We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Il Mulino

Il Mulino
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away
The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
The lounge, showing guests' sketches and paintings
Main bedroom above the mill stones - listen to the music of water as you fall asleep
The kitchen - try out some of the delicious local ingredients and open a bottle or two. Cin cin!
Second bedroom - the spacious double bed converts to 2 singles too
Single bedroom - there is another pull-out bed to complete this story-book room for little ones
Shower room
Downstairs bathroom and door to sunny terrace
One of secret places to walk to in the nearby mountains
View from former mill-pond
Breakfast/sun-downer terrace, constructed from the original mill-stones
The pool nearest to the Mill
Swimming and frolics in the river!
Montebotolino - a hill-top village nearby
Local market
Countryside round Il Mulino offers walks a-plenty
A walk to Fresciano where lunch awaits us after drinking in beautiful scenery
Cookery lesson - making gnocchi at Poggio Barone, a local restaurant
river view beneath the mill
Main Terrace
June poppies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Badia Tedalda, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
freek11
Leuven, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay...”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

A wonderful stay of two weeks in August 2016 in Il Mulino. It is exactly what we hoped it to be: beautiful, quiet, well accommodated, surrounded by the beautiful fauna & flora of the countryside. Saw more kinds of animals in two weeks than we usually do in an entire year.

We would highly recommend this place to people who are looking for a place where you can unwind, relax and just enjoy whatever happens in nature around you. If you also like building dams in the river or taking a refreshing dive in the river, the mill will be your dream holiday getaway. If you want to, you can always go out and visit villages and cities, but we quickly decided to stick to the peace and quiet of the mill as much as we could. If you like walking, there are many GR routes within walking/driving distance and in the mill you will find all you need (maps, suggestions for routes, ...).

On top of the perfect holiday home, the owners, who live just a couple of meters away, are absolutely wonderful! Kind and welcoming, but as discrete as can be. You won't even notice they're there, but don't let that stop you from stopping by and asking for recommendations for just about anything (nature, walks, culture, restaurants, ...). A great surplus to a place that we thought couldn't have been any better.

As we wrote in the guest book, on our last night, our children aged 9 and 6 burst into tears and declared that they would never eat candy again if they could simply stay in the mill for one more hour... That pretty much sums it up!

Although we like to visit new places every year, we hope (and promised - the candy) to be back very soon! Thanks again Maurice and Angela!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Aug 2016
Thank you so much for your kind review. We're so glad you enjoyed Il Mulino and all she has to offer! Many guests, like yourselves, become seduced into staying near the river and soaking up the peace, quiet, sun and good food available locally. We really hope to see you again. You are a special family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sparwath
Grevinge, Denmark
1 review
“Lovely holliday at the mill”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My family (2 adults and 3 children aged 10, 12, 14) spent 11 days in the mill in July 2016. We found the mill and the surroundings absolute lovely and relaxing. The hosts were very kind and most helpful. Everything lived up to our high expectations. We enjoyed the river, the garden, the lovely mill and spent hours sunbathing, playing cards, badminton etc. We did the Sunday dinner at Del Piero’s, which was fantastic and very cheap as well – 3 hours of non-stop eating (remember to skip the breakfast) with only 17 persons (mostly Italians) was 30 Euro per adult and 22 Euros per teenager and 15 Euros for the children. We chose to pay 30 Euros x 5 because the children got the same meal as us and everything was perfect. We visited the pizzeria in Badia twice, which was original and nice/cheap as well. We visited the bar in Badia and did shopping several times in the local Badia Alimentarie/small supermarket – the people there was absolutely marvelous and “spoiled” our children with candies. Maurice arranged a cooking lesson for our family with Teresa and her sister in the nearby B&B (walking distance) – very fun and we prepared a lovely dinner for our family. Coocking leason was 2-3 hours in the afternoon and then we went back in the evening to get our prepared dinner served by the sisters. It was 50 Euros per adult and 30 Euros per children everything included – lesson, food, wine, coffe etc. Absolutely worth trying. Thanx to Maurice and Angela for helping out with everything and for your kindness. The Mill have our best recommendations for future visitors and we and / or our children might very well choose to revisit the mill someday. Best wishes for the future Gitte, Freja, Malthe, Nikolaj and Brian from Denmark.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you for your great review and so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. Everyone who eats Piero's 15 course meal based on local produce really enjoys it and the cookery lesson is becoming popular too. It was lovely meeting you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cathsagag...
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tranquil stay”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed at Il Mulino with my extended family in the middle of June for a week
We thoroughly enjoyed the peace & tranquility of the stay, it was lovely to go to sleep & wake up to the sound of the river. We saw lots of wild life,deer, butterflies, hares,various birds,
The mill it's self was lovely, comfy beds & pillows and because the weather was cold on our first weekend were able to look get the wood burning stove lit,so had a comfortable evening.
We also did the same things as the previous reviewer and the Sunday meal is a must have
Thank you to Angela & Maurice,the owners, who lived on the site & told us interesting places to visit.
Go & enjoy !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river
Liked least: The road from Sanseloprco, as I suffer from travel sickness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
We enjoyed meeting you and your brother and wife who live near Rome. As we are in the mountains, the temperature does drop and especially in early season, the log burner is useful for cosy evenings. Thank you, also, for purchasing my book, "Tuscan Roots" and for leaving a fantastic review on Amazon. We hope Gelert, the dog, is making a recovery. Best wishes and thanks once again from Angela and Maurice.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natters20...
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“An enchanting retreat in rural Tuscany”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

If you're looking for tranquility, beauty and natural surroundings you'll definitely find it here at 'Il Mulino', Rofelle. We arrived late June 2016 with high hopes having read the reviews of previous visitors... and we were not disappointed! Right from the start we were met with an enthusiastic and warm welcome from Maurice & Angela.. We were treated to an enchanting display of fire flies dancing on a late night walk home from the local Pizzeria in Badia Tadala (delicious pizza incidentally!), beautiful butterflies and wandering deer to name but a few of the wildlife delights surrounding Il Mulino. Situated on the Marecchia River, there are several inviting spots on a hot day to take a cooling dip in the plunge pools, where you can soak up the beautiful surroundings of the waterfalls and mountains while getting to know some of the locals. We enjoyed trips to Florence, the beach at Rimini, Sansepolcro and the not to be missed ancient town of Anghiari, but we just couldn't wait to be back at the mill to enjoy the peace and serenity of it all. The culinary highlight of our stay was the Sunday lunch at L'Erbhosteria in Rofelle - it is impossible to put in to words how incredible this eating experience was so we suggest you just go ahead and sample it for yourself! While quiet and discreet, Maurice and Angela were nearby and keen to share their fantastic source of local knowledge and information ensuring we made the best of our stay in Tuscany. We are already planning our return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - Rural, quiet, relaxing, wonderful nature!
Liked least: Leaving to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thank you so much for your appreciative review. We loved welcoming you - you were perfect guests. You have busy jobs, as you told us when you came round for drinks, so we are pleased you have returned relaxed. Hopefully we will meet you again! There are still many more wonderful locations to explore near us. You left our property in such a clean condition. Perfetto! Grazie mille!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chirosie
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Rural peace in wonderful surroundings”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The old watermill feels traditional but comfortable. It has been furnished simply but with style. It has all that is needed in a holiday let. The stairs down to the lower bedroom are narrow and involve a turn so not suitable for disabled or too elderly. Although the weather for us was a bit cool and unsettled we found plenty of places to go because the countryside around is spectacular. We loved the walled town of Alghiari and the walk from Montebotellino.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing