We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astonishing place in a remote part of the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Iserlohn
Reviewed 28 March 2016

Well, we lived in Iserlohn for over 20 years and we knew "Hotel Franzosenhohl" from hikes in the surrounding forest.
When our friends recommended the place to stay we're kind of skeptical - but the surprise was even greater.
How to start?
The welcome at the reception was very friendly and helpful. The room was simply fantastic. WE never slep[ better in any other hotel on our trip.
The breakfast buffet had everything we could even expect.
WE had dinner with a group of friends and everybody was very satisfied.
We had the pleasure to meet the owner and his wife and to listen what they had to say about the hotel.
The unique concept of the hotel that you can come and pick one of the thousand books from the racks and start reading. Maybe having a tea or a coffee and relax.
Great, greatplace to spend hours or days.

Room Tip: Outside the town. You would need a car to reach any point. Very very quiet and remote location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coloradoclaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2016

Literaturhotel is a very quiet hotel located in a green area of Iserlohn. Very warm athmoshere, full of literature, really..
The staff is friendly, customer dedicated.
I had a nice international cuisine dinner in the hotel restaurant. Good...
I reccomend this hotel in a greei German region full of technolgy :)

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andu-Popa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

We had an excellent overnight stay in this hotel. It is very modern and therefore lacks a little character, but is is very relaxing and enjoys a fabulous location in the forest. The Library that occupies the whole of the entrance hall is very impressive and adds an original 'twist' to the appeal of the hotel. I can understand how people use this hotel as a retreat and to go on long walks. The lady on the reception was particularly helpful as we had a very early start the following morning.

Our evening meal was really excellent, and despite a full restaurant, was served promptly.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank RJBHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2015 via mobile

If you want a nice hotel in the forest with a great view you should select this. Fantastic location. Rooms big with big balcony. Friendly staff. Restaurant serves a good dinner. Got a tomato soup which was very tasty. Breakfast had all what you need. Very peaceful place and a lot of books for decoration. Sorry I only had one night there.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled on business
Thank Kjeld C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2015

Most of the times I travel to Iserlohn this hotel is clearly my choice.
Within the woods, the only sound you may hear from spring to autumn is the one from birds singing, maybe also the sound of tree leaves on windy weather.
Although I prefer stronger pillows, rooms are spacious and with comfortable beds. Rooms include a working desk and a wide flat screen tv set.
Free wifi with a reasonable speed.
Delicious meals in the restaurant served by kind and efficient staff.
Breakfast at a good level, but this hotel category use to have more items.
Books are everywhere, unfortunately only in German language.
Reception hall with a unusual but very nice decoration.
Highly recommendable.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank carlos s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iserlohn
3.6 km away
Hotel VierJahreszeiten Iserlohn
3.3 km away
Campus Garden Businesshotel
3 km away
Hotel Neuhaus
Hotel Neuhaus
#2 of 9 in Iserlohn
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Stadt Hotel Iserlohn
Stadt Hotel Iserlohn
#5 of 9 in Iserlohn
44 reviews
7.8 km away
Schloss Hotel Holzrichter
Schloss Hotel Holzrichter
#1 of 1 in Nachrodt-Wiblingwerde
41 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Restaurant Daute
Hotel Restaurant Daute
#7 of 9 in Iserlohn
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl

Address: Danzweg 25, 58644 Iserlohn, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Region: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Iserlohn
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Iserlohn
Price Range: $155 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Literaturhotel Franzosenhohl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing