We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, brilliant 2 star gem of a hotel full of French old world charm”
Review of Sphinx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sphinx Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Montelimar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, brilliant 2 star gem of a hotel full of French old world charm”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Haven't stayed in a 2 star since I was a student and was amazed the room came with an en-suite with good plumbing, a tv and even a mini-bar and the crispest cleanest white linen ever. This hotel is a little gem and you have the main restsurants and bars just outside the courtyard and Montelimar's shopping street just behind. Its a lovely 18thC town house which does a good breakfast. Remember to pre book a parking place if needed. The owners are really helpful and emailed us as we had left something in the room and are sending it on. Real oldfashioned great service with a personal touch.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbieg5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    74
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
38
86
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 October 2010

While driving between Paris and Nice this year, we stopped into Montelimar for the night. Being high summer, it was pretty difficult to get a room anywhere and Sphinx Hotel was about the only hotel that could give us a room. The concierge even created a little car park for us under the front terrace. We found the room to be a little old fashioned but fairly big, very clean, cozy and comfortable. The view from our bedroom window was just beautiful. The price was very reasonable, and breakfast was typically French and delicious. We'd recommend this hotel to anyone, perhaps a little on the eccentric side but we love that, it certainly adds to the charm...

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MissKarlieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2009

Great roads in the Ardeche region, very helpfull manager who suggested routes to take up a days ride with fantastic roads.
Secure parking for bikes, good access to all areas, many bars and restaurants in walking distance.
Use N102, D290, D4, (N102 & D906 to get back to middle of France in a day (no Motorways)

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keithhd888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2007

We were booked into this hotel by a family friend for a local wedding. At first my husband was shocked as it was a lower star than we normally go to. However after staying a week there we loved it. it has real traditional french charm, was always clean, and because small very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was continental and we sat outside on veranda a few times.
What we loved the most was being able to wander out of the hotel door and sit at the local cafes just outside, we loved the relaxed culture there. We loved montelimar itself, worth a visit.
Full marks to the owners we would cetainly go back and air conditioning was a must especially last year when it topped 40c!

  • Liked — air conditioning, clean rooms
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janetmcauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
midlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2006

We stayed at the Sphinx for two nights on a short break in France and intend to return for a longer stay. The location was ideal. The hotel was spotless and the staff were very friendly. It was everything you would want from a typical French Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montelimar hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Beausoleil
Hotel Beausoleil
#1 of 13 in Montelimar
179 reviews
0.4 km away
Kyriad Montelimar Centre
Kyriad Montelimar Centre
#6 of 13 in Montelimar
250 reviews
0.5 km away
Ibis Styles Montelimar Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 km away
Ibis Montelimar Nord
Ibis Montelimar Nord
#1 of 3 in Saulce-sur-Rhone
115 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel La Cremaillere
Hotel La Cremaillere
#4 of 13 in Montelimar
94 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Parc
Hotel du Parc
#8 of 13 in Montelimar
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sphinx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sphinx Hotel

Property: Sphinx Hotel
Address: 19 boulevard Marre Desmarais, 26200, Montelimar, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Montelimar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Montelimar
Price range (per night): $112 - $161
Hotel Class:2 star — Sphinx Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sphinx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sphinx Hotel Montelimar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing