We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Bigger than you Think”

Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Scarness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Multi-award winning tourist attraction with 21 buildings and 12000 exhibits.Free Barbecue facilities. Interactive demonstrations on Sundays, 1pm to 3pm. Blacksmith, Wood Turner, Corn Sheller, Rope Maker. Open Fri, Sat, 1pm 'til 4.30pm. Sun, 10.30am 'til 4.30pm Adult: $10 Child: $3 Groups Welcome.Open all school holidays. Closed Good Friday and Christmas Day.
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Hervey Bay Museum is a wonderful collection of buildings and other exhibits that tell the story of the first settlers in the area, and how they lived. I needed every minute of the 3.5 hours I spent there to explore it.

It has a great crew of volunteers that are happy to help and guide you around the lovely grounds. I loved the old shops, the old railway station and Dundrowan School. It has a lovely little church that is still used for services, weddings, etc.

You should try to visit on a Sunday when the volunteers use machines over 100 years old to make ropes, shell corn and do wood turning. There is also a blacksmith!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thanks for the great review Debbie. It's a bit like the Tardis, bigger on the inside than the outside.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"couple of hours"
in 19 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 11 reviews
"hervey bay"
in 76 reviews
"local history"
in 10 reviews
"amazing collection"
in 5 reviews
"on display"
in 10 reviews
"interesting displays"
in 5 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 8 reviews
"hours exploring"
in 3 reviews
"brought back memories"
in 3 reviews
"early days"
in 4 reviews
"great insight"
in 4 reviews
"volunteer staff"
in 3 reviews
"all ages"
in 11 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 3 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"village museum"
in 7 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2018

We stayed at Hervey Bay over Christmas and on our last day, decided to take a tour of the local Museum. It was very deceiving from the outside as it was much bigger than expected. On entering the main building, we were greeted by 2 female volunteers who were very helpful with local knowledge. Following the map we were given, we made our way around the various buildings and took a step back in time in history. Some buildings had radio recordings and tv videos. We took just over 2 hours to have a look through and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Hervey Bay Region.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2018

Thanks so much for your great review Christine. Much appreciated. I will pass on to our members.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

I was seriously amazed at the amount we learnt within a couple of hours. The 1890’s house was my favourite. The old school was a lot of fun for our 6 year old.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Brooke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thanks for your review Brooke. Pleased your young one liked the school.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

What an excellent surprise this was. Was much bigger than I imagined and brought back loads of memories.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We took 2 hours to tour the site, including two demonstrations. If you are fans of American Pickers you will love this place.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank stewartjt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum also viewed

 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing