We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rodrigo C

Worst birthday of my life

Review of Alpe d'Huez
1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 Feb 2024
Worst experience possible. Booked the vacation from 4 to 11 of February on 2024 with 20 friends, all of them paid the exact same fee to get the basic room to celebrate my 30th Birthday. The problem is my birthday gift from ClubMed Alpe D'Huez was to give me a Paraplegic room. My friends got the correct room with good view, shower and hot tub and everything else. My room has the shower on the same level of the bathroom floor and everytime we shower it wets the floor so bad that me and my girlfriend has to clean it up. Besides that, we got the back view of the hotel with no view at all, and a bonus of a HORRENDOUS smell that comes each time we come back from the ski lesson. I tried contacting the front desk, tried calling directly to ClubMed and they all say: Sorry sir, all the rooms are booked, there is nothing we can do about it. I just wanted to relax and have a good time with my friends and my girl. Everytime I call they transfer me to another person and to another person and nothing really happens. Beware!!
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Make sure you have the right room before letting them leave your luggages inside...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Med, Propriétaire at Alpe d'Huez, responded to this review
Responded 12 Feb 2024
Hello rodrigocA3944VF,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Alpe d'Huez for your vacations.

We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We take feedback from our GM very seriously, and we want to apologize on behalf of the establishment for the issues you encountered.

We take your feedback seriously and are committed to making improvements to ensure a positive experience for all of our GMs. If you would like to discuss your stay further or have any other concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can better understand and resolve these issues.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you that we can do better. Once again, we apologize for your disappointing experience and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Shirley,
Club Med Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$310
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$310
1.3 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$208
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$208
1.5 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$350
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$350
1.3 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$443
  • Algotels
0.4 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.0 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Vio.com
1.2 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Chambre Double Supérieure
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$470
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Pool
Guest room
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$150
  • Algotels
1.2 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in L'Alpe d'Huez
Reviews (1,932)
Filter reviews
1,932 results
Traveller rating
1,357
300
121
82
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,357
300
121
82
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef de village gourmet restaurant yoga teacher baby food sorbet ski lessons wellness room great facilities ski experience from france beginner level serve food friendly team going out of their way christmas holidays esf instructors coffee machine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 1,932 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2024

Great trip to ALP D'Huez, nice room, good food warm spring skiing in January. Our Ski Guide Bruno was fantastic!! We got to take a helicopter to 2 alps and ski for a day. There's only one major problem it's the transfer to the Club Meds from the airports.For something they do all the time they can't seem to get that right. And its an awful way to greet guest after they get off an over night flight like we did from the US. It was my 6 trip with Club Med, and only two of the transfers have gone smoothly. I have tried to tell them that you need to provide space for travelers Skis , it is a ski vacation.....

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank Wattage54
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 February 2024 via mobile

5 mark , we stay from 28 th january to 4th February 2024 . Everything was perfect, my daughters were very happy, thanks to Hotel general Manager, ski teachers, kids club , Bar manager Tuncay, Hasan, Berkan, Halil,
From Restaurant , Tanju and Tuncay
Transfer manager Berat
From Luggage department Arthur
Gourmet restaurant Mutlu , thanks a lot ….

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank iso34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024

It was a great week in terms of skiing (Lulu was our instructor - level 3b/a and she was awesome). The room was spacious and very clean (Thanks to the cleaning personel Emre for keeping the place always clean) However, the hotel was packed with families with very very young kids. Imagine yourself with a thousand very laud minions, their desperate parents and even nannies running after kids. It was not a good choice for our pack.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank Serra34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

Our visit started with an amazing adventure. ClubMed tried to leave us behind despite that we’ve already paid our transportation. We arrived at 8pm to the hotel.
The hotel is clean yet to complicated to live in it.
Fortunately, the crew was too friendly and helpful. Especially the diner times were joyful with Mr. Tanju’s team and Yuksel , also bar crew Hasan and Halil were making amazing special cocktails with a smile.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Med, Propriétaire at Alpe d'Huez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2024

Hello Dila O,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Alpe d'Huez for your vacations.

We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We take feedback from our GM very seriously, and we want to apologize on behalf of the establishment for the issues you encountered.

We take your feedback seriously and are committed to making improvements to ensure a positive experience for all of our GMs. If you would like to discuss your stay further or have any other concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can better understand and resolve these issues.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you that we can do better. Once again, we apologize for your disappointing experience and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Shirley,
Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

After a stay filled with mixed feelings at Club Med Alpes D’Huez, I find myself compelled to share our disappointing post-vacation experience, particularly with their customer relations. Despite the hotel’s appealing setting and the generally pleasant demeanor of the staff, the glaring issues we encountered with their service after our departure have left a lasting negative impression.

First and foremost, our decision to purchase digital photos as souvenirs of our cherished family moments turned out to be a regrettable one. Despite paying 100€ for these photos and following up several times via email, we have yet to receive them. The complete lack of response to our reminders feels not just unprofessional but also uncaring, especially given the sentimental value these photos hold for us.

Adding to our frustration, an oversight led to us leaving some of our children’s clothes in the hotel room. Upon contacting the hotel’s manager, I was assured of a follow-up after consultation with the housekeeping department. Unfortunately, this was yet another promise that went unfulfilled, as I have received no further communication regarding our belongings.

It is ironic that while the hotel consistently sends us feedback requests for our stay, they show a remarkable inability to manage customer relationships post-stay. This dissonance between seeking guest feedback and actually addressing guest concerns undermines the value of their follow-up efforts.

Moreover, I must mention that the quality of food during our stay was far from satisfactory, compounding our overall disappointment. While the hotel’s infrastructure and the staff’s friendliness were notable, these positive aspects were overshadowed by the severe lapses in customer service and care.

It is disheartening to see such neglect for customer satisfaction, particularly concerning matters that hold significant emotional value, like family souvenirs. This experience has significantly marred our memories of what should have been a delightful family vacation. I hope this feedback prompts Club Med Alpes D’Huez to reevaluate and improve their approach to customer relations, especially after guests have returned home.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GrandTour14941054337
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Med, Propriétaire at Alpe d'Huez, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2024

Hello GrandTour14941054337,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Alpe d'Huez for your vacations.

We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We take feedback from our GM very seriously, and we want to apologize on behalf of the establishment for the issues you encountered.

We take your feedback seriously and are committed to making improvements to ensure a positive experience for all of our GMs. If you would like to discuss your stay further or have any other concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can better understand and resolve these issues.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you that we can do better. Once again, we apologize for your disappointing experience and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Shirley,
Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews