We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service like no other!”

Hotel Le Vieux Chalet
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Vieux Chalet
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We spent 4 nights in this wonderful place just after New Year.
A small and cosy property, with a huge heart. The staff simply make it! From Bruno, the amiable owner to Florian on the front desk, nothing was too much trouble. I have worked in the travel industry for 30 years and I know good service when I see it.
Although I would say the menu gets a little 'samey', the quality of food is very good.
The transport to ski slops (we had little snow) was a lovely touch.
I would also say that it would be nice to have some English TV channels as an option.
Other than that, I really cannot criticise this place and cannot wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lindamduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2016

If you find yourself near Annecy, France and want to enjoy sensational food in one of the coolest bars and salons I’ve ever been to in the French Alps then you should book a table at Le Vieux Chalet in La Clusaz.
It’s just out of the village so not necessarily known to the ‘passing trade’ but I promise you it’s worth a visit. You can take the short cable cabin (La Patinoire) up to it’s location in the middle of one of the lower pistes (also accessible by road – 5 mins from the centre of the village) and walk back down into the village afterwards.
The food and the service are both excellent and at a level which is not always easy to find in the alps unless you’re prepared to pay the prices that are acceptable only to idiots who are not in a restaurant for the food. They also have very comfortable bedrooms.
My wife loves it there and she’s picky about everything and knows almost every inch of the alps. She really can’t find anything wrong with it. Me neither. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2015

A gem - ski in, ski out...lovely hosts. Only four extremely comfortable bedrooms. Delicious food, great bar. A very local feel. Lovely skiing .. Intermediate level. Can get lift down to town. All round love it and can see myself coming back again and again. Best thing is they organise your skis, you don't ave to carry your skis anywhere !

Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MsCCraigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Very friendly and efficient service at this charming hotel in the middle of the slopes. All details regarding skis and ski passes taken care of. Very good, Authentic French Cooking. Very agreeable to choose a la carte. Personal and caring support by Marie-Poule and Bruno. Most enjoyable four days of skiing. Only disadvantage is the steep Climb from the village. Do not miss the last ski lift, or hire a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekaawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent place for skiing & dining: Everything was perfectly arranged througout our stay; return transport to Geneva, ski passes, ski rentals including changes, wonderful dinners a la carte. Charming rooms with a good mixture of modern comfort and old summer farm decoration. Skiing directly into the slopes. There are stations with better slopes and more comfortable lifts other places in the Alpes, but we have never enjoyed any hotels better than with Bruno and Marie-Paule.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pekaawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,209 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#2 of 20 in La Clusaz
361 reviews
2.3 km away
Les Chalets de la Serraz
Les Chalets de la Serraz
#10 of 20 in La Clusaz
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#6 of 20 in La Clusaz
217 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Prestige Odalys Le Chamois
0.6 km away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vieux Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vieux Chalet

Address: 309 route du Cret du Merle, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Price Range: $441 - $814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Vieux Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Le Vieux Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing