We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
54
13
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
13
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop an excellent host first world war busy road a great stay on arrival philippe quirky garden base
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017

If you need to visit the first world war graves at Thiepval and Arras and the Belgian ones and you are driving. This is the ideal place to base yourselves. We first came here in 2015 and have been coming here ever since, even after doing our world war 1 research. The host, Philippe cannot do enough for us. He is an excellent mine of information. Helpful all the time. The food is excellent and his staff are lovely. Also you can get a tram and visit Valenciennes for the Christmas market. Or drive to the markets at Amiens and Arras.

Room Tip: There are 6 rooms all of which are tastefully decorated and excellent
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

What a great find! Quiet and with an excellent host! Initially stumbled across "le grand duc" when researching first world war graves, we have returned time and time again. Why? Because the welcome and professionalism of the owner and the staff is exceptional. Simple as that.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good especially at the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerJ51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Le Grand Duc is located somewhat on the edge of Valenciennes, a 20 minute walk from the center of town, a stones-throw away from Lille and Amiens, an hour's drive from Bruxelles. This makes the hotel a great place to stay if you are looking to explore this rich region of France, or just travelling on business.

What makes this place stand out form the rest is the host. Nothing is too much to ask, he will answer your every question, and even if he doesn't know, he'll make sure he does before the day is out. Absolutely first class service, from the initial warm welcome, to the delicious and convivial meal, to the minute you leave.

The Grand Duc is as eccentric as it's owner, with decor that might not suit every pallet, but is a joy if you're into creative interior design. It's obviously very personal too, since the owner has done everything himself, and has built it up over 10 years.

And what's more, more often than not, you'll be leaving having made new friends or acquaintances, Philippe having a natural gift to make new connections between people.

Entering the Grand Duc, is, to conclude, a real pleasure, and you won't regret coming.
I'll be returning here for sure, and look forward to it.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Samuel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

The le Grand Duc is located on a very busy road with trams, we did have a good welcome from the owner however our room was exceptionally small and poorly fitted out with too much furniture stuffed into the room it had a huge wardrobe but only one door would open and that only had shelves! We had asked for a superior room.
It was a very hot day and although there was a fan in the room it had no effect at all, with the window open we had the traffic noise and the continual barking from the dog next door.

On arrival it was explained to us that the restaurant had 40 gaming geeks coming for dinner from the private Uni down the road. We were offered a quiet corner of the garden for our dinner but as the geeks were eating outside we decided to eat inside the house.

We were looking forward to our meal as our friends had last year on their visit had expressed their delight in the food served, therefore we were extremely disappointed to be served with a slice of a beef tomato on a blini with a little foam for our starter followed by a salmon steak with a rice that tasted more like pudding rice, a glutenous sauce and some over cooked ratatouille. The desert was equally uninteresting being meringue with some sort of jam and chantilly cream, all in all very disappointed!

We thought overall it was expensive and the meal certainly was not worth 38 euros a head.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Excellent maison d'hotes if pricy - I found Valencienne quite expensive for such a small town with not many tourist attractions and this place in particular since it is a good 15 minutes walk from town (although there is a tram stop right outside the door but services close at 21:30).
The host was very very friendly and helpful in all respects, so I can recommend staying there, especially if you come for the entry exam at the Rubika which is only a 5 minute walk away. It has a lovely walled garden that must be charming in the summer!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dugthehunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews