We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay closer to town!”
Review of La Divonne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Divonne
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Reviewed 20 June 2015

I was not in charge of planning the trip I took to Geneva. I would have never booked a hotel that is a 20 mile walk to the bus station. Sure, the suite was huge, and had several huge balconies, but it was in a sad state of disrepair. The Hotel Impossible guy would have a field day with this one. The best thing about this hotel is the staff. Other than that, I was very disappointed with the dinginess, and lack of cleaning. The floor in my room was filthy around the edges. We had the breakfast the first day, and decided not to spend 10 euros for coffee, juice and pastries the next day. We walked into town, and found a delighful cafe, where we had the best quiche I've ever tasted. I would never stay in this run down dump again. Size is NOT everything.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paula E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

2 - 6 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2015

The apartment was clean and the staff was friendly. Some small items was missing from the kitchen (for example, 3 glasses instead of 4, and things like that) but otherwise the rooms were comfortable and enough for 4 persons (2 in bed and 2 in the sofa bed). The location is very good, quite easy to get the highways to Geneva, somewhere else in France or the airport. There is a very close big market and a convenience store, just be aware that as almost everything in France they close early and they are closed on Sundays. There is some store in the gas stations in the Swiss side, with a bit premium additional to the price ;). French side is normally cheaper than Swiss.

The landscape around is nice and peaceful. There is some restaurants and attractions (my kids favorite was a carrousel) and it has a free parking spot with quite many spaces.
The check out is at 10:00 which means early wake up for some, but there is possibility for late check out with an extra fee. We also got fa baby cot free of charge . The reception closes at 20:00 on weekdays and at 18:00 on weekend, so it is good idea let them know when you arrive, so you get instructions of how to get it.
The wifi wasn't the best, it worked for basic web browsing and texting. And Tv was very small and has few channels.
The fridge has good size and there is no oven (other than the microwave), so remember that if you plan to buy frozen pizza.
If you plan to go to Geneva, take the road close to the lake, it is faster and nicer to drive.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edgar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. On arrival, our room smelt as the previous guest must have been smoking in it even thought it was a non-smoking room. The cleaners did nothing about this. Anyway, we were offered another room which was good. It is basic and a bit tired but for the money we paid, we cant complain.

The room was clean (a bit of mould in the bathroom) but nothing really bad.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ALOZIE N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If we judge hotel for it's class,i would say it's totally ok. Its really spacious and big, clean(+/-), and good located. Of course it is very simple and basic, however if you are looking for cheap location for not long stay, it s gona be fine. Wifi didn't work(this i read in other comments so was not surprise). Bed is ok. One thing which i would really mark as negative- the smell of cleaning product (typical cheapest product), so it stays also on your clothiers even. Its very annoying from the 1st step in your room. If this point would be fixed, then it would be 5 on 5( for its class of course).
Good surprise was a breakfast. Really reasonable and very good. Simple but really with all what u may need. Bread, croissants, and so on. Really correct.
So i would advise this place if u need short stay and cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tatyana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We used this hotel after arriving late at Geneva Aéroport.
This is not a luxury hotel,but it's clean and adequate for a family apartment costing less than 60 euros per night.
Our only complaint, the ensuite bathroom had no bath plug,so only functioned as a shower..
This apartment is fully equipped for self catering so could provide very inexpensive family holiday for those not requiring "Frills".

Room Tip: Expect a budget experience, not luxury, you will get good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronald s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residence-Zenitude, Responsable relations publiques at La Divonne, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Customer,

We want to thank you for choosing us and for your nice word about us.
We hope to see you soon again,


Hotel Zenitude

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Divonne-les-Bains hotels
0.7 km away
Domaine de Divonne
Domaine de Divonne
#1 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
757 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel & Residence La Villa du Lac
Hotel & Residence La Villa du La...
#4 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
540 reviews
0.9 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree du Parc
Zenitude Hotel-Residences L’Oree...
#2 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Versoix
Zenitude Hotel-Residences La Ver...
#5 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
207 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Le Divona
Hotel Le Divona
#6 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
54 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Le Beauregard
Hotel Le Beauregard
#8 of 10 in Divonne-les-Bains
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Divonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Divonne

Address: 139 rue de la Scie, 01220 Divonne-les-Bains, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Ain > Divonne-les-Bains
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Divonne-les-Bains
Price Range: $96 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your La Divonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Divonne Divonne-Les-Bains, Ain, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing