We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Orion's Belt”
other travellers have booked this property
Hot-tub with views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hot-tub with views
Chalet Orion in the snow Living room with plenty of comfortable sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Hot-tub with views
Chalet Orion in the snow
Living room with plenty of comfortable sofas
Relax by a roaring log fire
Fully fitted kitchen with lots of work space
Kitchen with seating for 4
Dining area - enjoy our delicious food!
Beautiful double bedroom with balcony
Bedrooms can also be made as twin beds
Pretty twin room
Bedroom with plenty of storage
Ensuite family room
Pretty bedrooms, luxury bathrobes are provided
Cosy family room
Ensuite bathroom with complimentary Elemis toiletries
View from the ski lift
2 doubles or twin bedrooms on the Ground floor
Living and dining and family room on the 1st Floor.
Twin or double and family room on the 2nd floor.
Lovely summer location
Samoens in the summertime
Hot-tub with fantastic views all year around
Let us at PureChalets take care of your holiday!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Samoens, Grand Massif, Haute-Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Duncurin
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Orion's Belt”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Duncurin and friends, eleven in total, were very lucky to travel to Samoens this New Year and what a super choice of accommodation. The slopes, at first, were a little thin and icy but the welcome we received in these wonderful chalets was both warm and generous.
Our party was split across the two chalets. Eridan is the smaller of the two and Orion larger. The chalets are just a 10 minute walk from the pretty village and are situated on a sunny shelf with wonderful views across the valley, the village and, of course, the mountains. The front-facing double bedrooms share this amazing view and we were blessed with bright days and deep nights, with a great view of the stars.
Both chalets are beautifully constructed with excellent layouts, great facilities and are comfortable and cosy.Orion also boasts a super hot tub, which overlooks the valley and, according to my daughter and her boyfriend, was perfect after a hard day’s skiing.
Eridan has two generously-proportioned double rooms, all with en-suite facilities and the room at the back also has two bunk beds which would make it ideal for friends, families and extended families.Sleep quality was amazing with large, comfortable double-beds. The facilities in Orion are similar but there are more rooms. We, therefore, split our party with three of us staying in Eridan, which is just around the corner from Orion where the remaining eight stayed. We opted to have our breakfast together in Orion, though there is the option to have breakfast in the spacious lounge-kitchen-dining space of Eridan. Afternoon drinks and cakes as well as evening meal was served in Orion, but, once again, both chalets are self-contained.
The main ski lift is about 15 minutes’ walk, though Andy, the chalet owner, is on hand to drive you down in the mornings and also, should you wish, to bring you back in the afternoon. Leaving our ski gear in the equipment shop near the lift was ideal, and under such circumstances we preferred the gentle walk through the lovely village and up to the chalets. The only day I regretted this was the last day when we had been skiing all day and I offered to carry my daughter’s all-mountain skis back up the hill!
Food was excellent and costs include all wine. Several of our party are wine aficionados and all were impressed by the choice of red and white wine. There is also a very economically priced honesty bar where one can request beer, soft drinks or something stronger.
Although I cannot fault the accommodation or facilities (an automatic coffee/hot-drink machine would be good) or the location; the feature that made the holiday for us all – as I said to the owner – were the young couple, Lucy and Dave who staff the chalets and who are hard-working, friendly and warm, gentle souls who give life to the whole enterprise. In any event we cannot thank them enough for looking after us all the way they did and for sharing some of the magic that a wonderful location and surroundings can provide at this time of year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience of the chalet, company of family and friends, wonderful staff.
Liked least: walking up the hill with skis !
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corrina T
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fabulous Chalet, Fabulous location, Fab holiday”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here @ Chalet Orion for 1 week in July with our 2 kids (3 and 6)
The chalet was perfect and our holiday an adventure. Having been a couple of times to Samoens for skiing and previously for a summer breaks, always booking Pure Chalets - I cannot recommend enough --Andy and Liz are fab and Samoens as a location summer and winter.
Chalet was spotless, totally kitted out with everything you need and everything as expected and more

With younger kids its an ideal summer holiday - we made most of the views and facilities at end of the day with BBQs nightly and kids cycling and on adventures until bedtime, all of us wonderfully shattered!

Kicking off with a quick walk for fresh pastries, bread and cheese we would then contemplate the activity of the day.. This trip we managed to squeeze in just about everything...and there is a lot to do - with or without kids..
We managed a morning at the Waterfall, a day a piece at the glacial lakes (one freezing, one warm and even with a beach), 2 lots of high trees adventure action, biking (- kids around the town and outside chalet whilst husband took to the more challenging hills - MAML on the roads and of course gnarly mountain biking), hiking to a refuge, a day at the outdoor swimming pool and even had both kids being belayed up the rock faces climbing.

A relax in hot tub, BBQ as sun went down, rose and up again for the pastries!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia R
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A superb hosted chalet - modern and amazing food!”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We stayed at Chalet Orion with friends, family and children. It was a lovely modern chalet with mountain views. The hot tub on the deck was a real bonus to come back to, soaking tired muscles. Our hosts Luke and Emma cooked amazing meals, and even provided an earlier tea for all the children. They also baked delicious cakes which were great to come back to after skiing. We took our own car and were pleasantly surprised that parking at the telecabin was free and only a few minutes drive from the chalet. The other families in our group made use of the free pick up/drop off from the owner, Andy.

All in all a great Chalet and fantastic holiday! We felt totally spoilt.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Each bedroom had ensuite facilities
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne M
Ballina, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exemplary food and service in a comfortable and plush Chalet.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Chalet Orion is a lovely chalet just a short walk up the hill from the centre of Samoëns. The chalet hosts Luke and Emma were pleasant, attentive and cooked amazing food. They were a credit to the owners Liz and Andy who made us feel very welcome, ensured that we were enjoying our stay, gave us a resort orientation (ski guiding), quickly sorted any issues and provided shuttle runs by mini bus if we didn't want to walk through town to and from the grand massif express ski lift. The cakes on return from the slopes, the kids high tea and the evening meals were all really tasty, well presented and the kind of food that rivals even the best restaurants in the resort. We made good use of the hot tub every evening after long exhausting days skiing, which felt like a complete luxury - the fluffy robes provided made it feel a bit like a spa! There was enough space in the chalet for our group of 6 adults and 6 children to happily enjoy each other's company and offer areas to get some quiet time away from the bustle. The beds were all really comfortable and the doubles were all conjoined twins (with no noticable gap down the middle) which meant they were plenty big enough. The chalet has under floor heating, radiator towel rails and a equipment drying room so it is comfortably warm! The chalet was clearly finished to a high standards and still feels pretty new so it is clearly looked after. It has an excellent view over the Samoëns valley. Samoëns is a lovely picturesque town with a quaint array of shops and restaurants and PureChalets a class family run set of chalets that I will definitely return to in the winter season and the summer holidays. The skiing was excellent even though it was late in the season and there were a plethora of challenging and pleasurable runs to choose from. Andy organised for us to get a discount at the local ski hire shop which is practically at the lift, which meant no carrying ski equipment long distances and heated boots in the morning from the boot warmers that are switched on all night. Thanks Liz and Andy for a wonderful weeks holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The food, the skiing, the company!
Liked least: It was very poor visibility on the mountain one day, which made skiing less pleasurable
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally G
Bude, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“We loved it!”
Reviewed 2 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Chalet was lovely, very comfy lounge, great bedrooms and maintained to a high standard. Owners and their chalet hosts couldn't be more helpful and lovely - one of us had quite strict dietary requirements, one a non skier, extended family from a toddler up to grandparents, all very looked after. We had a fabulous week with excellent food and enjoyed great skiing as well as the friendly atmosphere of Samoens. Thanks so much, we hope to see you again soon!! xx

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing