We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend 2hours”

Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Scarness
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Multi-award winning tourist attraction with 21 buildings and 12000 exhibits.Free Barbecue facilities. Interactive demonstrations on Sundays, 1pm to 3pm. Blacksmith, Wood Turner, Corn Sheller, Rope Maker. Open Fri, Sat, 1pm 'til 4.30pm. Sun, 10.30am 'til 4.30pm Adult: $10 Child: $3 Groups Welcome.Open all school holidays. Closed Good Friday and Christmas Day.
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Really good historical village. Well set out displays and everything clean and orderly. Information cards were well written. A really good 2 hours.

Thank holidayer20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2018

Thanks for the review Holidayer20
I will pass on your comments to our members.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"couple of hours"
in 16 reviews
"hervey bay"
in 68 reviews
"run by volunteers"
in 9 reviews
"local history"
in 9 reviews
"worth the entry fee"
in 5 reviews
"early days"
in 4 reviews
"great insight"
in 4 reviews
"on display"
in 7 reviews
"interesting displays"
in 4 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 6 reviews
"volunteer staff"
in 3 reviews
"local area"
in 7 reviews
"all ages"
in 9 reviews
"few hours"
in 7 reviews
"step back in time"
in 12 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 5 reviews
"village museum"
in 7 reviews
Filter

53 - 57 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Fun afternoon out reminiscing of the olden days in grandad’s house with a country town’s charm.
Educational for adults and kids alike and the animal hunt kept kids going for ages.
This attraction is bigger than expected with around 8000 exhibits so it is hard on the legs especially with older legs in the hot summer.
Opening hours could be less restricted too.

Thank Justin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2017

Hi Justin
Pleased you all had a good time. We are restricted in our opening hours by the number of volunteers available to man Reception. We would love to open every day from 9 'til 4.30 but the manpower we have does not permit this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

My husband and I really enjoyed our visit to the museum. It looked small from the front but we where pleasantly surprised. It has many different buildings showing many different facets of history. The staff are very friendly and are happy to answer any questions. The whole experience was enjoyable. Many thanks Pete and Chris Robson

Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thanks Pete & Chris
Glad you enjoyed your visit. I enjoyed our chat about leather and harness racing.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017

Friendly staff run the place - good to see how the settlers' created a place to live out of the bush. The buildings and artefacts there are interesting to see.

Thank monkeyland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thanks for your review
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

What a brilliant place! Well laid out with some excellent exhibits and a wonderful display of old buildings, items from the past and clear, interesting information. The practical demonstrations are simply fascinating. Wonderful, friendly volunteers and humerous, interesting and engaging dialogue given with the corn shelling and rope making. Fortunate to go on a quieter afternoon and benefitted from volunteer John's one on one knowledge for a little while. An amazing real life 'snapshot' of the past.

Thank TimNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

What a great perceptive review TimNut.
I will make sure all our volunteers get to read it.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum also viewed

 
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
Hervey Bay, Fraser Coast
 

Been to Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing