We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”

Review of Chalet Ruby

softly falling snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
softly falling snow
Outside in the summer sitting area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
softly falling snow
Outside in the summer
sitting area
panoramic view
view from the fireplace
cosy sitting room
dining table seats 15
Our Legendary Cake
Pan Fried Duck
homemade Cookies
Carrot Cake
room 1 either a twin or a super king
another view of room 1
room 3 as a super king
single room
double room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Les Deux-Alpes, Isere, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chris B
Staplehurst, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

From the minute we arrived till the minute we left nothing was to much from our hosts !!
Superb food fantastic accommodation.
Can't recommend this chalet enough.
When they named it chalet ruby they got it right because it is a real Jewel!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The genuine warmth and care
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark O
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

An absolute gem, I have been skiing in France and staying in catered chalets for many years and this is the best so far....

Location is perfect just 10 seconds walk to the free bus route which then took 5 minutes to get to ski school. I had two boys at ski school and was able to leave the chalet at 8:45 and still be at the ESF meeting point before 9:00. There are lots of nice bars and restaurants around.

Food. Wow food was plentiful and of the highest quality. Full English with cereal and croissant in the morning. Freshly made cake when just off the slopes, and a 3 course meal every night except the last when a cheese course was added to make it 4. Not your normal chalet food with such a varied menu including the most amazing duck breast, home made curry night, roast pork dinner to name some of my highlights. All meal were accompanied by a choice of wines which were very good not the usual cheap stuff you get in catered chalets.

Facilities, all rooms with ensuite and the chalet has a hot tub for after the long days on the ski slopes. Living area was comfy and all the mod cons you would want including free wifi (an essential for the kids), Rooms were beautifully finished.

So what made this the best was not just all of the above but the fact that this chalet is run by its owners and not a seasonal chalet team (though they can also be very good in my experience). Diane and Victor were perfect hosts knowledgable of the area and absolutely focuses on making the experience the best possible. Nothing was too much trouble be it alternative meals for the children or providing medicine and pick you ups for colds and ailments.

They were assisted by Marie who had the same ethos as the owners and when opportunity arose joined us skiing.

All in all a superb holiday had by all the party of 15. If travelling to Les Deux Alpes again I would certainly stay here again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lezalesle...
1 review
“fantadtic chalet, fantastic catering and lovely service!! Highly recommend!”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

we really enjoyed our family ski holiday! We ate so well and mark and Harvey looked after us really well! Thanks for a fab holiday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FJFM423
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and chalet for a relaxing all age family ski holiday.”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We booked Chalet Ruby as it was the right size for our group of 14 and provided easy access to the slopes, and was good value for money. The email communications we had with the owner were prompt and any advice given was helpful - ski school, lift passes etc. In retrospect we should have asked directions to the chalet from where the bus transport dropped us, but were fortunately rescued by Harvey who happened to be passing!
The bedrooms and bathrooms are basic but provide all the essentials for a skiing holiday and the dining / lounge area was a relaxing space for both children and adults. Mark and Harvey were good hosts and we enjoyed their company without it being intrusive into our family gathering. The food deserves a special mention - Mark's skills as a chef kept us very well fed throughout the week with the option of a cooked breakfast, good food for children's tea and excellent three course dinners for the adults. Knowing that Mark was going to knock on the bedroom doors on the last morning at 5.00am was reassuring and the freshly cooked croissants and pain au chocolats to take with us were most welcome. All in all an excellent venue and just what we hoped for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and food
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JjE25
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Super chalet , friendly, fab food and great ski resort”
Reviewed 25 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Chalet Ruby is a super choice for a relaxed ski holiday.

Mark and Harvey were wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble for them. Mark is a fabulous chef , he provided a cooked breakfast with fresh croissants and pain-au-chocolats each morning, flapjacks and cakes to bring up the mountain and a wonderful 3 course dinner each evening, the highlights were the chicken and mushroom pie and the delicious roast lamb dinner on the last evening . Mark was very accommodating with the kids, cooking them dinner at 6.30 each evening , they spent the rest of the night watching movies on the TV ( they have google chrome cast so you can stream movies from your net flicks account) while we enjoyed dinner and plenty of wine!

Both mark and Harvey had plenty of local knowledge and tips which is great when visiting a resort for the first time.
The chalet was perfect for our group of children and adults, the rooms simple but warm and comfortable and although the bathrooms are small, as previously noted, the never ending supply of hot water and excellent water pressure compensated. The living room has plenty of sofas and the wood burning stove kept it warm and cosy.

The hot tub deserves a paragraph all to itself - what bliss after a day on the slopes ! It was the children's favourite bit of the holiday!

Les Deux-Alpes is an excellent resort with loads of family friendly blue runs high in the glacial area so you are guaranteed snow -and the town itself is buzzy with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops to keep you entertained.

All highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing