We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
222
106
35
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
222
106
35
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zurich lake lovely hotel lake view beer garden business trip service was excellent high quality outstanding location nice touch ferry ride great option i'm glad close to the train station private beach main building rooms are comfortable historic house
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We only spend one night , but the Hotel is well positioned on the lake . The rooms are comfortable and clean. Excellent breakfast. We also had dinner in the Restaurant which was very good. We did not have enough time to try everything.

Room Tip: Our room had a view on the lake which is nice and was on a higher floor
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lonegull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

This was our first stop after a long flight to Switzerland and it was the perfect place to recover. It is close enough to Zurich to be convenient but far enough to provide a better value. The room (lake side suite) was large, comfortable and well appointed - perfect for us as we were traveling with a toddler and needed a quiet nook for the crib and for him to nap. My only complaint was that the room had only one window, which isn't evident from the pictures online.

When we arrived, they offered us some prosecco and had us wait until they were ready to check us in. It seemed to be their ritual as others were waiting with prosecco in hand as well. This is charming if you are going there for a weekend trip to unwind. Not so charming if you've been traveling for 12+ hours with a cranky toddler and just want to get into your room.

In general, once we got to our room, we had a great relaxing stay.

We particularly enjoyed the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swissmister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We booked this hotel to do some apartment-hunting in Zurich. We had originally thought it was on the west side of the Zurich-see (we were hoping to tour various parts of Horgen), but somehow we were given this recommendation by a website because of the proximity to certain towns (they apparently did not appreciate that the lake was in the middle). Although driving through downtown Zurich on a Friday afternoon is to be avoided, it ultimately was the perfect location for our hotel. There was a boat about 5-10 meters from the Hotel that went directly to Thalwil. The reception was lovely, and they opened a bottle of champagne for us and gave us a "welcoming drink". Our room was gorgeous with an interesting bathroom (perhaps a too much glass if you want privacy), a gorgeous shower and a bath tub where you could use their lavender bath products and other amenities for no charge. We had gone for a slightly upgraded room (but did not splurge hugely) and it was worth it. The wooden beams around our room were lovely and provided a nice atmosphere. The food was good (we had breakfast and dinner there), but there were somewhat limited vegetarian options. The only downside was, if we opened our windows (the ventilation was not fabulous), we could hear the street traffic on Seestrasse. (We also had a bit of trouble with the internet connection for my Mac, but they sent someone to our room to fix it.) On our way out, they gave us a gift of homemade strawberry jam. It was a lovely 4-star experience, and I will recommend it to guests who want to come and visit us but want a slightly "special" experience that they will enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

What a special place. Drove from Brig through the Furkapass through so many valleys, tunnels, etc, into Zurich and found the hotel right on the lake, 10 min from city center. Arrived at reception, were offered a glass of prosecco, shown to our room in minutes. We had a type of attic room, tastefully designed, very private, comfortable, clean, good bathroom amenities, two books to read on bedside table, iPod docking station, ample closet space. After spending the evening and having dinner at the Baur au Lac, we returned and took our books outside on the terrace for a night cap. The ferry connects Kusnacht directly to a station adjacent to the Baur au Lac. After sleeping in (had street noise), we went down for breakfast and sat on the terrace. It was a pretty good spread, albeit a larger selection of cheeses and fruits would have been nice. Complimentary wi-fi available only in the lobby. We then sat out on the hotel's private terrace for a lazy couple of hours before taking the ferry into Zurich to eventually catch our flight. We're booking this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathiKuesnacht, Manager at Romantik Seehotel Sonne, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2011

Thank you for your statement. We looking forward to your next visit. Until then, please visit us on facebook. You can find our news & special offers there. https://www.facebook.com/romantikseehotel.sonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I stayed just one night for a business event, and there is little not to like in terms of property (nice historic house), location (on the Zurich lake), rooms (large, nicely decorated), food and service. But...there is a big "but": if you like silence when you sleep, make sure you don't get a room on the street side. Even with the earplugs I normally use to sleep on long-haul flights it still was too noisy...

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lupoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews