax and that's what we tried to do. Service was great, excellent breakfast and the location of the hotel right on the shore of the lake cannot be matched. Hopefully next time we will be there enjoying the "Romantik" side of Sonne Hotel. In checking out we were presented with a nice little pot of homemade marmalade, nice touch. Highly recommended if you are a couple looking for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niushork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 130 of 347 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2011

We only spend one night , but the Hotel is well positioned on the lake . The rooms are comfortable and clean. Excellent breakfast. We also had dinner in the Restaurant which was very good. We did not have enough time to try everything.

Room Tip: Our room had a view on the lake which is nice and was on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was our first stop after a long flight to Switzerland and it was the perfect place to recover. It is close enough to Zurich to be convenient but far enough to provide a better value. The room (lake side suite) was large, comfortable and well appointed - perfect for us as we were traveling with a toddler and needed a quiet nook for the crib and for him to nap. My only complaint was that the room had only one window, which isn't evident from the pictures online.

When we arrived, they offered us some prosecco and had us wait until they were ready to check us in. It seemed to be their ritual as others were waiting with prosecco in hand as well. This is charming if you are going there for a weekend trip to unwind. Not so charming if you've been traveling for 12+ hours with a cranky toddler and just want to get into your room.

In general, once we got to our room, we had a great relaxing stay.

We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swissmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked this hotel to do some apartment-hunting in Zurich. We had originally thought it was on the west side of the Zurich-see (we were hoping to tour various parts of Horgen), but somehow we were given this recommendation by a website because of the proximity to certain towns (they apparently did not appreciate that the lake was in the middle). Although driving through downtown Zurich on a Friday afternoon is to be avoided, it ultimately was the perfect location for our hotel. There was a boat about 5-10 meters from the Hotel that went directly to Thalwil. The reception was lovely, and they opened a bottle of champagne for us and gave us a "welcoming drink". Our room was gorgeous with an interesting bathroom (perhaps a too much glass if you want privacy), a gorgeous shower and a bath tub where you could use their lavender bath products and other amenities for no charge. We had gone for a slightly upgraded room (but did not splurge hugely) and it was worth it. The wooden beams around our room were lovely and provided a nice atmosphere. The food was good (we had breakfast and dinner there), but there were somewhat limited vegetarian options. The only downside was, if we opened our windows (the ventilation was not fabulous), we could hear the street traffic on Seestrasse. (We also had a bit of trouble with the internet connection for my Mac, but they sent someone to our room to fix it.) On our way out, they gave us a gift of homemade strawberry jam. It was a lovely 4-star experience, and I will recommend it to guests who want to come and visit us but want a slightly "special" experience that they will enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

What a special place. Drove from Brig through the Furkapass through so many valleys, tunnels, etc, into Zurich and found the hotel right on the lake, 10 min from city center. Arrived at reception, were offered a glass of prosecco, shown to our room in minutes. We had a type of attic room, tastefully designed, very private, comfortable, clean, good bathroom amenities, two books to read on bedside table, iPod docking station, ample closet space. After spending the evening and having dinner at the Baur au Lac, we returned and took our books outside on the terrace for a night cap. The ferry connects Kusnacht directly to a station adjacent to the Baur au Lac. After sleeping in (had street noise), we went down for breakfast and sat on the terrace. It was a pretty good spread, albeit a larger selection of cheeses and fruits would have been nice. Complimentary wi-fi available only in the lobby. We then sat out on the hotel's private terrace for a lazy couple of hours before taking the ferry into Zurich to eventually catch our flight. We're booking this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathiKuesnacht, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you for your statement. We looking forward to your next visit. Until then, please visit us on facebook. You can find our news & special offers there. https://www.facebook.com/romantikseehotel.sonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kusnacht
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 138 in Zurich
848 reviews
Hotel Belvoir Swiss Quality
#1 of 2 in Rueschlikon
298 reviews
Seefeld
LADYs FIRST Hotel
LADYs FIRST Hotel
#14 of 138 in Zurich
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sedartis
#1 of 1 in Thalwil
219 reviews
Seerose Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meisterschwanden
867 reviews
ibis Zurich Adliswil
#1 of 1 in Adliswil
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Seehotel Sonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Seehotel Sonne

Address: Seestrasse 120, Kusnacht 8700, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kusnacht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kusnacht
Price Range: $294 - $511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Romantik Seehotel Sonne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is situated in a unique position directly on lake Zurich, just 12 minutes by car or public transportion from Zurich-city. Ideal starting point for exploring the cities Zurich and Rapperswil. With the car: Zurich-City, follow the signs direction lake (See), Meilen, Rapperswil. Kusnacht is located on the right side of Lake Zurich. With the train: direct train connection from Zurich-airport with the train S16 within 30 minutes, from Zurich City (main train station HB or Stadelhofen) with the train S6 or S16 within 12 minutes. You will find the hotel within 2 walking minutes from the station "Kusnacht ZH" in the direction of the lake. 40 stylish hotel rooms, most of them with a unique lake view. Wireless internet, hard wood floor, well-kept appliances matching the historic house. The Romantik Seehotel Sonne is equipped with 4 air-conitioned meeting- and banquette rooms and 40 stylish hotel rooms. Free wireless internet, free parking, welcome drink and free access to our elegant wellness- and fitness area. Private lawn by the lake with access for swimming in lake Zurich. Our well-balanced breakfast buffet is included. Stylish wellness and fitness area in the hotel. Private lawn for sunbathing and direct acces to the lake for swimming. Restaurant Sonnengalerie: Breakfast, Lunch and dinner. Very popular terrasse in the summer with view to the lake, modern dishes and traditional swiss specialties. Gaststuben: popular restaurant for straightforward kitchen in historic rooms, many traditional dishes, warm kitchen all day. During the summer, when the weather is good, the restaurant stays closed. Beer garden : the most beautiful beer garden on lake Zurich with a large grill station, thai-wok, salad buffet, cozy athmosphere on warm evenings. Kusnacht meets here. During summer from March until October open daily when the weather is good and temperatures reach a minimum of 15 degrees. Turmbar: elegant bar in the oldest part of the hotel. Meeting place for locals and hotel guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Romantik Seehotel Sonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Hotel
Seehotel Sonne küsnacht
Romantik Seehotel Sonne Canton Of Zurich/Kusnacht, Switzerland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing