We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, cosy atmosphere”

Hotel Le Vieux Chalet
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Le Vieux Chalet
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Reviewed 10 February 2015

Very friendly and efficient service at this charming hotel in the middle of the slopes. All details regarding skis and ski passes taken care of. Very good, Authentic French Cooking. Very agreeable to choose a la carte. Personal and caring support by Marie-Poule and Bruno. Most enjoyable four days of skiing. Only disadvantage is the steep Climb from the village. Do not miss the last ski lift, or hire a taxi.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pekaawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent place for skiing & dining: Everything was perfectly arranged througout our stay; return transport to Geneva, ski passes, ski rentals including changes, wonderful dinners a la carte. Charming rooms with a good mixture of modern comfort and old summer farm decoration. Skiing directly into the slopes. There are stations with better slopes and more comfortable lifts other places in the Alpes, but we have never enjoyed any hotels better than with Bruno and Marie-Paule.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pekaawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

A relaxed atmosphere, very good food (with a reasonably priced wine list), a warm welcome, fabulous location...excellent facilities - pool, sauna, hot tub... It ticks all the boxes & the charming owner brought a few smiles to our faces as an added bonus! We travelled as friends and the client base was a real mix...families, couples young & old and a few other groups of friends. Everyone is welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SimiAnnecy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2009

We booked a 4-night stay at Vieux Chalet by email. We had a bit of trepidation because we were making our decision solely on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and other online sources, never having stayed at the hotel or La Clusaz before. It turned out to be one of the best hotel experiences we ever had.

The staff of Vieux Chalet, from the owners Bruno and Marie Paule to the waiters and waitresses to Bernard the handyman, were all very helpful and friendly. They booked our ski equipment for us (including multiple equipment changes for resizing), got us our ski passes, and generally made our stay in an unfamiliar environment stress-free. The staff were also quite tolerant of our children (ages 5 and 7), and made them (and us) feel very welcome.

The hotel itself was quite nice - a combination of rustic charm with modern conveniences, and not too large (only seven rooms/suites), so the service and attention was very personal. The location, as we discovered, is great -- there is a 5-minute telecabine that literally stops outside the hotel, and takes you into the center of town where you can take other ski lifts to other runs in the area. You can also ski out from the hotel directly onto several runs. We also liked the fact that the hotel was not directly in town, as it gave a greater sense of tranquility and isolation, especially in the morning and night before many skiiers are on the slopes. The hotel will also pick you up in town or drop you off by car any time as you need.

The hotel also comes with a very good restaurant - again quite small but the food was top class, and the wait staff were always helpful with explaining the menu and suggesting great local wines to accompany the dishes. The menu, I should mention, also included a number of non-Savoyard dishes (fresh oysters, scallop salad, etc.), which helped break up what could have been a bit of monotony that we saw at other restaurants of cheese, sausage, more cheese, etc. As part of the 1/2 board, it was a pretty good deal, and we were stuffed pretty much continuously during our stay.

The hotel also has a great little bar with fireplace, and they had a nice little "gouter" (sp?) every afternoon from 4-5pm, where they offer a complimentary pastry/cake of the day with a drink. Nothing better than coming back after a day of skiing to a slice of cake and a vin chaud.

Also a word on the great little terrace. We were quite fortunate that it was sunny pretty much every day that we were there, and one day we took lunch on the terrace. Really beautiful and a memorable experience.

All in all, I wholeheartedly recommend both the hotel, and more generally the La Clusaz ski experience. My family can't wait to get back at the next opportunity.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HKdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

We stayed at this small family run chalet/inn for the past 4 nights. Wow - what a place. It is literally on the piste - and a short walk or cable car ride down to the village. Taken over by new owners and fully renovated, there are 3 or 4 rooms plus 2 suites. Each room has a flat panel television and notebook computer with wireless connection for your use during your stay. The rooms are fabulous - all old wood panelling with fantastic modern bathrooms. The sheets/pillows/duvet were top top quality. The dining area and bar are what one would dream of when staying in the alps. This family also owns/operates a mountain restaurant 500 meters up the hill. The food - breakfast/lunch/dinner was unbelievable. Regrettably, we opted out of the half-board to try some of the restaurants in town. I cannot recommend this place enough - the service was immaculate - this place is top notch and I can't wait to return!!

John

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank johncoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these La Clusaz hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Beauregard
Hotel Beauregard
#1 of 20 in La Clusaz
1,251 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
Hotel Au Coeur du Village
#3 of 20 in La Clusaz
369 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Alpen Roc
Hotel Alpen Roc
#4 of 20 in La Clusaz
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Les Chalets de la Serraz
Les Chalets de la Serraz
#11 of 20 in La Clusaz
86 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Carlina
Hotel Carlina
#6 of 20 in La Clusaz
232 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Prestige Odalys Le Chamois
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Vieux Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Vieux Chalet

Address: 309 route du Cret du Merle, 74220 La Clusaz, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Clusaz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 20 Hotels in La Clusaz
Price Range: $420 - $668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Vieux Chalet 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Le Vieux Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing