We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BEGUM

Disappointing Post-Stay Experience and Lack of Customer Care at Club Med Alpes D’Huez

Review of Alpe d'Huez
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 2 Feb 2024via mobile
After a stay filled with mixed feelings at Club Med Alpes D’Huez, I find myself compelled to share our disappointing post-vacation experience, particularly with their customer relations. Despite the hotel’s appealing setting and the generally pleasant demeanor of the staff, the glaring issues we encountered with their service after our departure have left a lasting negative impression.

First and foremost, our decision to purchase digital photos as souvenirs of our cherished family moments turned out to be a regrettable one. Despite paying 100€ for these photos and following up several times via email, we have yet to receive them. The complete lack of response to our reminders feels not just unprofessional but also uncaring, especially given the sentimental value these photos hold for us.

Adding to our frustration, an oversight led to us leaving some of our children’s clothes in the hotel room. Upon contacting the hotel’s manager, I was assured of a follow-up after consultation with the housekeeping department. Unfortunately, this was yet another promise that went unfulfilled, as I have received no further communication regarding our belongings.

It is ironic that while the hotel consistently sends us feedback requests for our stay, they show a remarkable inability to manage customer relationships post-stay. This dissonance between seeking guest feedback and actually addressing guest concerns undermines the value of their follow-up efforts.

Moreover, I must mention that the quality of food during our stay was far from satisfactory, compounding our overall disappointment. While the hotel’s infrastructure and the staff’s friendliness were notable, these positive aspects were overshadowed by the severe lapses in customer service and care.

It is disheartening to see such neglect for customer satisfaction, particularly concerning matters that hold significant emotional value, like family souvenirs. This experience has significantly marred our memories of what should have been a delightful family vacation. I hope this feedback prompts Club Med Alpes D’Huez to reevaluate and improve their approach to customer relations, especially after guests have returned home.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Med, Propriétaire at Alpe d'Huez, responded to this review
Responded 4 Feb 2024
Hello GrandTour14941054337,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Alpe d'Huez for your vacations.

We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We take feedback from our GM very seriously, and we want to apologize on behalf of the establishment for the issues you encountered.

We take your feedback seriously and are committed to making improvements to ensure a positive experience for all of our GMs. If you would like to discuss your stay further or have any other concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can better understand and resolve these issues.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you that we can do better. Once again, we apologize for your disappointing experience and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Shirley,
Club Med Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$209
  • StayForLong
    AU$186
  • Lol.travel
    AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$205
0.4 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$239
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    AU$240
  • eDreams
    AU$239
  • Vio.com
    AU$239
1.2 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Chambre Double Supérieure
AU$193
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$214
  • Hotels.com
    AU$177
  • Agoda.com
    AU$194
1.1 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$188
  • Expedia.com
    AU$233
  • Hotels.com
    AU$214
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$279
1.3 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Hotel Le Castillan, with Alain Sports below right
AU$106
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$107
  • Hotels.com
    AU$107
  • Priceline
    AU$106
1.5 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$278
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$279
  • Hotels.com
    AU$278
  • Official Site
    AU$282
1.3 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Free parking
Guest room
AU$118
  • Priceline
    AU$112
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • Expedia.com
    AU$123
1.2 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
AU$183
  • Agoda.com
    AU$184
  • Vio.com
    AU$184
  • eDreams
    AU$183
1.6 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free parking
Restaurant
Auberge La Douce Montagen
AU$267
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$270
  • Agoda.com
    AU$268
  • eDreams
    AU$267
5.5 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$294
  • eDreams
1.3 km from Alpe d'Huez
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in L'Alpe d'Huez
Reviews (1,989)
Filter reviews
2,000 results
Traveller rating
1,410
310
124
84
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,410
310
124
84
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef de village gourmet restaurant yoga teacher baby food sorbet ski lessons wellness room great facilities ski experience from france beginner level serve food friendly team going out of their way christmas holidays esf instructors coffee machine
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,000 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2024

Great for beginners/intermediate skiers and families. The location of Club Med is outstanding and good value for money. Very good rooms and excellent food. Sadly, the ski hire service was rude and obnoxious. Ski school was also very unhelpful. Expect long delays at check-in/check-out.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank Hiltonguy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Med, Propriétaire at Alpe d'Huez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Hello Hiltonguy2016,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Alpe d'Huez for your vacations.

You have expressed your disappointment with the general quality and we are sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.

Indeed, we are committed to identifying and collecting all areas of improvement in our Villages in order to constantly improve. Rest assured that we have passed on your comments to our management, who will take advantage of them.

Shirley,
Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024

Such a disorganised mess. They cannot accommodate anything. Every request is met with a firm no. The list of complaints is so long. We haven't even been here for 24 hours. This is by far the worst holiday so far. It is such an awful experience. Management, if you're reading this, please come and find me at the hotel. I will be escalating this to Quentin Briard.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KiwiParaMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Club Med, Propriétaire at Alpe d'Huez, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Hello KiwiParaMi,

First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing Club Med Alpe d'Huez for your vacations.

We are very sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing experience during your stay. We take feedback from our GM very seriously, and we want to apologize on behalf of the establishment for the issues you encountered.

We take your feedback seriously and are committed to making improvements to ensure a positive experience for all of our GMs. If you would like to discuss your stay further or have any other concerns, please do not hesitate to contact us directly so we can better understand and resolve these issues.

We hope you will give us another chance in the future to show you that we can do better. Once again, we apologize for your disappointing experience and thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

Shirley,
Club Med Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Great skiing week at the resort. Special thanks to Mehdi, chef de village, for all the support. Tanju for help at the restaurant, Elodiee for entertaining/supporting our 5,5 years old daughter with her friends. And big thanks to Laurance - aka Lulu for a great week of skiing. Very lucky with the weather, but could have had more snow..

Room tip: Smoother transfer from LYS vs. GVA in our experience.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Eren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2024

From the very beginning (contracting, payment and pre travel information) till the last minute ("saying good by and see you soon" to all the team) was an incredible experience. To see my kids geometrically improving their ski capabilities and technics, and always with a smile in their faces, was PRICELESS!!!.

You see QUALITY in every detail!. You see kindness in every team member. Every personnel there has the same common mission: to help you in every possible way. Always taking good care of you and your beloved ones.

I strongly recommend to create this memory in your child heart.
Eternally greatful!
Ignacio

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank nachoipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2024

The Club Med Alpe d'Huez resort is in an ideal location central to the resort and lifts. Also benefits from being ski in/ski out. The tuition/guiding is good for all levels of skiers. Plenty of facilities for when the weather is bad.

Date of stay: January 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Club Med
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews