We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly Cooked Steak All The Way Through”
Review of Restaurant Allgaeu

Restaurant Allgaeu
Ranked #2 of 126 Restaurants in Oberstdorf
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Staff was very kind and attentive and we were lucky to have arrived soon enough because even though it was completely out of holiday season the place was already packed by 19:00 so reservations are recommended. Both me and my wife had medium rare steaks. I went for the Chef’s one, with prawns and chilly butter she went for Prince Ludwig’s one, with horseradish, cranberry sauce and bergkäse. Both were really perfectly cooked all the way through. If they’re using sous vide, how could they be this promptly ready, if not, how could they be medium rare all the way through? Magic! And it’s also magic what bound all the tastes in my wife’s steak. What an unusual combination and done to great effect. Highly recommended restaurant.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 599gusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017

We have been visiting Oberstdorf many times one of Germany's hidden secrets. There are many lovely restaurants but this was our first visit. Fab food, great service nice extra touches. We asked to book for Thursday but she said they were really I explained it was my husband's birthday and she has fitted us in cannot wait to go back

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

This is the third time I have visited and looking forward till my next visit already. Food and beer is excellent.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

You must visit this restaurant. This restaurant has an excellent atmosphere, and serves really hearty food and lovely beer. There's a wide range of typical
Bavarian foods on offer.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maciej J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Good traditional German food. Fair value for money Not sure I would agree with the TripAdvisor rating, I think I was disappointed more because at number 3 I expected to be impressed than there was anything to dislike.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Brian8008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Allgaeu also viewed

Oberstdorf, Swabia
Oberstdorf, Swabia
 

Been to Restaurant Allgaeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing