We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DELICIOUS”

L'Auberge des Balcons
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Val Thorens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 17 - USD 40
Cuisines: French, Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Been here 3 times now, each time just as amazing as the first! Friendly vibrant atmosphere and super friendly staff always willing to help. The food is heaven, plentiful portion sizes and good wine. Would recommend to anyone in the area. Can't wait to return :)

Thank Naomi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie V, Service Quality at L'Auberge des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

It's a pleasure to read that your experience at L'Auberge des Balcons was amazing, thanks to the welcome of our team and the cuisine of our Chef.
Best regard
Marie V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Me and my family (group of 13 people) have visited this great restaurant for breakfast and dinner during the first week of April.

During our stay the restaurant was completely full of people, nevertheless the food was delicious, and the service was amazing.

Karine and her team managed to answer our needs in short time which made our experience even better.

I recommend other restoraunt owners of Val Thorens to have this team as a good example of a proper service.

Thank Yevgeni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie V, Manager at L'Auberge des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your answer.
We look forward to welcoming you a next stay
Best regards
The team of the restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We were wowed by the pizza which we ordered as a starter. However things went downhill afterwards. My steak was sooooo tough even though I asked for medium rare. The noodles we ordered were so salty and all main courses we ordered were huge disappointment including my daughter's burger which was burnt. It was close to where we stay but apart from that I think I will return for the pizza only.

Thank King_of_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie V, Service Qualité at L'Auberge des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are saddened not to have given you complete satisfaction.
We transmit your comments to the teams
Your comments enable us to improve the quality of our services permanently.
Best regard
Marie V

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Our son works in Val Thorens and he recommended this place, the food was excellent (fondue with meat and cheese) well presented and very nice indeed. The staff were lovely and the atmosphere was exactly what you would like in a French Alp Ski resort. We were on an all inclusive hotel holiday but ate out one night with or son here. We would have definitely returned again if we were not already catered. We also noticed a breakfast bar for use in the mornings which I think is a great idea if on a self catered holiday. When we go back to the 3 Valleys (VT) we will make the effort to go here again. Thank you to the staff for an excellent evening. My only regret is that we were there at end of January this year and I am only just doing this review now, so if you are going next year, make this a place to eat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Seasonairsrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marie V, Service Qualité at L'Auberge des Balcons, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

We are very happy to read your opinion following your visit.
The team thanks you for your compliments on the service and cuisine of our chef Maurizio.
We look forward to seeing you again on a future stay.
Yours truly
Marie V, Quality Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The Auberge is extremely handy for anyone staying at the upper end of Val Thorens, and offers a wide range of hearty meals including the savoyard specials of raclette, fondu, tartiflette etc. They also offer pasta, pizza, burgers and grills. The service is fast and friendly, serving staff speak good English and the atmosphere buzzy. Worth booking if in a large group. While the fondu looked great, it lacked punch, and wasn't quite as authentic as I'd have hoped - more as if it had been made with a béchamel base rather than pure cheese - although I don't know if this is the case. The wine list was unexciting and the local Savoie red pretty unpleasant which was a shame as a better wine list, particularly of local, regional wines, would have improved the evening. The beer and cocktail menu is pretty good however. All the main courses are hearty and well served but if a little stodgy - not necessarily a bad thing after a day's skiing. The deserts are a real highlight - much bigger and better than you generally find in France. We loved the cafe gourmand, and the chocolate brownie (10 minute wait). Fun for families and overall pretty good value for Val Thorens which is not cheap.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Auberge des Balcons also viewed

Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 
Val Thorens, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
Les Menuires, Saint-Martin-de-Belleville
 

Been to L'Auberge des Balcons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing