We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality economical package for our hands on sales meeting”
Review of Chapelwick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawke's Bay Region
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapelwick
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Lovely historic homestead with an old world laid back charm to it .
Raewyn & Rod make wonderfull hosts , organised but not rushed .
Hearty & tasty food & stay at least a couple of nights in the luxurious & tastefully redecorated rooms because a meal at the Porongahau "pub" is not to be missed either .

A great way to get away from things & have no interuptions whilst you talk products & strategies .

Just check the best route to access Chapelwick by - come in from the north Napier /Waipuk & the view will wash away your cares .

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon2740893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 94 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2011

We have stayed at Chapelwick on two occasions, will be back for more relaxing stays. Rod and Raewyn are the perfect hosts, friendly and go out of their way to make your stay an enjoyable one. Lovely breakfasts and also evening meals. Very affordable and the rooms are simply the best.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsy9556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We spent one night at Chapelwick in the Hunter Suite and were very impressed. The room was large with a very comfortable bed and amazing views across the fields towards the sea.

Before dinner we explored huge grounds and wished we had packed swimming costumes as the pool looked very inviting.

Dinner with Rod and Raewyn was delicious and they were very knowledgeable about the local area.

Nice breakfast and I highly recommend the scones, so light and delicious!!

Would certainly go back again but for longer next time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayneBlenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We expected a relaxing long weekend - we got that and more! From the amazing surroundings, what we learnt about farming, the food, and of course the venue and hospitality at Chapelwick itself - truly amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Chapelwick was brilliant. Its a farm homestead in a truly rural setting but also just up the road from a beautiful, isolated golden sand beach. Add to that a wonderfully authentic period homestead and friendly and welcoming hosts and it was perfect. The home-cooked food was great too.

If staying there, we recommend the hour long walk along the beach at Herbertville to the seal colony. Two nights wasn't enough for us.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DougWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawke's Bay Region hotels
87.1 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
694 reviews
88.2 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
944 reviews
87.3 km away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 46 in Napier
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
31.4 km away
Thornton Lodge Motel
Thornton Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Waipukurau
21 reviews
72.6 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapelwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapelwick

Address: 482 Hunter Road | Porangahau, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Hawke's Bay Region
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing