We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
A review and a Question

A great experience to see all the different exhibits within the museum. In my opinion the best... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
dominicsQ6545PT
Incredible social history experience

More stuff than I have ever seen before at a social history museum. My favourite was the... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Gandalf321
,
Brisbane, Australia
via mobile
Read all 367 reviews
  
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
295
64
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
295
64
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope making hervey bay run by volunteers interesting displays local history on display well worth the visit three hours few hours local area all ages great place to visit village museum live demonstrations trip down memory lane different buildings corn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Friendly staff run the place - good to see how the settlers' created a place to live out of the bush. The buildings and artefacts there are interesting to see.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank monkeyland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Thanks for your review
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile

What a brilliant place! Well laid out with some excellent exhibits and a wonderful display of old buildings, items from the past and clear, interesting information. The practical demonstrations are simply fascinating. Wonderful, friendly volunteers and humerous, interesting and engaging dialogue given with the corn shelling and rope making. Fortunate to go on a quieter afternoon and benefitted from volunteer John's one on one knowledge for a little while. An amazing real life 'snapshot' of the past.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank TimNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

What a great perceptive review TimNut.
I will make sure all our volunteers get to read it.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Totally enjoyed our visit to this place well worth the money so much to see. The volunteers there are so very friendly and so very helpful, recommend a visit of anyone in Hervy Bay. Fiona from Bribie Island and Sheena from Balcultha NZ.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank BribiefeeNingi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Sorry I missed your review. Thanks for posting.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

There is so much to see and do in the very well maintained buildings of all descriptions. It is fantastic. All looked after and presented by a friendly group of volunteers. Well worth a visit.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Fadden2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Many thanks for your perceptive review. We aim to please.
Regards
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

The volunteers that run the museum are extremely friendly, informative and love to have you there. Genuinely happy to be there and to show you around.
The museum has some fantastic pieces, photos and displays on the history of Hervey Bay.
We were absolutely surprised by the size of the place. Very impressive and would recommend to all ages, especially families with children. Lots to do and see.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 704kristyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Hi Kristy
Delighted with your review. I will pass on to our members.
The main benefit of being a volunteer is that we do it because we want to, not because we have to. Thanks again.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews