We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Scarness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Multi-award winning tourist attraction with 21 buildings and 12000 exhibits.Free Barbecue facilities. Interactive demonstrations on Sundays, 1pm to 3pm. Blacksmith, Wood Turner, Corn Sheller, Rope Maker. Open Fri, Sat, 1pm 'til 4.30pm. Sun, 10.30am 'til 4.30pm Adult: $10 Child: $3 Groups Welcome.Open all school holidays. Closed Good Friday and Christmas Day.
Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

I was seriously amazed at the amount we learnt within a couple of hours. The 1890’s house was my favourite. The old school was a lot of fun for our 6 year old.

Thank Brooke K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thanks for your review Brooke. Pleased your young one liked the school.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"couple of hours"
in 16 reviews
"hervey bay"
in 68 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 9 reviews
"local history"
in 9 reviews
"worth the entry fee"
in 5 reviews
"early days"
in 4 reviews
"great insight"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
"interesting displays"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 6 reviews
"volunteer staff"
in 3 reviews
"local area"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 9 reviews
"few hours"
in 7 reviews
"step back in time"
in 12 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 5 reviews
"village museum"
in 7 reviews
Filter

50 - 54 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

What an excellent surprise this was. Was much bigger than I imagined and brought back loads of memories.

Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018 via mobile

We took 2 hours to tour the site, including two demonstrations. If you are fans of American Pickers you will love this place.

Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Thanks Stewart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Really good historical village. Well set out displays and everything clean and orderly. Information cards were well written. A really good 2 hours.

Thank holidayer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thanks for the review Holidayer20
I will pass on your comments to our members.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Fun afternoon out reminiscing of the olden days in grandad’s house with a country town’s charm.
Educational for adults and kids alike and the animal hunt kept kids going for ages.
This attraction is bigger than expected with around 8000 exhibits so it is hard on the legs especially with older legs in the hot summer.
Opening hours could be less restricted too.

Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi Justin
Pleased you all had a good time. We are restricted in our opening hours by the number of volunteers available to man Reception. We would love to open every day from 9 'til 4.30 but the manpower we have does not permit this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum also viewed

 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing