We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
1
15
10
13
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
15
10
13
45
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel provide the bare basic, which wouldn't be an issue if it was in good condition; it wasn't!
Holes in the curtains, stains in the mattresses, covers were dirty, floors were filthy!
The kitchen also flooded when showering.

The worst part of all was even after we scrubbed the apartment clean to better condition than it was when we entered, we were charged €70 for the apartment apparently being filthy! We then asked staff to show and prove to us what they had pointed out, to which they rejected and threatened to call the police!

Stay clear!!!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank BCO88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

First time I would like to complaind for apartmantn equipment.. Our dishwasher was broken, to many cutlery missing, bucket and mop was broken and nobody in hotel care about this. Wifi is not function.
BUT I am really disappointed about behavior of supervisor of reception, which extorted us about our deposit, becouse of we „supposedly“ didn´t want to overload our cars. First time: there´s no information about prohibition about parking cars in front of hotel…but we reacted and our cars overloaded into parking place next to hotel. But this man wanted to made a money, so he lied us and he didn´t want give us our money with word: I will give you only half deposit or nothing, choose!
This way I would like to thank our delegate, which was really great and she tried to solve our problem, but unsuccessfully.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kristýna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

We were really concerned about visiting after reading the other reviews so I feel like it’s important to give our honest view.

Location - excellent - you are 5 minutes walk from the lower chair lifts, a shopping centre with a supermarket, pharmacy etc, medical centre, the nursery slope and one of the starting locations for ESF ski school. It is also right next to a stop on Ben’s Bus transfers so we didn’t have to walk when we arrived. There are a few bars and restaurants at the shopping centre, though the majority are across in the main part of town about a 15-20 min walk away.

Rooms - we had an apartment that slept up to 5 but we used for 4 people. One bedroom had bunk beds plus a pull out bed. The room was small for 2 people let alone 3, though. There was then a double sofa bed in the living room for 2 more people. Kitchen is tiny and basically in the corridor between the rooms, there is a fridge, job, dishwasher and microwave, but no real oven. Our friends had a 6/7 person room which was the same layout but with an additional room with a double bed in. Bathroom had a shower over a bath which worked well but did leak into the floor a bit. The hot water did seem to run out after a few showers in the day.

Cleanliness - broadly the kitchen and bathroom were clean, the soft furnishings, beds, carpets etc not so much. See below on linen hire - I think many people may have used the beds and bedding with no sheets, hence how used and grubby they seemed.

Linen hire - I can’t mark them down for this as it was in the description. There is no bed linen included, you can hire either real sheets or “disposable sheets” made out of the kind of paper material hospital gowns are made of. We arrived and asked to hire real sheets and they said they didn’t have any and we should have booked. It does say this on the website so our fault, but it just seems like a short-sighted move from them not to have a large enough stock of sheets to accommodate all the beds. In the end we had to walk across town to a laundrette that hired out sheets (Laverie Eclose), so the hotel lost out on our money!

Fines and staff - this was the strangest thing about the hotel. It seems that because it is so ridiculously cheap they make up the money by charging/fining people for everything they can. No ski boots inside, no noise late at night, make sure you fill in your inventory completely at the beginning (we weren’t given one and had to ask because we had read reviews) including EXTRA items (eg it says 8 forks and there are 9) or you’ll be charged for those items. A number of posters were put up by the lift saying they would be fining different rooms for different infractions. That being said in our group of 10 no one was fined and the staff seemed perfectly pleasant and helpful to us.

Cleaning and deposit - You either have to pay a cleaning fee of €55 for a small room (€70 for a 6/7 person room), or clean it yourself and risk having your €200 deposit taken away if not good enough. We opted to just pay the €55 to not have the hassle or risk. You have to book a check out time before your last day for them to come and inspect. The check out took about a minute and there were no issues, we got our full deposit back.

Overall it is very basic (which is unsurprising for the price) but it seems if you follow the rules there is no reason this is a bad place to stay and I think it’s fair to say it’s 4 stars for that price.

Considering the other bad reviews perhaps we were really lucky!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jp8898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The room was okay, a bit small for 5 people but we didn't expect anything else. Kitchen okay, we had everything we needed though microwave didn't work. Disgusting smell from the dishwasher though. What ruined my whole trip though was the staff. First of all, the reception was never open. But the worst thing was their behavior. At the day departure we cleaned everything and it looked as clean as it did when we arrived. When the staff came into our room to check, he just said *we have a big problem, I can't do anything" and walked out. Down at the reception he claimed it was to dirty to even check the room properly. They made us pay 200 euros for nothing even though we cleaned everything, and same thing happened to several of our friends who also stayed at L'ecrin.
If you want your deposit back, don't stay at this hotel!

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel if possible, unless you're willing to pay the deposit despite cleaning well.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Torun42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

The rooms are okay if you just want to find somewhere to sleep and make some food. What made l'Ecrin d'Huez so bad and made my experience whole trip bad was the staff at l'Ecrin d'Huez who did not have any respect for me as a resident. When I asked them for help they did not have a nice tone and the last day when we were leaving our room, they made us pay 200 euro's for not emptying the dishwasher. We did not even get a warning and tone of the personal of l'Ecrin d'Huez was rude.
The microwave oven did not either work.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mallann2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews