We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveller rating
24
30
12
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
30
12
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fantastic location perfect view free parking boat ride pedestrian area double bed eagles nest lake konigsee directions depart key scenic
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 95 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We stayed one night having gone to the area for walking and sightseeing. We had a room overlooking the lake which gave us a perfect view. The hotel is right next to the dock where the the boat trips depart and is also ideally placed for the hiking trails coming into Koenigssee - in other words a fantastic location. The staff were all really friendly and very helpful. The room was comfortable and large. This is a quaint hotel and full of character - not a bland modern chain hotel. Finding the car park was a bit of a challenge as it appears you have to drive through what seems to be a pedestrian area - which you do but it is a through road. If in doubt park up and walk to reception and ask for directions - Koenigssee is very small. We ate elsewhere in the town but went into the hotel restaurant for a quick drink and the staff there were also really helpful and friendly despite us turning up as they were closing. We'd definitely stay there again - a really relaxing trip.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KidsinAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We booked two rooms at Hotel Schiffmeister for one night through Booking.com for a family trip. Since we were coming from Frankfurt (about 600 km distance) by car on a Friday night, we took care to let the hotel know (through the Booking reservation form) that we would arrive late, at about 10 p.m. Due to delays on the road, we ended up arriving at Schönau almost at midnight. To our surprise, the hotel door was locked, with nobody answering the doorbell. Tired and worried that we wouldn't have a place to sleep, I called the phone number on the reservation confirmation, and ended up being berated by a lady (I assume the owner) for failing to notice that, somewhere in the Booking website, they had written that check-in is only allowed until 6 p.m. She vehemently denied having gotten any message from us about our late arrival, and proceeded to tell me that they are not a 5-star hotel, and that therefore I shouldn’t expect them to have a 24-hour reception. After a bit of discussion, she finally told us to wait and arrived after a few minutes. She then proceeded to give us the keys to the rooms, while she continued to scold us and to insist that they hadn’t received any message. Of course, she charged us immediately for the night. Exhausted as we were after our long trip, we decided to pay and take the rooms (at 150 euros each!!!), even though this very unpleasant interaction made one wish to run in the other direction.

While I understand that smaller hotels often don’t have a front desk that is open all night, it’s difficult to imagine that a hotel in a place that is so frequented by tourists doesn’t have a way to ensure that guests who might arrive late (due to transportation delays or other unexpected events) can get the keys. Moreover, we were astonished by the rudeness of the owner, for whom “customer service” is clearly a very foreign word. She had a very unpleasant attitude altogether (also on the next morning), which makes me wonder why on Earth has she chosen to manage a hotel where she has to deal with people every day. We were also lucky that we live in Germany and are able to communicate in German without difficulties, as I can’t imagine what an awful experience something like this could have been for a group of tourists freshly arrived to Germany and with no language knowledge.

On the hotel: definitely no 3 star, and definitely not worth the 150 euros we had to pay. Although the building is old and has traditional Bavarian charm, the rooms were extremely basic (forget about a hair dryer or any amenities beyond soap), and there were cobwebs on the lamp. The bathroom was also tiny. Breakfast was ok but very basic. It needs to be said that the ladies in charge of the breakfast room were very friendly. But apart from that, we had a very bad experience in a mediocre hotel. Avoind if possible.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

This is the closest to lake Konigsee. Unbeatable views. The staff and management were extremely warm and welcoming. The pictures are taken from our balcony and from inside our room. Though there was no restaurant as such (other than breakfast) you will have lot of options for food around the hotel.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank rambikan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

It was our second visit to Königsee. A place we love, this hotel gives you incredible views over the lake. The service and hospitality of both staff and owners were incredible, higher than what you normally experience in Germany. They were obliging, informative and helpful. Using their connections they would book us into nearby restaurants for a scenic dinner. Once the evening sets in the square outside is empty and the place becomes your serene and private paradise.

Great location to travel to nearby sites, like the Eagles Nest ( Hitler's house) and the salt mines. Of course the boat ride is easy to book from next door too i.e. Inspite of the crowds.

They also give you a guestkarte that gets you discounts on sightseeing and on local shopping as well.

The owners and staff need to be mentioned again and again. Kudos to you all. We hope to see them again soon.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DunamisArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

Location is front the lake completely
You can buy the boat trip tickets steps away from hotel door :)
Clean and quiet rooms , friendly staff, free parking, but unfortunately internet connection was bad!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank SaLaH-ksa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews