We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Straight out of a dream!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The 4Rooms

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Our restaurant, the 4tables cafe & gallery, is just down the road
Breakfast is included!
Starter!
Local fresh trout.
Sometimes, the wood-fire oven is turned on!
Dessert at 4tables.
The month-long ShopArt/ArtShop-1 was held in 2013.
The gallery of SA/AS-1
Gaddi wedding dance in Gunehar.
The valley.
Landing gently.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bir, Kangra District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RohiniK13...
1 review
“Straight out of a dream!”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in August 2017

When I arrived in Gunehar and found myself at Frank's 4rooms hotel, I was instantly struck by just how charming and beautifully created the property was. My partner and I got the upstairs room with the tub, a cozy bed, a balcony with a bed outside to read and watch the rains and passing clouds, and had the most comfortable stay we've ever had in India. Great value for money, the hotel is a 10 minute walk from the magical riverside, which is prettier than any Himachal Pradesh tourism photograph can claim. It's a 5 minute walk from 4tables - the cafe run by Frank and the fantastic Suman Didi, who make sure you feel right at home and are always well fed with their homemade bread, pizza nights, lasagne, and of course, delicious ghar ka khana. I definitely added a few kilos during my 3 day stay, and I have no complaints whatsoever :) It was also special to be included into the Gunehar family from the very start - be it for the smiling villagers who helped create this dream art village from obscurity and who invite you in for chai, to the birds chirping outside our window to wake us up every morning, to Frank's extremely entertaining and lovely son Aloke, who is a pleasure to speak to.

All in all, a must visit if you're anywhere in Himachal, especially near Bir/Billing and Dharamsala side. Don't miss out an opportunity to be here. It's as perfect as it gets!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2017
:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandalasi...
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An innovative, warm, delicious stay”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Frank is an amazing host: laid-back and attentive and considerate all at once. He gave us our space to chill and lounge and hang around, but was always available on call to answer questions and provide things if needed. The room was comfy and cosy, and the seats outside our room had a nice view of the village and the surrounding hills. I love that 4rooms and 4tables feels like an organic part of the village that adds to it's charm rather than becoming a noisy distraction. The artwork on the village walls was lovely. And oh, Frank is a great cook! If you ask him which soup he will make in the evening, he will say, "we will see!" When a good cook takes you on a trip, go along...all the food was delicious! Definitely going back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Oh thank you soo much, Shailey! You make me blush.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SurabhiA4...
1 review
“Love the feel of the place, the toiletries, food and Frank's entire team!”
Reviewed 31 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I visited 4 Rooms with two of my friends and I must say we had the most peaceful 2 days at Bir only because we stayed at 4rooms. Frank and his staff treated us with utmost hospitality with the most amazing meals (PS: The breakfast is to die for).
Frank hosted a small pizza party which turned out to be too much fun. The next morning we were supposed to leave Bir early morning, Frank actually packed yummy breakfast for us.

When in Bir, theres no place better than 4 rooms!

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Thank you and see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HimanshuR...
1 review
“Comfortable stay, mouth watering food, cheerful people”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed at the 4Rooms for a total of 2 days and we instantly regretted not staying longer. Bir is a beautiful place for people who are looking to get away from the crowds of popular places like Mclleodganj and Manali without missing out on the sights. We fell in love with the place the moment we set foot in this beautiful village. The stay at 4Rooms just amplified the experience. What Frank has done with 4Rooms and its restaurant, 4Tables is amazing. Driven by passion and a desire to help the villagers and the village, Frank has created a place that is organic in its taste and non-interfering in the environment. I would definitely recommend anyone going to Bir to stay at the 4Rooms.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samratvir...
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“We will be Back Soon !!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

4 Tables,

Amazing hospitality, breathtaking surroundings. FEELS LIKE HOME !!
Frank - Amazing Human, A Great Host and Lovely Cook.
Suman Dee - Pleasing Personality always with a smile and welcomes all your requests with an open - heart.

A must visit for everyone who travels to BIR !!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thanks!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing