We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good location”
Review of Stadthotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stadthotel
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Because we wanted to visit during the Wine Festival at the end of July, Konstanz is fully booked so my partner booked 7 months ahead. It is very close to the Tower gate and portions of the old city wall, also only a few minutes to the train station, the major churches and the Wine Festival (St. Stephan's Platz). Its also less than 15 minutes walk to the Swiss border with Kreuzlingen.
The rooms are small but there is furniture to store things, just no refrigerator. The hot water is good, meaning you don't wait but seconds. There are plenty of power points for charging things, running a laptop, etc.
They charge 7 euros per person for breakfast but its a good breakfast. You help yourself to the usual side cuts of meat, various cheeses including blue vein, hard boiled eggs, several choices of bread, two kinds of yoghurt, fresh fruit both whole and diced, and various cereals. There is also a vending machine on at least the first floor which dispenses beer, mineral water and soft drinks for 2 euros. The free wifi works but can be slow when everyone is using it. We didn't have a car and I think parking could be a problem, but there is a city underground station close by.

Room Tip: There are only 3 floors with rooms but I guess upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmeem42016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2015

Stayed here several nights. Difficult to find from the train station. No-one could direct us to it & we had to phone for directions(which did not help very much either!). Bedroom was spacious with clean en-suite but, due to high July temperatures, was extremely hot.(Resolved next day by kind receptionist arranging a Fan) Could not have window open overnight due to large, noisy, fume-belching lorries sitting outside from 0400 EVERY morning - including Sunday! - waiting to deliver to Supermarket next door. Breakfast buffet was usually fine except for Sour milk one morning.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing onto the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GoldenGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015 via mobile

The hotel is within walking distance from most places in the city that are worth visiting. To a good beach is to travel by bus 5 . The staff is friendly and smiling, trying to speak English, except one elderly man( he met me in the morning, greeted stiffly but was not very accommodating) Single room enough poostonii, upper stage I had a balcony. The Internet worked well. The Breakfast is good. But there is one big negative that negates all the advantages. The street is Very noisy! When I read about the noise in the reviews, I thought - I live in a big bustling city with Windows on the street - that I can alarm? P, modet, believe me, when at 6-6.30 am, the garbage truck comes to pick up the trash - here too You will lose sleep over it. Earplugs don't help. The most annoying that this is not the hotel's fault, nothing they can't do, but that's all. The hotel can't advise.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Natalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel while travelling. The hotel was conveniently situated in the centre of Konstanz, close to the shops, restaurants and bars. There is a public car park very close to the hotel.

The hotel is quite nice, but not great. It was a little expensive but you are probably paying for the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank UK_Travel_Guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This central hotel offers a very good sleep quality, although it is located in the center. One would for instance expect it to be loud, which is not the case. Concerning the price, I found it extremely high (+8 euros of tax upon departure, which are left as a last minute surprise without prior information) compared to the hotel's quality. I would only recommend this hotel for a short stay (1 - 2 days). Other than that, one could use the same amount of money or a little bit more to stay at a 4-star hotel.. this would make more sense.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank is-touristinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Konstanz hotels
0.2 km away
Viva Sky
Viva Sky
#6 of 34 in Konstanz
253 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#18 of 34 in Konstanz
69 reviews
6 km away
Ko'Ono Hotel
Ko'Ono Hotel
#14 of 34 in Konstanz
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Halm Konstanz
Hotel Halm Konstanz
#5 of 34 in Konstanz
566 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Restaurant Graf Zeppelin
0.1 km away
Augustiner Tor Hotel
Augustiner Tor Hotel
#31 of 34 in Konstanz
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stadthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stadthotel

Address: Bruderturmgasse 2, 78462 Konstanz, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Konstanz
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Hotels in Konstanz
Price Range: $125 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stadthotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find our hotel right in the heart of Constance. The Town - a shopping experience with a difference. Lake, forest, mountains - the ideal setting for all kinds of outdoor sports and leisure activities: sail, walk, climb, cycle, dive or swim. The only decision is - what first? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Stadthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing