We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just as good second time round!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mole Hill Farm

A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
A traditional snug welcoming cottage
Fabulous place to entertain or simply chill by the fire
King size bedroom which opens out to a private terrace
Relax in our exceptionally comfortable Super King size bed.
Enjoy the shower and roll top bath
Well equipped kitchen to wine and dine on a cosy evening in the cottage
Enjoy a bottle of wine by the fire
Enjoy stunning views of the Beamish Valley.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Beamish, Durham, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bronwyn D
Devonport, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just as good second time round!”
Reviewed 13 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Our second visit to Mole Hill Farm was every bit as good as last year. Lovely & welcoming with beautiful beds, lovely views, a short walk to a great pub, good supermarkets within easy driving distance & to top it off, an occasional greeting from neighbours in the next door stables. Who could ask for more!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Aug 2018
Thank you for your kind review Bronwyn. It was lovely to see you both again all the way from Tasmania. Hope you come back to visit in the future.
Best Wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“Ideal for local attractions and relaxation”
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We were going to a wedding at Beamish hall and decided to re visit a few attractions we had been to many years ago. This cottage was ideal for us as it had a downstairs bedroom which was great for our daughter in a wheelchair. This was off the kitchen which was laid out for tea on our arrival and was equipped with everything we needed. The whole cottage was spotless and better than our expectations. Amanda visited to see all was ok and answered any questions we had, very friendly lady who made the whole visit effortless. We were reminded of the places to visit in the area so we will be back to continue our exploration of the county

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thank yo for your kind review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and would be very happy to welcome your lovely family back to stay. Best Wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cookiebev
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“COSY, WELL EQUIPPED COTTAGE BUT NOT MUCH PRIVACY”
Reviewed 21 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

good proximity for beamish museum and durham. Cosy with good sized rooms and generally well equipped but didn't cook as great pub restaurants nearby.
No door on the en-suite so open to the bedroom and wi-fi coverage not great but manageable. Only downside was the livery stables just 3 ft from the cottage with people coming and going early morning and evening.Owners live on-site but friendly and not intrusive, homemade cake on arrival a welcome touch.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Hi Bev i do apologise if you were disturbed by liveries tending their horses. It hasn't been an issue before as i have a yard rule that liveries are allowed during sociable hours. Occasionally they may have an early start if leaving the yard to compete but as the farm is a considerable size i will make sure cottage guests will not be disturbed again. The wi fi is an independant system designated for cottage guests only and again there has not been any issues raised before but i will be sure to ask guests in future to let me know if they have any difficulties and raise it with BT.
Best Wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikki S
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovey cottage with great views”
Reviewed 17 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage in the owners grounds. Lovely views over the valley and stables. Secure car parking area behind locked gates. Good pubs for food and drink within walking distance. Only downside is the busy road situated quite close to the house which hosts some fast loud vehicles due to the long stretch of road. Would not have booked if I had have known as we wanted tranquility. That saying during winter months inside it would be great with the log burner on. All facilities you need and super large comfy beds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Hi Nikki i'm pleased you liked our cottage here at Mole Hill, we do aim to please. I'm sorry that the road disturbed you, Due to the heat this summer it has been necessary to open windows. I encourage guests to open windows on the beautiful view side of the cottage which prevents any issue of noise from the road. You are right to think the cottage is a cosy retreat with the fire roaring during the winter months.
Best wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David Joh...
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 7 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Had lovely cake waiting for us very comfortable cottage and fantastic views so many nice eating places near and lots of attractions to visit shame we were only stay for long weekend as wife myself mother and mother in law did not want to leave would have love to stayed longer owners of the cottage nice and friendly and was lovely to see the horses and the terrriers only down side would have been nice to take dog with us

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jun 2018
HI David thanks for your kind review, remember the cottage and surrounding pubs are just as welcoming in the winter months. please mention bringing your dog next time and i'm sure it will be fine.
Best Wishes Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing