We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A special place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Il Mulino

Il Mulino
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Il Mulino
Swimming at the waterfall near il Mulino - a 3 minute stroll away
The lounge - cosy by the log-burner but cool in the height of summer
The lounge, showing guests' sketches and paintings
Main bedroom above the mill stones - listen to the music of water as you fall asleep
The kitchen - try out some of the delicious local ingredients and open a bottle or two. Cin cin!
Second bedroom - the spacious double bed converts to 2 singles too
Single bedroom - there is another pull-out bed to complete this story-book room for little ones
Shower room
Downstairs bathroom and door to sunny terrace
One of secret places to walk to in the nearby mountains
View from former mill-pond
Breakfast/sun-downer terrace, constructed from the original mill-stones
The pool nearest to the Mill
Swimming and frolics in the river!
Montebotolino - a hill-top village nearby
Local market
Countryside round Il Mulino offers walks a-plenty
A walk to Fresciano where lunch awaits us after drinking in beautiful scenery
Cookery lesson - making gnocchi at Poggio Barone, a local restaurant
river view beneath the mill
Main Terrace
June poppies
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Watermill -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Badia Tedalda, Province of Arezzo, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Gennadiy...
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unfortunately the place was not as good as we though..Sorry.”
Reviewed 7 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The owners are nice people, offer a lot of help..............................................
Unfortunately the place was not as good as we thought.
In terms of staying, the house was very cold and owners offer the heat for extra pay. The towels only one per person for entire stay ( 8 nights). The beds were having terrible noise. Kitchen is nice, includes all possible things that you can imagine. The way to get to the river was very difficult, there is no steps or some ways to get it down safety. To get to the nearest store may take about 30 min by driving only. The road ... I cannot even describe. The most difficult part of commute is to drive and navigate. Very dangers to drive !!!!!!!!!!! The surrounded view is beautiful. The location is great. Very safety. This is our opinion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Surrounded view
Liked least: Roads
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2013
Il Mulino is feeling quite sad that you were not entirely happy with your stay. Perhaps the isolated, tranquil location was just not for you.
May we just clarify your comment about the nearest shops, however.
In Badia Tedalda - which is only a five minute drive away (and not 35 minutes!) there are: 2 grocers, selling delicious local products, 2 butchers, an excellent green grocers, a chemist,doctor, a bank with ATM facility, a friendly, helpful tourist office, 3 bars, 2 restaurants, a pizzeria...San Sepolcro - 35 minutes drive away down a mountain road with amazing views, has all the main shops and supermarkets that a village cannot provide.
We wish you all the very best for your future holidays but also advise that you carefully do your research and read all the information provided.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa Y
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“A special place”
Reviewed 25 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Il Mulino is a beautiful, very special place. It feels like a home, tastefully but simply decorated in a comfortable, low-key way. The kitchen is well equipped with nice crockery and plenty of salad bowls, dishes etc. There's even a salad spinner! The lighting is good - both ambient and functional. All windows (bar one) look out over the river and the woodland beyond. The river is great for paddling, ideal for children, with the odd pool deep enough for swimming - indeed the waterfall below the mill provides a very invigorating shoulder massage!

Unfortunately our holiday coincided with the first rain in three months which didn't detract from the beauty of the place - however, when the sun came out, it was transformed into a rural idyll, bathed in sunlight right the way through until mid evening. Although it is off the beaten track, there is an excellent restaurant at the agriturismo within walking distance (along an old mule track) and it is possible to continue along this track up the hill to the nearest village (40 minute walk) where there are a few basic food shops, bars and restaurants (not investigated on our visit). The nearest town is a good half hour's drive away so Il Mulino is very much geared towards people who are looking for a peaceful, tranquil setting emersed in nature and all it has to offer. The small, medieval town of Anghiari is well worth a visit (approximately 45 minute drive) - otherwise we stayed put, chilling out with books, good food, wine and the odd bout of fishing - and, of course, sunbathing when the weather permitted! Sheer bliss ...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: General position and proximity to the river
Liked least: Perhaps a little too remote - I would have preferred to have been within easy walking distance of a village
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
camprovis
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A little slice of rural Tuscany heaven”
Reviewed 20 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We had an idyllic ten days break at Il Mulino with my three grown up children and a girlfriend, swimming in the river pools just below the house, walking in the woods nearby and eating at the local restaurants. The countryside is stunning and you are only an hour away from beautiful cities like Arezzo and San Sepolchro. The owners Angela and Maurice live nearby and could not be more helpful, taking every trouble to make your stay enjoyable but never being intrusive. We cannot fault it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The river and its swimming pools
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessa D
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Il Mulino is a wonderful house to stay in and we had an amazing week there at the end of August 2012. In fact, I think it may have healing properties as I have been told that I looked younger when we got back! The setting is magical with the babbling river running alongside and we were lulled to sleep by it every night after swimming in it every day. My 14 year old son fished to his heart's content and my 17 year old daughter and I sunbathed, read, swam, cooked and talked in what felt like a time warp. It is a wonderful place to disappear to and retire from the world, without being a world away.

Angela and Maurice Petch could not be better hosts and provided us with a large collection of useful leaflets and information, as well as being very helpful and available for advice.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the style of the house
Liked least: Um... the fact that we had to leave.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick S
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very restful, in great landscape and an unspoilt part of rural Italy.”
Reviewed 25 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Very good accommodation - well-equipped and comfy. Most sympathetic conversion of a historic watermill. We had warm, sunny weather so it was pleasant to cool down in the river.

Excellent walks in the nearby hills, and although some of the maps are 'optimistic' (ie misleading!) looking at all the maps and taking Angela and Maurice's advice sorted out some good routes. And excellent food in local eateries at reasonable prices, including one at Graziella's which we helped to prepare.

Good days out to Gubbio and Arezzo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unspoily part of Italy
Liked least: Can't think.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing