We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chapelwick Coastal Estate - Porangahau NZ”
Review of Chapelwick

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hawke's Bay Region
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chapelwick
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Wow thank you so much Raewyn and Rod for such an awesome stay. We were thoroughly made welcome from the time we arrived. We arrived to perfect sunny warm weather which the East Coast of New Zealand is re-noun for. We spent the afternoon wandering the property with Monty the friendly dog and enjoyed the shelter late afternoon sun.
The suite complete with its own bathroom and balcony was devine and so tastefully furbished!
We had booked in for the Winemakers night which Cross Road's showcased their wonderful wines for the degustation 5 course dinner.....SUPERBLY cooked and presented by Thorsten Witzel. A fabulously cooked breakfast was served to us on our rooms balcony. Value for money and a wonderful experience that you simply must try. Cheers to you both Raewyn and Rod well done xx Andrea and Simon

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doris07_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

Such a gloriously majestic homestead, my husband and I stayed in the Hunter Suite and what a treat that was! We arrived with our antenatal group and had a lovely relaxing time away from the littlies. A BIG thank you to Raewyn & Hannah for taking the time to help us have a laugh with a very well judged dress up competition. The breakfast & evening meals provided were incredibly yummy. Raewyn was a real star, offering our group advice on what to do, where to go and helping with party planning ideas. Raewyn really was the perfect host.

Room Tip: Suites on the front side of the house are large & sunny, side rooms were smaller but still a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GabeParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

3oth wedding anniversary present from our children and we loved the Hunter Suite and the open fire and the breakfast and the dinner. Raewyn and Rod were awesome hosts and we felt right at home immediately. Would recommend to anyone wanting a quiet peaceful retreat away from it all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Losesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We spent two nights in the hunter suite and could not have asked for a more wonderful experience. The suite was very spacious and well appointed. The house and grounds are all beautiful and well kept . Raewyn and Rod were perfect hosts offering excellent advice on what to do and see in the area as well as truly making you feel at home at Chapelwick. The cooked breakfast was fresh and delicious. I would highly suggest a visit to Chapelwick.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yesors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

Chapelwick is a lovely rural estate. We stayed in the Hunter Suite which was beautiful with its lovely views across the lawns to the sea. The bed was very comfortable with beautiful linen. Our host Raewyn was friendly and full of suggestions of what to do in the area. The meals were homecooked and delicious - home bacon and free range eggs from the chooks that wandered the estate. We recommend that if you have the chance to stay when they have one of their dinner and wine tastings that you do. This is a fabulous degustation meal with matching wines and then only the stairs to negotiate afterwards. This is a lovely place to get away from it all in what was for us a little known area. We will be going back

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hawke's Bay Region hotels
87.1 km away
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
Pebble Beach Motor Inn
#1 of 46 in Napier
694 reviews
88.2 km away
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
Art Deco Masonic Hotel
#5 of 46 in Napier
944 reviews
87.3 km away
Shoreline Motel Napier
Shoreline Motel Napier
#10 of 46 in Napier
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
88.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
Scenic Hotel Te Pania
#7 of 46 in Napier
805 reviews
31.4 km away
Thornton Lodge Motel
Thornton Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Waipukurau
21 reviews
72.6 km away
Mangapapa Hotel
Mangapapa Hotel
#1 of 5 in Havelock North
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapelwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapelwick

Address: 482 Hunter Road | Porangahau, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Hawke's Bay Region
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Hawke's Bay Region
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing