We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good business/airport hotel”
Review of Hotel Allegra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Allegra
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2012

I stayed here for business and have no complaints whatsoever, which is what good business hotels should make you say.
True, it may not be a proper four star hotel and the lounge and common areas are better than the actual rooms. I found the beds for instance not too comfortable but it seems to be a recurring issue in Switzerland (come on, get yourselves some decent orthopaedic mattresses!).
Breakfast was pretty good and so is the location and the shuttle service to and from the airport. Train stop is litterally behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audiopink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 414 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2011

This place was so cool, the rooms are huge, don't stay anywhere else. It's extremely close to the airport and easy to get to with the shuttle.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ACB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

This is described as an airport hotel. It can be reached by taking the free shuttle from the airport, but it takes about 10 minutes journey to get there. The hotel check-in area is reasonably stylish and the staff were efficient and friendly. I was disappointed with the room. Very basic. The twin beds were advanced camp Beds. The mattresses squeaked badly with each move. The bedding was cheap looking. The room had a kettle for tea or coffee but the switch was faulty. There was a safe available, but the coding was complicated and the door locked when it was open and could not be reset. Most rooms have an umbrella available, but mine was missing.
Breakfast was uncomfortable: I was offered full breakfast or basic light breakfast. The basic light one was only tea/coffee/hot chocolate plus cereal, or bread/toast. The full one was as above plus meats, cheese, eggs. I elected for full and was ushered to the "full" side of the two breakfast eating areas. First problem was where to sit? There were 6 tables. One table for two people, two tables for four people, and three tables for six people. Each table had one person. I chose to sit at the opposite end of a six seater, with a stranger at the other end. It worked ok until his colleagues joined him! I understand enough German to know they were questioning who I was.
Overall, I will avoid this hotel next time.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Allegra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2011

Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions. It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback from our guests.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Referring to the furnishing and the style of hotel Allegra in all, we would like to explain that it is created according to the style of the famous painter Piet Mondrian. As you may know, the colors and the design are typical for his art. Furthermore there is modern furniture in a simple style but high quality products.

Please be so kind, if you have any problems with faulty products or problems with any handlings, tell us and we help you with pleasure! We have all products in stock and it is our calling making guests stay as comfortable as possible!

With reference to the breakfast confusion, we have many good feedbacks for this organisation. Our guests appreciate the choice between the different breakfasts, we have many business guests with less time and they prefer a smaller and faster breakfast. Regarding the space problem, we are checking different breakfast possibilities in the next time and we are grateful for all inputs.

We hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The hotels near the Zurich airport all seem to be have a clean, minimalist style, but the Allegra seems a bit more stylish than most. It may be the Mondrian inspired decorations. Whatever it is, I enjoyed my stay here, and will consider it again for one of my future trips to Zurich.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreenMountaineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2011

I use this hotel when on business at Kloten it offers free airport bus, it is also next to Kloten train station which is only a few stops away from Zurich HB which is the City with many bars + shops etc, the rooms are tidy but with very basic interior only have a shower + toilet

Restaurant is ok with average breakfast evening meal ok but not a great choice, staff are always very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tastyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
welcomegroup, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Allegra, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you very much for the time you have taken writing down your impressions.
It is vitally important to us, receiving honest feedback from our guests.
Furthermore, it is extremely helpful for prospective guests to choose a hotel nearby Zurich.
We are looking forward welcoming you again in Hotel Allegra!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kloten
0.2 km away
Hotel Welcome Inn
Hotel Welcome Inn
#2 of 3 in Kloten
665 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Fly Away
Hotel Fly Away
#1 of 3 in Kloten
506 reviews
1.5 km away
Movenpick Hotel Zurich-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Zurich Airport
1.6 km away
Hilton Zurich Airport
Hilton Zurich Airport
#2 of 10 in Opfikon
2,295 reviews
1.9 km away
ibis budget Zurich Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Allegra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Allegra

Address: Hamelirainstrasse 3, Kloten 8302, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Kloten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Kloten
Price Range: $127 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Allegra 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Allegra hotel is situated in a central yet quiet location, close to the Zurich airport, next to the Kloten train station. It offers you a free airport shuttle and free internet in all rooms. You will find a complimentary bottle of water on your room upon arrival. You can park your car for free on site during your stay. Only 5 minutes away from Zurich Airport and 15 minutes from the center of Zurich, the Allegra hotel is a convenient place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Allegra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Allegra Hotel Kloten
Hotel Allegra Canton Of Zurich/Kloten

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing