We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum
Open today: 1:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic! Step back in time.

Visited here over the weekend, and it was absolutely brilliant. Managed to watch a couple of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
SarahPeel2013
,
Fremantle, Australia
via mobile
Absolutely worth a visit, so interesting!

We visited with our little family of four on a Sunday, to ensure we got to see the demonstrations... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
nillyfour
Read all 289 reviews
  
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveller rating
223
58
6
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
223
58
6
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews couple of hours run by volunteers hervey bay local history on display interesting displays well worth the visit hours exploring brought back memories early days great insight volunteer staff all ages great place to visit kids and adults step back in time village museum
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 289 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Like the Tardis, this museum is much bigger on the inside than it appears on the outside. It is absolutely crammed with artefacts from a bygone era and requires much more time than we had allowed for it. We were fortunate to encounter the museum (by chance) on a Sunday, when there are interactive displays. These were excellent and David very kindly accompanied us to some other exhibits to give us some very useful and interesting background information.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank 784davinar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

The Tardis is a great analogy. Well said Davina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

A credit to the tireless volunteers who have turned a labour of love into a brilliant record of local history and the people whose families are remembered in the exhibits. For those of us who recognise artefacts from our childhood; its a trip down memory lane and for our descendants it gives them an insight into "the olden days". The Hervey Bay Historical Museum is a must see for those with an interest in times past and the simple skills of the rope maker and the blacksmith.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank rosc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

The passion shown by volunteer staff shows through this recreated local village. We were surprised to find so many fragile and irreplaceable heirlooms, ceramics etc on display. Clearly visitors respect the effort in getting all the exhibits collected and arranged. There was a lot of information to explain the significance if the vast array of personal and local industry. Buildings are largely built from original materials and give great insight into the pioneers. Local sponsors and volunteers are to be commended for their support in establishing and maintaining this attraction.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thank you very much for your perceptive review. Wer aim to please.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Quite deceptive - from the front, quite small but once you wander through you appreciate the scale. So much history to enjoy, it is both a sense of history and a touch of nostalgia of a bygone age. Although most of the buildings and exhibits have been transported here, it still shows a wonderful sense of what a town like Hervey Bay was like in its early days. A wonderful team of volunteers, Lin was an excellent guide helping me traverse the variety of exhibits.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank RonWamberal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2017

Thanks for your rview. Not sure how we can get the message across that we are bigger than we look.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

An unxpected surprise. After doing big day tours we were looking for something quiet this day. While at breakfast we saw Things to do in Hervey Bay and found the museum listed. We thought this will do for an hour... forget it
You could do it in an hour but if you want to do it justice spend a couple of hours. There is something for everyone.
The displays are excellent. I personally loved the horses made to display the carriages, made you appreciate the size of the carts.
After visiting the Maheno wreck the day before it was interesting to see the fantastic display on the Maheno.
To all the volunteers well done.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank biribee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian T, Public Relations Manager at Hervey Bay Historical Village & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

So pleased you liked our horses, they do not cost much to feed which is why they are so skinny.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews