We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Best $10 you will spend in Hervey Bay

Great collection! You think you have seen it all, and then there is more. Friendly and... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
542cheriec
,
Wingello, Australia
via mobile
Hervey Bay Historical Village

The Hervey Bay Historic Village and Museum reopened 01st August 2020 and we visited that day... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
joniquelife
,
Australia
via mobile
Read all 352 reviews
  
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
281
63
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
281
63
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rope making hervey bay run by volunteers interesting displays local history on display well worth the visit three hours few hours local area all ages great place to visit village museum live demonstrations trip down memory lane different buildings corn
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2017

I visited this Museum with a group of Senior Citizens, and there was a group of school children there at the same time. The volunteers were fantastic, they coped with two such diverse groups well, and we did not feel that they could have done anything else to make our visit more enjoyable. They were very considerate with our older ladies, with those with walkers and with those with hearing problems. I personally found it very interesting looking at all the displays - and I had many trips down memory street especially in the Ladies Craft building. I learnt a lot - I didn't know corn could be used for so many things. Pioneers sure were inventive in ways to use every available part of a plant. Thank you again to all those who were there to make our day more enjoyable. Unfortunately, our slow progress because of age disabilities meant that most of us did not see everything on show, but I for one intend to return when I can.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank betty230344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Hi Betty
It was a delight to have your group visit our Village and to show you our demonstrations. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Brian (Ropemaker)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

We visited the historical village and museum on a relative's recommendation and we were not disappointed. The only issue was that we ran out of time to see everything. The place itself is fascinating. We learned so much. We had children in our group and they enjoyed the visit too as there were lots of interactive displays. The staff welcomed the children and got them involved. Highly recommended stop when you are in Hervey Bay.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Aotearoa4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hi Gail
Delighted you and your family enjoyed your visit. I will pass your review on to our members. Many thanks
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We visited this wonderful museum over the school holidays not knowing exactly what to expect and we were all (adults and kids ) thoroughly surprised and enchanted by this wonderful depiction of our Australian culture and history . The displays were so well done and laid out . The staff were so helpful and eager to talk about the history of the Hervey Bay region . My 3 kids loved it . Well worth the visit and well done to the volunteers for this informative interesting museum . Thank you and can highly recommend .

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Relax326206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Delighted that you all enjoyed it. I will pass on your comments to our members.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Passionate, kind staff are pleased to show you the wide range timeless pieces and illustrate a vivid image of all the areas Australias intricate history. Hands on demonstrations blended with the staffs lively sense of humour will leave you wandering about the simplicity of early settlement life, and laughing out loud. One of the best museum experiences I've ever had. Looking forward to revisiting soon and would strongly suggest to anyone visiting the area.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Nora5726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your visit Nora. We are always delighted to get feedback and we always pass it on to the volunteers. Thank you.
Brian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Like the Tardis, this museum is much bigger on the inside than it appears on the outside. It is absolutely crammed with artefacts from a bygone era and requires much more time than we had allowed for it. We were fortunate to encounter the museum (by chance) on a Sunday, when there are interactive displays. These were excellent and David very kindly accompanied us to some other exhibits to give us some very useful and interesting background information.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 784davinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

The Tardis is a great analogy. Well said Davina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews