We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (150)
Filter reviews
150 results
Traveller rating
92
49
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
92
49
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beau site la ferme family room hot and cold options the bus free hotel shuttle true swiss hospitality mini bar boutique hotel the main street exceptional hotel traditional swiss style return journey closed due wellness area free of charge minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 150 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2017

From the moment of making the booking at sunstar, the service we received was faultless. Every email I sent was always answered that same day, with the answers to my questions, and the train tickets from Zurich airport were sent as promised well in advance of the trip.
On arrival we were collected from the bus station in Saas Fee in the electric taxi within a few minutes, and taken straight to the hotel. The hotel is traditional and rustic but with a high quality and modern finish.
We had a comfort family room which was perfect for a family of 4 with 2 children aged 8 and 10. The bunk beds for the kids were in a separate room that could be closed off and the main sleeping area was very spacious, with room for a sofa and chair as well as a large bed and desk. The bathroom was clean & modern with a great shower! There was nothing better after skiing than a hot powerful shower each day. Free beer and soft drinks in the mini bar were are an additional plus, especially given the cost of drinks in Switzerland!
Breakfast was also of a high quality - with hot options and a wide range of cold options as well. Everything was so well presented.
The kids loved the spa area - good sized pool and loungers to relax on. There was also a sauna and steam area. Again, all well kept and extremely clean with plenty of towels available.
We ate in both restaurants during our stay, both great food. We did eat at other places in the town too but the hotel is so well located that everywhere was only a few minutes away. I would recommend booking places though as we struggled a couple of nights.
For skiing, you can walk to the lifts in 5/10mins which I did a few times but it's far for carrying skis etc. Mainly we took the hotel shuttle in the morning and then in the afternoon either the shuttle back or the public bus, or even the tourist train! By the hotel was a supermarket (for buying some cheap drinks etc!) and pharmacy as well as an excellent ski hire shop directly under the hotel (Cesar Sport Rent).
Finally - I have to mention that my daughter left behind her 4 soft toys that she sleeps with in her bed (one being very special) - I assumed these were lost but when I emailed the hotel they had all of them and within a week we had received these back in a parcel in London. This was just another example of the quality of service of this hotel.
In summary, I'd highly recommend Sunstar for quality, service, location, facilities and food. We will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LydiaJ26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus H, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Saas-Fee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Lydia
Thank you very much for the good and long feedback. Of course it's a pleasure to present it to all our staff. We are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us that much. We hope all of you are fine and still memory of a good time with us. In the main time it become spring and much more warmer as in December and January. How ever we got snow the last week and the condition's on the slops are still perfect.

It would be with a great pleasure to welcoming you once again.

With kind regards

Klaus Habegger
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Have just returned after a New Years break at the Sunstar, having had a fantastic stay the previous Xmas and it really didn't disappoint again. Due to fog at Geneva, we didn't arrive at the hotel until 21.00 on New Years Eve, and had prepared ourselves with having to order room service but to our great delight and surprise we were able to enjoy the full 5-course delicious New Years Eve menu. The food was consistently excellent throughout our stay, and this time we managed to dine in all 3 of the hotel's restaurants and enjoyed fantastic food and excellent service in Fee Challer and La Ferme as well.
Apart from the food which is first class, what really makes the hotel stand out are the amazing hotel managers and their excellent team. I'm not sure how Klaus, the hotel manager achieves to be omnipresent but he was at the bar most nights serving pre-dinner drinks, helping out in the hotel restaurants and ensuring that everything was OK for hotel guests and then serving after dinner drinks in the hotel bar afterwards. We spent part of the journey home wondering whether we could afford to return for an Easter skiing break and make use of our Winter season skiing pass, so there's not much more to say.......

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KarenJMiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus H, General Manager at Sunstar Hotel Saas-Fee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Dear Family M

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We're looking forward to see you next week for your Easter Holidays. The snow conditions are still perfect - just warmer as in December ;-)



Sincerely,

Klaus Habegger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel in early Jan 2017.
Beautiful traditional Swiss style hotel.
Well located in town central to everywhere on foot within 10 mins.
We were well looked after by the team, who helped with dinner recommendations and reservations.
Each morning we would use the hotel transport to the base of the mountain or as we did to our ski hire place that the hotel recommended this gave us a discount and allowed us to leave our skis and boots closer to the lifts and not have to lug them back to the hotel. Which in turn meant we could casually walk back each day and window shop, a nice end to the day.
Rooms were ample in size and even had a seperate bedroom for our son, two bathrooms and an entry area where all your ski clothing could be hung.
The hotel had a great pool area sauna and steam room which we made use of on most days, was extra good on the one day that the mountain was closed due to wind.
The 2 restaurants associated with the hotel were traditional Swiss and were both exceptional, was nice to be able to stay within the hotel to attend dinner on the last night.
Breakfast was plentiful and a good variety.
They even prepared us a breakfast bag for our departure day as we were leaving early.
One last great touch was that the porter started early to transfer us to the bus depot by 7am.
Well done would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Holidaysarefun-01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus H, Manager at Sunstar Hotel Saas-Fee, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Many thanks for your fantastic review and comments on your recent visit.
We love to see that you enjoyed your stay with us so much.
Great that you have enjoyed the hotel transport, the rooms, the wellness area, our restaurants as well the breakfast buffet.
Nice to hear that you were satisfied with our staff, we will definitively let the now.
We hope to welcoming you again.
Best regards
The Sunstar-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

My stay over the December holidays, just before Christmas, was delightful. From the beautiful room with majestic views of the surrounding mountains and the main street, to the vast breakfast buffet and the wonderful service of all the personnel. The swimming pool and grottoe, as well as the chimney in the lounge area were absolute bonus. Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms have all modern amenities and comforts, while the common areas have an unmistakeably beautiful and warm alpine decor.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olivia527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus H, Manager at Sunstar Hotel Saas-Fee, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. We love to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and liked our rooms and the view. Great that you have enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our wellness area.
We hope to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Best regards
The Sunstar-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

I wanted to find a quaint hotel with that Swiss Alps feel and this perfectly brought my image to life. We were in the corner unit with two balconies, perfect views of the Alps from both sides. The room was very clean and comfortable. We opted for the family room as there were three of us and there was plenty of room for all. I am not a skier so I didn't have much to do in the middle of the day when everyone went skiing and the shops were closed 12-2. It was lovely to walk up and down the cobblestone streets right up to the base. The breakfast included in the room fee had plenty of delicious options including local products. Service was fantastic! I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street have the best views. A little loud when the bars let out but the windows block sound well.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaus H, Manager at Sunstar Hotel Saas-Fee, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2017

Many thanks for your fantastic review and comments on your recent visit.
Great that you enjoyed our room with the balconies and the view of our Alps. We love to see that you enjoyed your stay with us as well our service.
We hope to welcoming you again.
Best regards
The Sunstar-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews