We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
CheshireFamily

Wonderful location

Review of Altapura
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Apr 2024
What can I say apart from the location of this hotel is absolutely amazing! We stayed in one of the duplex rooms as we had two teenagers with us and we could see the mountains and watch the skiers and chairlifts go by - it really was a wonderful view. You can ski across to the magic carpet and ski lifts so it's great for families. The hotel itself has a very relaxed vibe and you can wear what you like. Even though it's 5 star it isn't pretentious and all the staff are nice and friendly. The ski shop was superb - the staff were great and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Yes it's pricier renting boots, skis and poles here, but you will save time and effort if there's anything that needs tweaking. It was worth every penny.

There is a great locker room provided (located next to the ski rental shop) where you have your own locker with boot heaters. Word of warning, it does get busy by 8.50am as there are lots of kids getting ready for ski school - saying that we always managed to find a seat to sit on.

The free shuttle bus is what makes this hotel stand out - it's a bit of a walk into the town and the shuttle bus service we could not fault - it was perfect. They will even pick you up from your restaurant - you just send them a WhatsApp message saying where you need picking up, and they respond to let you know when they are on their way. The staff who drove were always careful drivers and very polite.

The terrace is wonderful to have drinks on and to watch the skiers fly past!

The spa is terrific after a days skiing to relax and unwind in. There are a few different saunas, an ice igloo which we really enjoyed. There's a nice jacuzzi and swimming pool, although they tend to get busy with small children if its raining outside or the weather isn't that good. It's not a huge pool but our kids loved it, especially being able to swim outside! Towels are provided in this area and there are clean toilets and a changing area too. You can walk down in your bathrobe and slippers to the spa.

With regards to the food I can only comment on breakfast as we never lunched here as it was too expensive compared to what you could get in town. The breakfast was nice enough, but did find the bacon, pancakes and crepes were always cold which is a shame. The pastries were wonderful though and there's a chef who will cook omelettes, fried eggs etc. If you want porridge just ask and they will make it for you. There's lots of cold meats, smoked salmon and cheeses and breads to choose from. The yoghurts were lovely too. We would order double expressos and they were great! We would grab a few bananas to refuel after skiing too. Breakfast opens at 7.30am and I would recommend getting there just after it opens to bag a table near the windows - it does get busy quite quickly too.

The Rooms:

We stayed in a Duplex room. Although it was a lovely room, we felt the sofa bed was a bit on the small side for our fairly tall teenager, so would need to book a different room next time.

The rooms were clean and relatively quiet (although you will hear your neighbours especially if they have younger children running around and screaming like we did, but luckily they went to bed and then it was quiet). There was one day that the cleaners forgot to clean a sink and a toilet, but it was only once. If you need extra towels they will accommodate.

There are radiators in the bathrooms that you can control (there's a white panel at the bottom of the radiator) and you can dry your wet ski clothes.

At nighttime staff come round with bottles of water for you.

Slippers, bathrobes, shower gel, shampoo & conditioner were provided. All bathrooms had hand wash and moisturiser too and a hairdryer.

There is PLENTY of storage space for all your clothes with lots of hangers.

Overall, we had a wonderful time here and would definitely return!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Altapura
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
0.6 km from Altapura
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
0.3 km from Altapura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Altapura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
0.7 km from Altapura
Free Wifi
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.3 km from Altapura
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from Altapura
Free Wifi
Restaurant
chambre 2 lits TWIN
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
0.7 km from Altapura
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Satisfaisant
AU$163
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$163
  • StayForLong
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Altapura
Restaurant
AU$177
Fully refundable
Multiple ways to pay
  • Booking.com
0.9 km from Altapura
View more hotels in Val Thorens
Reviews (627)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveller rating
510
68
28
11
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
510
68
28
11
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ski shop breakfast and dinner the general manager pool and hot tub ski hotel wonderful hotel kids club luxury hotel free shuttle shuttle service perfect stay junior suite ski vacation every evening ski school concierge spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2024 via mobile

Not a 5 star hotel. The food is the worst I have ever eaten. This was mentioned by Suzanne E in January 24 and I can confirm this.

Food is served on cold plates no hot plates. A buffet section where baked beans for breakfast are cold, sausages are white and inedible. Bacon cold and if you want a fried egg the chef has too cook it for you and served up lukewarm.

The evening meal is buffet but always cold. The choices are truly shocking the only thing that is nice is bread as they cannot make that.

Seriously don’t eat here my 2 friends in party of 11 which cost close to £25k on a package deal with Inghams went down with food poisoning due to eating oysters at the hotel. No doctor on site so friends had to stay in their room for 2 days.

Truly shocking and ruined our holiday.

Asked for a twin bed and was given a double bed. Window in the room wasn’t closed properly and couldn’t get it fixed till next day.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank danielmccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2024

Incredible hotel, great location.
Food was wonderful. Great choices.
Staff were wonderful.
Service and amenities were great.
We can’t wait to come back.

Only niggle was husband hit hit head off the vertical wooden planks that over hang the food items. They were far too low, and his head was bleeding.

Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank elisafenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

1. I have stayed at Altapura a few times just for weekends when the other 5* hotels in Val T were full or much more expensive.

2. On my last stay, when we checked in we were in a hurry to get out of skis so we collected room keys without providing the passport at checkin, assuming ok to do that a bit later.

2. Whilst in the shower a member of the reception staff let herself into the room and shouted that we had not paid for the room....which was incorrect since we had prepaid at least part of it via booking.com. She did not immediately close the door when seeing my friend standing in a towel trying to get out of the shower.

3. We got dressed and then went down to complete the checkin formalities and the staff were rude and ignored the point that they should not have let themselves into a room and if they did should immediately have left when seeing someone in the shower. Note that they had my car…so no option to leave without paying etc. ….this was just poorly trained staff.

5. Subsequent to that stay I wrote the review below, which I stand by as a reasonable assessment on location and service.

6. However I booked the hotel again since it was cheaper than the other options for this coming weekend and would give them a second chance. The hotel itself is ok…so maybe the staff were just having a bad day.

7. …but got a call from them after I booked asking me about the previous bad review and suggesting to cancel the new reservation or withdraw the review. Given their attitude to feedback I think it was time to stop spending further money with them so I accepted a cancellation and refund.

8. Advice to hotel owners is that you need better management and to streamline your check-in to avoid lengthy waits and confusion. Cancelling repeat bookings due to poor feedback is not a good look…

Original review below:

The location is far away from the centre of Val Thorens so long walk to try other restaurants….which you will want to do since the restaurant in the hotel is mediocre.

Most staff in the hotel are pretty good and helpful but the checkin is slow due to inexperienced staff. Not their fault but management choice to cut costs results in slow service.

Have stayed twice and may do again but there are better options in Val t.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Escape15571921900
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Having had the best review from friends some 12 years ago, saying how amazing it was, and that we should all stay here, one of our group managed to secure a group half biard booking for us all to go, costing £25k there abouts. The hotel, not a 5* for so many reasons, its in need of some tlc on decor, restaurant was very basic, food limited, almost every night cold, tepid, with cold plates, but dessert plates warm. One night we had chicken and chips no better than cheap basket food, £5 you'd pay the most for it. The kitchen staff changed every sitting and every day, no one consistent in the kitchen. Two friends had food poisoning, they were the only ones to have oysters. Me and two ithers had plastic in our soup, seemed to have been added to the blender. Drinks tarrif varied in the bar, I paid three different prices for the same gin and tonic ranging from 21 euros to 17 euros. A number of staff in the bar and restaurant were rude, impersonal and seemed poorly trained in hospitality. On dealing with mistakes language issues seemed to be blamed.
Our room was ok, clean towels daily, but cups etc went missing and had to be asked for.
Hotel felt tired, and the staff too, I'll equipped to manage tasks. For a miserable culture to develop it seems that this is from the top and filtered down.
The only nice thong was the hotel ski shop, who helped me with my skis.
The spa had lots of children in it and parents didn't seem to take notice of the times kids could be in the spa. Although ordinarily I wouldn't mind so much, but it wasn't managed by the hotel staff.
I've skied Val Thorens before, it's beautiful, I'd never stay at this hotel, nor any hotels associated to it, seems like its been ruined since it became a chain, sadly.
Too expensive, badly run, tired, and not up to a 5* standard they've labled it as.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank sarahL14616
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2024

Nice hotel but it’s very hard to question the logic of a 5-star hotel with fabric shower curtains. We arrived to a very smelly room thanks to a damp shower curtain which I had to manually remove to remedy the bad odour. I cannot fathom the logic of using a shower curtain that will get wet and smell.

Another bizarre issue is the location of solid metal light fittings placed immediately above the breakfast tables. As a result of these low hanging bulbs, my wife and I both got smacked in the face on numerous occasions as these fittings are located at face height above the breakfast seating area. These are heavy items, and we were both hurt on several occasions as you forget their location whilst dining until raising from the breakfast area.

The swimming pool is also not child friendly. We arrived at 5pm with our 3 hound children (aged 1, 3 & 5) as we previously noticed a signpost saying that it was adults only from 6pm-8pm which was fair enough. After a few minutes in the pool, the receptionist walked over to advise the pool was a “quiet area”. We immediately felt unwelcome and decided to leave. I would like to understand why the hotel feels it’s necessary to ask young children to be quiet in a swimming pool and if this is a realistic expectation?

The hotel is in a great location and finished to a very high standard, a few simple changes would make the hotel so much more comforatable for it's guests.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 417bernardr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews