We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant experience!”
Review of L'Arc en Ciel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Arc en Ciel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A pleasant experience!”
Reviewed 25 October 2010

We arrived and were welcomed by a young English speaking man who escorted us to our room and showed us all the features. We had the triple which came with an upstairs loft. There was also a balcony overlooking the town. The staff was wonderful and breakfast was pleasant; they made our daughter fresh hot chocolate every morning. There is plenty of parking and the hotel is within walking distance of most area attractions. The Victoria Restaurant nearby was exquisite! The neighboring hotel has a restaurant which we did not visit, but it is easily accessed by a corridor connecting the 2 hotels. The hardest part was finding it. The street name is NOT clearly posted, it is located right next to the park. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Canez_Places_Visited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    124
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
108
221
15
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

In quality terms far better than the average 2 star hotel and definitely good value for money.
Easy access to ferries and bus to Evian. Take footbridge over railway.
Hotel has only breakfast room but good news is that there is a connecting door to restaurant next door ,"Les Marroniers", good service and food. Several fixed price menus .Good value for money.In one week we were there always full, essential to book.
Typical French food. Wine list restricted but reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEREKAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2010

We stayed half-board for 4 days at the end of July this year. The staff were great, the room was comfortable and the evening meal was very good. The cheese board was outstanding - a wide range of top class local cheeses. And there was still dessert to eat after that! Would strongly recommend this hotel to visitors to this part of France. Thonon is a pleasant town and other places like Switzerland (by boat) and Evian are in easy reach. We travelled there by car and visited the local organic wine producer - Chateau la Tour de Marignan - at Sciez nearby. The owner was very keen to give us samples of his range of wines. We left slightly tipsy and with a selection of his best wines in the car boot.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyCunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a week in July 2009 and had a wonderful stay. The room was spacious with bathroom, separate toilet, dressing table, large mirrored wardrobe, table/chairs in room and balcony with table/chairs overlooking the swimming pool. There was a pc available at reception with internet access. There was also a small games/pool room good for families. Breakfast was ample. Reception was so helpful and friendly. It was run by husband/wife team and the husband even drove us to the train station on the day we were leaving as were two female travellers with large suitcases and no car. We also discovered that the shuttle buses to the Montjoux festival left/returned from practically outside the hotel which was fantastic. The only downside - and this is more to do with Thonon les Bains rather than the hotel - is that the hotel is situated in the upper part of the town whilst the buzzing restaurants are in the lower part of town, however I saw NO HOTEL in the lower part near these restaurants. As a previous reviewer said, to get to the hotel on foot, the quickest way is to cross a bridge over the railway line and through a small pedestrian tunnel which was a little off-putting at night for two female tourists. However, there is a longer route along the main road. We did not encounter any difficulties but always did go as fast as possible through the tunnel. The hotel price is exceptionally reasonable for what you get. If you're going to Thonon then stay here.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EurTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
137 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

Stayed one night at this hotel. Reception were very welcoming on arrival. The room we had was very large and comfortable with a separate bathroom and wc. It also had a good sized balcony. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed for our stay - I think the chef was on holiday, but reception recommended numerous good places to eat which was fine by us. We had breakfast at the hotel next door which is linked by a corridor - pretty much a standard buffet. Ample car parking on site. Good value for money stay, I would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thonon-les-Bains
0.7 km away
Ibis Thonon - Evian
Ibis Thonon - Evian
#2 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.3 km away
Le Comte Rouge
Le Comte Rouge
#6 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.4 km away
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
Ibis Budget Thonon les Bains
#4 of 11 in Thonon-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Terrasses du Lac
Zenitude Hotel-Residences Les Te...
#3 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
9.2 km away
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
Hotel Ermitage - Evian Resort
#2 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
9.5 km away
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
Hilton Evian-les-Bains
#4 of 18 in Evian-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Arc en Ciel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Arc en Ciel

Property: L'Arc en Ciel
Address: 18 Place de Crete, 74200 Thonon-les-Bains, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Thonon-les-Bains
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Thonon-les-Bains
Price range (per night): $107 - $162
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Arc en Ciel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel near center of the town of Thonon Les Bains. Balcony, wifi, garden, outdoor swimming pool, parking and garage. For business or holidays, one night or a long stay, room, BB, half board or full board. On the way to the winter station(Morzine, Avoriaz, Chatel and Switzerland). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'Arc en Ciel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Arc En Ciel Thonon-Les-Bains, France - Haute-Savoie

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing