We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid 3 star close to Geneva” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Solid 3 star close to Geneva”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

The hotel is 20min drive from Geneva airport and is priced much better than any hotels nearby Geneva. Located just across the lake on the outskirts of Divonne a lovely small little French village full of tourists on the weekends. One could stay in apartments with kitchenette or in a standard hotel room. I stayed in both on two separate ocassions. Apartments were very basic, however clean. There were lots of families with many kids. You need to pay extra for breakfast and spa if you stay in apartments. Second time I booked standard room as the apartments were not available. To my surprise the room turned out to be much nicer than the apartment, everything looked more new, nicer towels, nicer bedsheets, enough space in the bathroom. No complaints really about the room, which was cleaned very well daily and towels changed any day we wanted. Free internet cable connection in the room, free parking. Breakfast is ok, nothing fancy, however nothing to complain about either. Reception staff was helpful even though I had absolutely no French. I used spa once, which I found a bit too small and not worth paying extra if you're staying in the apartment. I did not use the restaurant for evening meals or lunches so I cannot comment on this. I would recommend as a good alternative for staying in much more expensive Geneva. Divonne has its undisputable charm with its lake and streams going through the village.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izakrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    179
    120
    47
    26
See reviews for
65
192
19
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Kid friendly apartment style hotel outside of Geneva/Nyon. La Villa du Lac is located across the street from Lac Divonne, and next door to a very huge kid park called Forestland, and within walking distance of beautiful Divonne, France (which by the way, has the best farmers market around on Sundays). The hotel has studio, one and two bedroom bare bones apartment style rooms.
Our one bedroom had a small mini kitchen w/ fridge, a kitchen table for 4, a double pull out couch, coffee table. ancient tv, two single beds in the bedroom and a small patio with a plastic table and 2 chairs. The hotel provides you with bare necessities such as 4 towels and bed linens, which are changed one a week along with a quick sweep of the apartment. Washer and dryers are provided near the entrance to the building. Vacum cleaners and a broom/dust pan are provided in the room.
They also have a continental breakfast each morning in the restaurant which has pancakes, sausages, yummy baguettes and croissants.
The hotel does have a small pool, but children are only allowed in after 7:30 at nite as to not disturb the spa guests.

Room Tip: I had to call to get the dates I needed, as the website said the dates were unavailable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traveilngwithkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
139 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

La Villa du Lac is located in a sleepy French town just across the border from Geneva, Switzerland. It makes a good and much cheaper alternative to staying in Geneva, being only 15 minutes to Geneva airport and ten minutes by taxi to Nyon for the railway line into Geneva. Reception was attentive and welcoming; the restaurant meals were much better than I have had at Geneva hotels, and they have a large airy conference room for meetings. Yes, the bedroom corridors and even the rooms themselves look and feel a bit like a barrack block. But everything worked, was clean, and the beds were comfortable. You can get BBC World on the TV and I was supplied with free internet access (but I don't know if everyone would get that). The main lunches adn one evening meal I had were excellent, including carpachio and what I was told was kangaroo. There is a spa but I was too busy to try it. For the money and location the hotel is good value - and I had no complaints whatsoever. The local taxi service, Monsieur Lion, to Geneva Airport was very efficient.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sox299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed two nights in the Villa du Lac hotel in Divonne Les Bains. Being so close to the Alps, we were expecting something more picturesque and less usual. The hotel is okay-ish, close to the Lac, having combined weirdly concrete to nature, not taking advantage to its location and closeness to the lake. The spa is low class. Hotel is used by cabin crews for the Geneva airport. Basically, it does not have charm and looks a bit like a pension house. Hence, my comment, that it does the job, but that's it. Bed is good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philippeenrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
226 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

OK 3 star hotel, nothing really wrong about it. The electric air heater in bathroom was weird, and no manual available how to operate it. Breakfast more towards 2-star hotel.
Nothing special...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasparainens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Divonne-les-Bains hotels
1.3 km away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
1.2 km away
Chateau de Divonne
Chateau de Divonne
#2 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.4 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#5 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#3 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.6 km away
La Terrasse Fleurie
La Terrasse Fleurie
#6 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Divona
Hotel Le Divona
#7 of 11 in Divonne-les-Bains
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac

Property: Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Address: 93 Chemin du Chatelard, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price range (per night): $159 - $301
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villa Du Lac Hotel Divonne-Les-Bains
La Hotel Du Lac
La Hotel Divonne Les Bains
Hotel & Residence La Villa Du Lac Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing