We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
17
32
19
5
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
32
19
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new building first floor mosel river yogurt meats cheese parking
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2017

Bernkastel Kues was our first stop on a 29-day trip to Europe and the hotel reception was very kind to allow us to check in earlier than usual after an overnight flight from the States.

We had booked a room with a view of Mosel and were put in the annex building across the street from the main building... room #61 was on the first floor - nice size room with tile flooring, modern bathroom and terrace overlooking the parking lot then the Mosel River...

The room was very quiet, had black out curtains. Breakfast was in main building and had a very good assortment of meats, cheese, yogurts, breads and made to order bacon and eggs.

The location is excellent and central to walking to both Bernkastel and Kues AND has convenient parking right in front of the hotel - which is such a bonus when driving through Europe!

After we got over the fact our building was on a parking lot - we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Hotel Baren and would recommend it...perhaps ask for room on the 2nd or 3rd floor so the parking lot isn't directly visible.

Room Tip: ask for room with river view on highest floor.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahoe1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk K, Inhaber at Hotel Baren, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hello Tahoe,
Thank you for your kind and nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you as a guest again on your next visit.

With kind Riesling Greetings,
Dirk Kettermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night while driving around Mosel valley. Hotel has good location, staff is friendly, there is parking and elevator. Room was bit compact but not small, there was a safety box and bathroom was very good, even a rain shower. Brekfast was good. Only downside is you need to take about 8 steps to get inside hotel from the hotel, however the stairs are easy. Price is reasonable. We would stay again.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Riku M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dirk K, Inhaber at Hotel Baren, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Hello Riku ,
Thank you for your kind and nice review.
We look forward to welcoming you as a guest again on your next visit.

With kind Riesling Greetings,
Dirk Kettermann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Came for a wine tour. Booked online. Found photos to be misleading. It was okay. Stayed in the old building. The rooms are very small and dated. Bathroom was a closet and difficult to manouver around. Wifi did not work in room. Had to go downstairs to get reception. Costly for what you receive.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2016

I chose this partly because it is possible to reserve a parking spot (at a charge). That made carting luggage etc easier.
There are two parts to the hotel, the original hotel facing the river and on the other side of the road, between road and river, the new block. We were in the older part and liked the traditional feel. It did mean that having been updated over the years, the bathroom was fairly small but everything was there and worked.

It was a short walk into the town centre, the bridge and the old town. In many ways it was nice to be those few minutes out of the hustle and bustle but that dies down once the river cruise passengers retreat to their ships for their dinners or departures.

The breakfast was excellent and we left saying that we would go there again.

Our only negative was that there was no wifi but that was due to a fault and normally it would be available free of charge.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veni_bibi_edi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We have stayed in the hotel multiple times and always come back here when we want to stay in Bernkastel.

You have to make sure though that you stay in the newer part with views on the Mosel river as the older part has very outdated rooms. Also these rooms are very small compared to the newer ones.
Some of the new rooms have steam saunas.

The hotel serves as a lovely breakfast buffet with enough variety to choose from.

The downside is that there is no possibility for drinks (apart from a soda-machine near the lobby) but there are enough options in the vicinity of the hotel or at the close by (and highly recommended) restaurant Altes Brauhaus.

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer (yellow) building with rooms overlooking the river.
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews